We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it. Felt like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at Blue Ribbon for a couple weeks a few months ago, and am only now getting around to reviewing it. Better late than never, because this place truly deserves a great review.

From the beginning, Blue Ribbon felt like home. The hotel was comfortable, the staff friendly and smiling, and the diving spectacular.

There are a lot of nice hotels in the world. And the diving in Puerto Galera is (geographically anyway) the same no matter who you go with. But the staff made all the difference.

On land: the waitstaff was sparkly and fun, always on hand to help you, and when Maricel says she's "cute but not kind" you shouldn't believe her. And when Edz says she's no good at drawing pictures in chocolate on the tops of cappuccinos, you shouldn't believe her either. Everybody was so friendly and warm, and helpful. The management was also supercool, very accommodating, very dedicated.

At sea: the dive staff was great. Marco is an *amazing* dive master ... I can't imagine that many people know this piece of the sea better than he does. Honestly you could blindfold him, drop him off a boat, and the remove the blindfold at depth and he would immediately know where he was. He was also strong and capable, and a lot of fun. I'd dive with him anytime.

So that's that. Go there. Stay there. Dive there. It's all good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GuyDives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 278 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

The team at Blue Ribbon are fantastic and can never do enough for you. They are helpful from the time you book until the time you check out. The dive team know their stuff and on most occasions can organize a dive around your needs. We were unfortunate enough to arrive a day after a typhoon so vis was not the greatest, but the dives were still memorable.
Jonathan was kind enough to look after us as one night was cancelled due to the typhoon and we arrived a day late.
The rooms are basic but clean, comfortable and have hot showers. The restaurant serves good meals and cold beers (or hot coffee, depends on your needs).
The resort has a nice pool and excellent dive gear. Its also a bit out of the way, not enough to alienate guests, but enough that its quieter than being in Sabang, which is about a five minute walk away.
Well worth the visit and a place I would return to without hesitation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Since my visit in Feb of '12, the swimming pool has been completed and a couple of the rooms renovated. The resort, restaurant and diving staff continue to be top notch.

The Blue Ribbon Dive Resort is my go to dive resort in the Sabang/Puerto Galera area. Some of the other reviews rate the resort low in comparison to a couple of the 5 star ($$$$$) non-dive resorts. These reviews are comparing apples with oranges. The atmosphere at Blue Ribbon is very relaxed and friendly. Not like the hotels in Sabang which can be very noisy, busy and impersonal.

As a diver, you will enjoy having your room, the diving shop, the restaurant and the boat all within steps of each other. Diving with Blue Ribbon is as close to live aboard diving as I have experienced. The dive staff is very conscientious and attentive. While I have brought my own equipment twice, next time I may use their dive gear and save myself some packing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and quiet. Do yourself a favor and reserve a room/dive package.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went there last year with one friend and we had so much fun with all other guests and the staff!
Amenities are quite basic but it's clean and people are friendly.
The diving center is integrated to the resort so you just wake up, take your breakfast and are already ready to dive.
I advise this place!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were only planning on doing our rescue diver course here, but ended up extending our stay and added nitrox course and 20+ dives. Great instructors & dive masters. Safety is there key priority. Good gear and very nice dive sites. Especially Verde island day trip.

As for the resort, very relax and laid back atmosphere with good food, nice rooms & a fantastic service by the team.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrutserAndDutserin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Rooms are large, clean and nicely set out in a charming little garden surrounding a nice clean pool. Great personal service from reception, restaurant and dive staff. Nice comfy chairs at front to watch the world go by between dives.

Jon and the team have a nice little setup here, improving all the time.

Will definately be back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fless12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic stay at Blue Ribbon--truly a diver's paradise! Jonathan and his staff saw to all our needs and provided safe quality dives and equipment. I loved the cottages tucked back off the main strip. The rooms are clean and spacious with great hot water for showers, A/C, fan, refrigerator, and mini-bar. In contrast to other reviewers, we both slept great on the firm mattresses and found the room to be better quality for less money than other resorts in Puerta Galera. The food was delicious and very well priced. We like to save money and felt like we had all the amenities we needed and then some, and spent less than anticipated.

We highly recommend Blue Ribbon for divers looking for a quality experience with plenty of room for fun!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank climbingvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.4 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 52 in Puerto Galera
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 52 in Puerto Galera
334 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#2 of 52 in Puerto Galera
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ribbon Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ribbon Dive Resort

Address: Small Lalaguna, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $32 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ribbon Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort is located on Small Lalaguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Philippines. We have 14 Bungalows and rooms located around a tranquil garden, on the beach front. We have a gym and a small diver training pool. We have a 24 hour reception, and housekeeping is included in the room charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Ribbon Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing