We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and price the biggest draw” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of VM Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
VM Beach Resort
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location and price the biggest draw”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

You should know before going to Puerto Galera that you wont spend much time in a hotel. Located right in the middle of White Beach, everything the place has to offer is on your doorstep. Great location. Its definitely a bare-minimum economic hotel, but it works if you arent looking for a resort. Its got the basics that you need, small tele, AC and shower, and is a good place to rest your head and keep your things. Beware of leaving items hanging to dry on the line outside, half of our things went missing during the night! All in all, cant complain. Ive definitely stayed in worse places while paying more.

Room Tip: Ask to see all rooms avail, some are better than others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    22
    16
    3
See reviews for
17
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good rates for White Beach. Located right on the sand. Rooms have AC, small TV, and decent beds. What you would expect for the price.
Located near a number of bars and restaurants near the middle of White Beach. Good location to stay if you plan to spend most of your time outside of the hotel doing other things.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AyeEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Perfect for backpackers. Rates are cheap BUT not that cheap with the kind of service they have.They didn't have standard rates for guests. We overheard the same staff who accommodated us give a new customer a much higher price than ours, which I think is wrong. Our room was no different from theirs.

Before we checked-in, we made arrangements with the offered rates as we found it kind of expensive considering that it was not high peak season. They were insisting that high rates were due to the hot and cold shower facilities of the room. After some haggle, they agreed to the our request and to our disappointment, in less than an hour of stay in our room, we realized that we needed to transfer in a different room because the hot shower we were arguing about was not working! Ironic, huh? The shower was fixed the following day though. Still, it was frustrating. They should also change the name of the place. It's not even a resort. It's just a apartment style building like here in Manila. And lastly, customer service was poor.

If you will ask me if we will go back to this? Probably, yes. That is IF we had no other choices left.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craizyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

It is really cheap so if you are on a tight budget and would like to visit the White Beach, you may find this resort somewhat okay. It is near everything. A few steps away from the beach, bars and restaurants. Our room has two queen sized beds and a small television set. They provided only two towels for four guests. The towels looked really aged and had a number of stains on it so you will definitely hesitate to use them. The cabinets are filled with dust and sand so the single roll of toilet paper they provide will be used for cleaning it.The plumbing system is really faulty. Our room has no water when we arrived and had to ask the people from the front desk to check it a couple of times. When taking a bath, be prepared to have water supply cut off and wait 5 to 15 minutes for it to resume. So if you have sunburn, prepare to endure the pain while waiting for water in order to rinse off soap. In the morning of our second day, we also experienced a power outage. The air conditioning system can barely cool the room. The staff at their restaurant are not too friendly and the food is not that good as well. We scouted the area and found other resorts that are better than this one which are not that expensive also, so the next time we visit Puerto Galera, we'll definitely try them out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HensonFronda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Galera hotels

Puerto Galera, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you are on a tight budget this would probably be okay for you, I hesitate to call it a resort, it's really a three storey lump of concrete with an area at the front they use as a restaurant. Built on a tight budget I would think. It wasn't expensive though, and it wouldn't want to cost any more than it does. Be sure to bargain for a room, as they are probably desperate for customers in the low season. Free shuttle to the port, which was good of them.
Much nicer places to stay further along the beach, but of course you will pay a bit more, we paid P1,100 for air conditioned front room on the third floor.
Would not return.

Room Tip: Choose another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robbiemac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

PROS:
- no hassle during check in
- free ride from the port to the beach resort
- very affordable
- near beachfront
- lots of restaurants around the resort

CONS:
- the lock doesn't work properly. I have heard that some people lost some valuables but good thing we didn't experience that.
- faulty plumbing (good thing the problem occured on our last day when we were about to check out)
- bed bugs! I can tolerate hard beds and flat pillows but not bed bugs! Had to deal with the bites for 2 freakin' weeks

The next time I go to Puerto Galera I definitely won't book in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SocTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Although the welcome seemed genuine enough in reception , the room given and we had a choice of others all in the same condition was very poor , paint peeling from the ceililng , bed with cheap thin foam matress to uncomfortable for words, shower with bare wiring that was taped up with electrical tape looked leathal and the shower hand set not able to fit the shower holder, add in poor water pressure , the water from the tap on the sink stunk and was loose and turned around and the toilet had a bad smell and did not always flush . I must say this hotel from our point of view cheap as it is is not really good enough to recommend to anyone sorry , Food in the hotel restaraunt very cheap and very average quality we saw the guy cooking some pork steak on the restaraunt barbi drop a piece of it while cutting it up on to the floor and reach down to pick it up and put it back on some poor customers plate terrible , We ony ate there once but the sad part is on white beach the restaraunts each and every one are bad the most dissapointing food of any resort in the Philippines we have ever had to suffer , White Beach is full of hawkers that persist and bother you the beach bars ok exept for the Tagalog boy band songs all the time to loud , and the beach bars finish early around 2100 hrs , My point of view dont bother with the VM hotel if you value even just decent comfort it falls down badly , and does not Impress in any area , and White Beach I would not bother with it, it sucks .

Room Tip: Pay a bit more , try a different hotel its true you get what you pay forthe rooms shown to us where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eub4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.8 mi away
Encenada Beach Resort
Encenada Beach Resort
#46 of 51 in Puerto Galera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#6 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Beach Resort
White Beach Resort
#45 of 51 in Puerto Galera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mountain Beach Resort
Mountain Beach Resort
#8 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VM Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VM Beach Resort

Property: VM Beach Resort
Address: White Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Vm Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing