We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropicana Castle Resort
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Tropicana Castle Resort is really our first choice in Sabang, we have stayed many places but of course not all and have always returned to Tropicana Castle. We are very frequent travelers in the Philippines and around the world, you can rarely ever get everything you want in a hotel. But for us the most important things are here, you can get a clean, cool, quiet, dark room with a decent shower. This hotel has a ton of character and the staff are always helpful and friendly. The pool is clean and they have now been making many improvements even since our last visit in October. I really don't think you can go wrong staying here unless you are always just used to the 5 star Hyatt or Marriot in and around modern Asia.

Room Tip: We stay here so often that I really don't want to give up my secrets. Then I may not be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 58 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Nice castle-like architecture which needs a bit of polishing and cleaning. Stayed in March of 2013. We were ushered in to a room at the second floor. It was dark. Busted light, we had to request for it to be fixed. Still poor lighting and could be creepy with the big drapes hanging around. I guess this is how old castle rooms were? We requested for a room transfer but the receptionist told us they were full-booked. False. The hotel was not fully occupied.Nobody occupied the room next to us =.=' but it had a small enclosed veranda with seats so maybe it was more pricey (?). Bathroom was elegant, marbles and all, but unfortunately you can't use the tub due to "water-conservations". Breakfast was nice especially the freshly-squeezed orange juice. People serving foods were not too pleasant (non-smiling) and were chatting to themselves which can distracting to people who just want a nice peaceful breakfast.

Room Tip: Elevator does not function 24hrs/day. Get a room at lower floor if you mind the climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thannia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We dined here this evening. Ordered Karekare, sisig and spag bol. The whole spag Bol dish was eaten but the karekare did not have any peanut flavour to it and was full offal and gristly beef. Not how it should be. The sisig was swimming in oil and taken back immediately. What concerned us is that the manager argued with us, saying the karekare was how it should be and that he was filipino blah blah.... My wife who is also filipino said that's not how the dish is done. And I agree. After a little uncomfortable stand off he took the meal off the bill along with the sisig. Seems they don't like being critiqued.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Nikadma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice place considering the prices.
The rooms are clean and confortable.
The beds aren't made for very tall people but they are confortable.
For breakfast many choices and good food.
Other meals than breakfast, I wouldn't recommend, not very good.
You will find elevators, but they dont work, same for lobby guest toilets...
Service is friendly, management isn't.
It is overall a good value.
The pool is nice and clean.
If you have a low to medium budget this is recommendable.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AlexandraM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife,daughter and myself stayed here for three days in september,6th,7th and 8th. From the wharf, negotiate the miriad of hawkers,(always great fun) then it's straight up the main road.The Tropicana is located about 150mtrs on the right,opposite the laundromat.Check in was fast and easy.We stayed in the family room no17. It did have quite a musty smell at first, but faided as time went on (maybe not used much as I think the 20 to 40 yr demographic is aimed at for Puerto Galera.)The room is a good size, bathroom very good,towels a little frayed,nice beds with very firm mattresses but comfortable.Room was clean and paint fresh.Room had a shared balconey (good view) with a clothes rack. The pool area was cleaned every morning,the sun lounges could do with a little TLC. Breakfast selection was good, and the iced tea was the best we encounted.To sit at the street side bar was just great,watching the everyday life pass by.The Tropicana is an eclectic place to stay.Would I stay here again?. Most definitely.

Room Tip: Try to pick a street facing room. To watch the town awaken is education in itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Tropicana Castle resort truly is a unique fantasy world over 5 levels. The best place in town and probably the most characterful place in all the Philippines.

The rooms are very large and with the furnishings truly resemble something from a castle with the 4 poster beds and period furniture. The marble bathrooms were equally spacious with separate baths and shower.

Although not on the beach its location in town is still close to all the action and has an in house dive operator and gym for your disposal.

Pool and gardens were very peaceful and a nice place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of Sebang.

The hotel also has a guillotine and gallows for any nagging wives, why more hotels dont have these facilities I dont comprehend?

We dined in the restaurant a few times and the food is fairly average, breakfast was included but if I had to pay would eat elsewhere.

This really is a truly unique one of a kind hotel but unfortunately its let down by little things, such as the odd bit of rubbish left in common areas for 24-48 hours and neglect of some maintenance issues. Considering labour costs next to nothing in the Philippines this lack of attention is inexcusable otherwise I would have rated this place top marks just on character alone.

There is also another unused bar area above the restaurant that is unused which is really a shame that such a unique place is not used to its full potential.

Staff were very helpful and attentive attending to any issues and also called upon there dive operator who was at my sole disposal and costs much less than many of the beach operators.

Its a shame Paul went to Manilla otherwise I could have supplied him some feedback which I hope he would take on board. Tropicana is a very good place and its only some attention to detail would make it a truly great place.

Still worth a visit and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on level 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reverend-spock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Tropicana Castle is a real treat to people looking for something different. Upon entering the premises, one will be transported to a different era. The layout of the resort is truly inspiring with all the spiral staircase... all the nooks and corners one with curious eye will explore. The ambiance is awesome considering if you look outside you see just a plain busy street. I love all the special effects like big thick ropes hanging on the side of the stairs... the guilottine, the cannon balls, the hang noose. The creator of this castle did think of details pertaining to a castle. The rooms are not chinzy.... meaning for the price, you get a four- post king/queen bed; you get all the nice interior decorations with intricate wood carvings to look at; you have a swimming pool with wifi; the restaurant on the ground floor serves great food; and the service is great. I will recommend this resort to anyone who wants a different experience.

Room Tip: The Penthouse and the Family Room is really worth checking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geldelrey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0 mi away
Bamboo Beach Resort
Bamboo Beach Resort
#44 of 54 in Puerto Galera
12 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#19 of 54 in Puerto Galera
71 reviews
0 mi away
Hollywood Palm Beach Resort
Hollywood Palm Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in Puerto Galera
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#22 of 54 in Puerto Galera
58 reviews
0 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
250 reviews
0 mi away
Encenada Beach Resort
Encenada Beach Resort
#51 of 54 in Puerto Galera
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Castle Resort

Address: Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $36 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Castle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Castle Dive Resort in Sabang, Puerto Galera. It is a romantic castle resort in tropical surroundings of Sabang Beach. The hotel offers spacious well-furnished rooms, scuba diving activities and its roof-garden restaurant with a great variety of local and international dishes on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tropicana Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Castle Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing