We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swengland Dive Resort
Ranked #32 of 62 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I booked this place through Agoda which said it was in Sabang to be honest it's two beaches away,10min walk but I am glad as the location is a lot quieter and a lot more cleaner than Sabang.The hotel is very basic,it has its own little bar on the 1st floor which is great sitting out listening to the waves breaking.I loved it there so much I spent another night.No complaints withg the hotel but I find it odd it's more expensive booking direct.I would have booked through Agoda again but the internet connection is shocking slow to non existent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim-on-the-run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 17 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Me and two of my male travel buddies went here to celebrate their birthday last MAy 2013 . Swengland is located in small la laguna at least 15- 20 minutes walk from the port . We got the room for 1400 pesos and gave us an extra bed since we are three people . The room has cold and hot shower , it was clean and the AC was cool, the tv has local and international channels and they have good wifi connection . It's right in front of the beach so its easy to get in to our snorkelling gears and enjoy the underwater world. Month of May is like low season so there were few guests , it's so laid back in Swengland , so quiet and I really like it . I can hear the sound of waves instead of loud music . I really enjoyed our laid back trip , my male buddies went out at night to go to Sabang where there are bars and strip clubs. The price of beer was reasonable. Most tourist here are from US Europe Korea Japan Australia , There were few Filipino tourist , I think we were the only Filipino tourist roaming around. Swengland resort is a place to come back to . For tourists who wants peace and laid back atmosphere Swengland is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vouti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in the standard room for 5 nights. Room were clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were clean too but the water pressure can be low at times but its still acceptable. Room cleaning service is available.
On the first floor there is a restaurant with pool table. The food price is reasonable compared to Sabang and its tasty too. Good breakfast selection. While we were staying there, the restaurant closes by 10pm as they were just only 3 other occupancy in the hotel. But the security guard can assist to get you beers from the restaurant.
You can charge the food & drinks to the room and pay it during check out.
The staff were very helpful on information on where to go and what to do.
There are a few restaurants nearby though the major ones are in Sabang but its all accesible via foot. Having you meal overlooking the gorgoues beach is a plus point here!

This hotel is located about 10 mins from the buzzling Sabang but its within walking distance. Its nestled in a quiet beach and has great view compared to Sabang. There are a few restaurants nearby though the major ones are in Sabang but its all accesible via foot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puvanesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We got a great deal online for this hotel, and for the price we paid it was decent value for money. When we asked about a rate to extend our stay, however, the price was much higher and it just wasn't worth it so we left for another hotel in the area. First, the location of Swengland is great - out of the hectic/noisy Sabang and right on the shore (we could hear the waves from our room - excellent!). However, be advised that if you're walking into Sabang for dinner etc. after dark the walk can feel a little scary - up/down some dark stairs and a very secluded path that feels like it could be dangerous.
The service had highs and lows - we were pleased that they "opened" the restaurant to serve us breakfast one morning (I think the restaurant is closed because it's low season), and the food was good, but then in the early evening when the shower wasn't working in our room I couldn't find anyone around to help fix it.
Which brings me to some other issues - lack of water pressure with the shower not working or wildly fluctuating pressure at best. Toilet didn't flush properly because of low water pressure too. The room was pretty clean and bed comfortable, but we saw at least one cockroach and there was some kind of animal (rat?) living in the ceiling/walls that was scratching/bumping around and woke us up several times.
Overall, Swengland is a good budget option (if you get a good price) but remember that you get what you pay for. I'd rate it a 2 star property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I enjoyed staying in that place.

Clean nice, people friendly and with the sea touching your feets. I wake up in the norning with a sweet breeze of the ocean,,,and had a delicious pinoy breakfast.

The sea is so blue and clean water, it was a wonderful experience that I should repeat. The dive is marvelous, the city is just a few walk alway and anyway the place is so quiet and calm.

I advise anybody to go there, itwas a great amazing experience.

Room Tip: Any were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cezar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 30, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#14 of 54 in Puerto Galera
139 reviews
0 mi away
Manarra Seaview Resort
0 mi away
Infinity Resort
Infinity Resort
#8 of 54 in Puerto Galera
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
#18 of 54 in Puerto Galera
38 reviews
0 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
174 reviews
0 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swengland Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swengland Dive Resort

Address: Big Lalaguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $43 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new resort right on scenic Big La Laguna beach, great for swimming and snorkeling. Dive shops either side of the resort can take you to the famous dive sites of Puerto Galera.Our rooms are excellent value, all have hot water, cable TV, free WI-FI. Choose a fan room or air-con, single, double or family room. Enjoy a cocktail and dinner at our Terrace Bar looking out to the ocean. The nightlife of Sabang is a ten minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Swengland Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing