We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
152
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive sitescrispy baconsoutheast asiaopen watergreat divingbuffet breakfasta great stayaliceskillsequipmentsabangboatslodgingdmfinshangersdrift
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 161 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

Located in Sabang, Puerto Galera, this dive resort is owned by a friendly Danish couple, Alice & Björn. Upon arriving, we were happily greeted by the always smiling Alice which instantly gives warmth to the place. I also learned from Björn that they have been operational for about a decade now. One observation from foreign-owned dive shops are the very organized system and stringent safety procedures. We filled up the necessary forms/waivers, were assigned numbers with corresponding hangers and drying racks, and were told that quick check-out skills are mandatory for everyone, even course directors! It basically involved mask clearing and share air. Honestly, I still don't know what I feel about this.

Our group was divided between the open water and the advanced having one DM per group. Check! They would require you to set-up your own gear at the beginning to make sure you are familiar with dive equipments. Check! Dive briefings were done on time and speedboats were the mode of transport, not outriggers. Plus points. DMs were familiar with the dive sites and were quite helpful in every way possible. Thumbs up.

I really loved their buffet breakfast which includes 2 types of bread, crispy bacon, scrambled eggs, cold cut ham, muesli, milk, butter, cheeses, jam, fruits, juices and coffee. Just perfect! Lounge and dining area has a nice ambience with a view of the beachfront. Went a couple of times for a swim and altho it wasn't the most ideal spot, it was ok nonetheless. It's a dive spot first and foremost anyway. They also offer beers and cocktails at the bar but the downside is they close at 6pm. There are bars nearby if you want to have a few bottles and just hang out with friends after a long day of diving. I particularly liked the fact that this dive resort is a member of Green Fins, an organization which promotes responsible diving practices across Southeast Asia. This alone makes up for what the resort lacks in other areas. Two thumbs up!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Cal_Mariko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017 via mobile

Just spent a week staying at ABwonderdive in Sabang. Great location and nice rooms, upgrade to a sea view too ;).
The B&B is attached to a very busy and active dive centre that does excellent food and also a bar only to be used after you finish diving.
Run by a very experienced Danish couple along with some very knowledgeable dive guides. The centre has a number of hard boats, a good supply of rental equipment and offer 3 or 4 dives a day as well as PADI dive courses if your new to diving or just want to improve your skills.
Sabang has a good variety of dive sites to suit all tastes from wall drifts , muck dives and a couple of small wrecks.
This week was very busy with Chinese and Japanese divers who all seem to have the same weeks off so some sites were a little crowded but the diving was still very good.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
2  Thank Diverat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

We have been spending our holidays at AB Wonderdive for almost every year since 2008. This place is just so great. The diving is wonderful and all in the staff are so friendly and helpful. Food and rooms gets a big thumbs up. And on top of all this AB Wonderdive is a very environmentally friendly dive center.

Room Tip: The family suite has a great view, facing the sea
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017

Accommodation and services are reasonably priced, considering the quality.

Dive equipment are well-maintained, place is clean, and the staff are the nicest people you'll ever meet. They know the place well so they will recommend the best sites based on the day's weather conditions, your skills, and of course, your preference.

They have good selection of meals but you do need to make plans for dinner since their kitchen closes at around 5PM. There are a lot of dining options nearby so it's not much of a problem.

I keep coming back to this place for a quick weekend diving getaway. :)

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KiaraElluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

It was pleasant experience to learn and dive with Alice :) wish I get a chance to visit Puerto galera again.... Would strongly recommend anb if you are anywhere near batangas and would like to explore dive

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank SowmyaV46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews