We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for your holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Kaufdorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place for your holiday”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A perfect managed dive center, new & high quality diving equipment, excellent diving instructors following all the PADI standards, and a very nice resort. We passed 14 excellent days, had incredible dives and enjoyed the accommodadtion as well as the good food. My girlfriend and I can absolutely recommend the Blue Ribbon Dive Resort for divers, future divers an everybody who will just enjoy a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    52
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
83
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My brother and I had a fantastic diving holiday at Blue Ribbon on Christmas. Fantastic and flexible diving, professional&very friendly staff, wonderful food&drinks, tidy rooms in a beautiful garden with private pool.
We can sincerely and heartily recommend Blue Ribbon Dive Resort for both diving holidays and leisure holidays.
Here’s our review in more detail:
- Booking & website: The website is clear and informative, with even descriptions and video clips of different dive sites. The co-owner Jonathan has made a free iPhone app, for checking out the divesites. We got a fast email response and it was easy to book the accommodation and discuss diving with Jon. Also clear info available about how the get there from Manila, etc. Check out the website to get started!

- Location: at Small La Laguna Beach and the resort at night is quiet, still walking distance to Sabang Beach and nightlife action. Easy to get there (boat from Batangas, about 250PHP/person.)

- Accommodation: basic but tidy, beds&sheets excellent, clean sheet& towels every day, cleaning daily 10-12a.m. Lots of luxuries in all the bungalows: daily filled fridge, Internet, personal safe, air-con and fan, hot shower, pool in the garden. Great value – private bungalow 30 euros/night (1500PHP). Beautiful garden with private pool and colourful night lighting!

- Restaurant/bar: good food, versatile menu (Philipino, pasta, pizza, steaks, etc.), great value, tasty drinks. Awarded chefs, btw.

- Staff: friendly and flexible, we went out together a few times during the week, helpful, swift to react if there were any wishes or questions. Owners Jonathan and Kelvin are easy going, really observe that customer service works also in details, and that there’s a light and friendly atmosphere. Local divemasters are very professional, experienced and easy going, thank you Andrew, Ariel, Jun and others! Baz and Jonathan are excellent instructor (I did Deep Specialty, great practical tips and excercises with Baz), my brother did Advanced Open Water Diver with Jonathan, who is very clear and focuses on practicality&relevance in his training, my brother got excellent training especially in underwater navigation.

- Diving: dive sites within 10minutes by boat. Very diverse diving with more than 40 sites (shallow, deep, wrecks, awesome drifts (try the Canyons, or Washing Machine in Verde Island) and nigthdives. Beautiful corals and macro (sea life: loads of fish like parrotfish, triggerfirsh, angelfish, batfish, lionfish, nudibranch) with occasional turtles, octopus, frogfish, crabs, lobsters and weird critters on night dives. The water visibility varies from 5-30 metres depending on the weather and winds (lots of silt after rainy days). Normally they make 3 dives + 1 nightdive, at 10a.m., 12.30p.m., 3 p.m. and 6p.m. But always negotiating with customers where they would like to go, and changes to schedule are possible. They really listen to visitors, and want to provide what they want and need, also of course will give suggestions as they know the waters best. Safety comes first so if there are strong currents, they are honest about it and choose divesites so that it is safe. There is the chance to have awesome drift dives, though, it’s up to you!! Canyons and Washing Machine are the ultimate drift dives, phew! :D

- Payments: It was easy during the week, as the staff knows you quickly by name and whatever you order, they put it on the room bill. You can check your total sum anytime and at the end, you can pay by PayPal or cash, easy and flexible.


- Overall: Well, we noticed that many regular customers come back year after year. I think that speaks for itself already. There’s a very friendly atmosphere amongs the visitors and all the staff, at B.R. you really feel at home. We traveled also elsewhere in the Philippines, but always missed Blue Ribbon, simple as that. We will return, made many friends at Blue Ribbon, both amongst the staff and visitors.

I know there was perhaps a lot of compliments, we we mean every word. The owners andstaff at Blue Ribbon have a great thing going, customer service philosophy and really pay attention so that everything works and is pleasant at the same time. Friendly and professional really describe the people and the place well. If you plan on staying in Puerto Galera, stay at Blue Ribbon, you’ll be happy there  any questions, I’ll be happy to tell more of our experience there, tomi.valimaa@gmail.com, or just contact Blue Ribbon, you’ll get honest answers also there.

Have a Happy New Year and safe&fun diving!

Tomi and Janne

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but ask one closer to the pool for a little quieter rooms and to have the next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tomi_Wally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Deutschland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent new years there with friends. Staff and owners are really friendly, price is great and food was always excellent! Had the best food from all the places we ate at. Would definitely recommend it. Only negative thing is that the beach in front is plastered with Coral and it is almost impossible to go swimming in front of the hotel, but thankfully there is a small pier close by from where one can jump into the blue.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KDFaisst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I would like to thank blue ribbon for such a great time. We spent 5 nights here, dove and ate lots...
The staff was very friendly, especially Shirley who helped us with everything we needed, always with a smile!
The first room we got had many Mosquitos and after a sleepless night, Shirley made sure we would get a different room, Mosquitos free. The room was great value, large and comfortable.
Diving at the resort was just perfect- so professional and comfortable. Getting into the pool with a cup of coffee after a long day of diving, felt like heaven.
The BBQ evenings with live music on Friday and Saturday were tasty and enjoyable, with the nice staff who kept making sure everyone was being taken good care of.
The burger (not part of the BBQ evening) wasn't very good though...

If we come to puerto galera again, we'll definitely come back to this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent value for money! Nice, clean and comfortable place with super friendly staff and very competent dive crew. Location is right on the beach with easy access to boat landings, close enough for restaurants and bars, far enough for good sleep relative to Sabang. The prices are very fair for both accommodation and diving - we will definitely come back for more underwater scenery here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent two weeks at the Blue Ribbon Dive Resort in November, 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The location is awesome, right on the beach and close enough to town if you want to buy groceries, check out the markets etc., but you don't hear the noise of town from the hotel. We had two different rooms over our two weeks and they were both great value. Comfy beds, cable tv, fridge and very clean. The hotel staff are very friendly, happy to help with anything and a total pleasure to be around. The food at the restaurant is the best deal we could find in town. We had thought we would go out into town for meals on the odd night but after eating in town a few times we quickly realized that the Blue Ribbon had the best meal options for us, at the best prices...and their weekends barbeques were a major bonus. Restaurant staff are really great too. The dive instructors were top notch, some of the best dive guides we've ever had and they were very flexible with our schedules. Overall, I am really happy that we decided on staying at the Blue Ribbon. For our budget, we think it was for sure the best option.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rowanolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
253 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The favorable reviews in Trip Advisors should have prepared me, still I was very positively surprised by the great level of friendliness and efficiency amongst the staff as well as the very nice accommodation. Simple but super comfortable. Having the bedroom on the first floor made it feel like I had a whole little house to myself – and at that price, that’s a steal! Speaking of which – I don’t recall every having seen a minibar with such reasonable pricing. This works in everybody’s favor – you don’t have to walk to the supermarket and pick up beer and water and the hotel has a little extra revenue stream. One thing that must never be underestimated is the other guests at the hotel – and I was happy to run into a bunch of very pleasant people with whom I shared drinks at the hotel’s bar. A great place to meet other travelers. I appreciated the location too. Location: Sabang’s center is about an 7-10 minute’s walk away which actually comes as an advantage if you want your peace at night. Also, this means you’re much closer to the pretty little beach of Small La Laguna. What can I say – the Blue Ribbon is great and I hated to leave so soon. Overall a 5 star experience (which happens to me no more than 20% of the times). Well done folks, keep up the good work! An all around 5 star experience for my taste! Really can’t wait to be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobertLockwoodJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.1 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
2.5 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#1 of 52 in Puerto Galera
220 reviews
1.8 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 52 in Puerto Galera
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Beach Island Resort
Coco Beach Island Resort
#15 of 52 in Puerto Galera
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ribbon Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ribbon Dive Resort

Property: Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
Address: Small Lalaguna, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ribbon Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort is located on Small Lalaguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Philippines. We have 14 Bungalows and rooms located around a tranquil garden, on the beach front. We have a gym and a small diver training pool. We have a 24 hour reception, and housekeeping is included in the room charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Ribbon Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing