We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandi Divers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandi Divers
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Rörbäck
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Did not stay at Scandinavian divers,
but used them as a dive operator.
Can highly recommend them!
The guides are great critter spotters and good equipment.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NicoRorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    39
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
39
69
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guilin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

I have no idea why they called this place the Scandinavian Divers - and I forgot to ask but you really don't have to come from Denmark, Sweden or Norway to visit this excellent resort and dive centre. You don't even have to dive if you'd rather do something else. There's lots to do here and the staff of the resort are so friendly in helping you relax and enjoy whatever it is that makes your holiday.
The place is owned by a west coast American who is currently acquiring Campbell's along the beach. When the two combine fully, I'm sure it will be twice as good as it was when I stayed there but it's hard to see how they can improve on the excellent service I received. The dive master is a very confident guy who looks after everyone and makes absolutely sure you are safe. As I was leaving, I decided two things. The first is that I will return; the second is that I will return to the Scandinavian Divers. Well done to all the staff, I'll be back at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rteluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

If you want easy access to downtown Sabang ,but enjoy peace and romance and staying from the noise as well, Scandinavia Divers is the perfect place for you . It has been a year since I were with friend, and we have to say it is about time to go back again! Everything there has been quite an adventure and so much fun .

Eat:

All kinds of local and western food at all options with good price. We don’t have to worry about looking for different food all the time, everyday still expect exotic food from your own resort, which is so convenient. Service there will amaze you ,warm big smile from pretty girls are always apetising! The girls are always there to do you a favor when you need anything.

Beyond our expectation ,there are STARBUCKS COFFEE for you !You can’t find it anywhere on Sabang island, but only here! It is absolutely authentic,because the owner bought it from Starbucks hometown Seattle. Can you imagine how it tastes with the fresh breeze on the beach just enjoy yourself?

Sleep:

The big difference Scandinavie Divers is from other resorts is that all equipments are American standard size –Big and Comfortable! That’s exactly what we want for holiday. We stay in nice and clean standard room, 24 hours hot water, Satellite tv, a safe and ect. Everything you need you can find them.

There are suites for couples and big families ,which are well equiped with anything you can think of . Unfortunately ,we didn't have chance to enjoy the kitchen and home theater last time.Two Norwegian families there stayed for a long time on second floor.

At night ,the most beatiful part is to sit on bench nearby its private swimming pool, green plantes with pick and red flowers hanging around the pool. Blue, green ,pink with lemon lights, there is nothing as beautiful as it during night
.

Dive :

This is what Scandinavian Divers most famous for!

We met severl groups of divers came a long way just to be there to dive. They are both professionals and beginners. I am a totally a green hand. In the begging, I was a little bit afraid of taking a course there by watching all the pros and coaches quick movement. However, after seeing all the amzing photos they took under the sea, and excitement on diver’s faces, I couldn't wait any longer to go deeper into the sea.

Coach Peter and Robert are both good, but I like Robert better. His English is so clear without any accent that I didn't misunderstand anything. I think he is one of the best English speaking diving coach you can ever find in Philipine. He is also good looking ,as touch as a soilder, and more imprtantly is , he is very patient and friendly. He gave me very clear instructions and good protection, showed me fabulous fish and coral which I can only see on tv before !

If you are a professional diver, you will meet your allies from all over the world, esp Eurpoe and American. We happened to meet Chinese good divers there, they went there specially for diving.

Party:

Here is not only popular place for traveller but also locals. We made friends with Turkish artist who living on mountain , Danish friends who doing trading business there.They told us about how life in Philippine and invited us to join their picnic and birthday party. It was so much fun to have this experience.

Fun Cluture:

We are lucky to know the owner of Scandinaver Divers-David. He is just funny ,funny and funny!You can never imagine he used to be a famous doctor but enjoy this life here! We call him Dr.David, and everybody loves him. He told us all the good things gotta to experience on Sabang, and even invited us to a nice dinner! He loaned us equipments for snorkelling for free. We sure will come back to meet Dr David !

Staying in Scandinavian Divers is enjoyable and exciting holiday I have had for Chinese New Year.Besides the beautiful view, interaction with people around become friendship afterwards , which allnattract me to go back to be a better diver.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ci77ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

They give a discount if you stay there or next door at Campbells (soon to be one company). However checking the web after returning their discounted price is the same as their advertised price. Not honest.

On the third dive I lost my weight belt because the BCD they rigged for me did not fit. On that day they said they would charge me $30 for the belt, i9if they could not recover it. The following day, they said they could not find it (???) and then charged me 63 for the belt. Fishy at best. Be carefull if you deal with them.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank islandsoft_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

Nothing is perfect, but Scandinavian Divers in Puerto Galera on Mindoro comes close. In looking for a comfortable bed and board with great diving facilities this was a good find. The rooms, food and service are right in the range for serious diving without a lot of frills. The dive shop is fully equipped and staffed with competent PADI dive masters. For anyone looking for great dive access in PI, or a relaxing modest place to hang out on the beach, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomward44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

Nice resort with 8 poolside rooms and waterfront suites. Friendly staff with good dive instructor. The food menu has enough variety and is reasonable. The best snorkeling arround is 100 meters from the resort. This area has the Best Diving in the philippines. Located on Big La Laguna Beach which is a 15 minute walk from Sabangs wild nite life and girly bars and a variety of resaurants. A golf course with a fantastic view of the sea and Puerta Galera is a 20 minute ride. The rooms are clean with satilite TV and wireless internet

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yachseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
2.5 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#2 of 52 in Puerto Galera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#9 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.8 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
5.8 mi away
Infinity Resort
Infinity Resort
#7 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandi Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandi Divers

Property: Scandi Divers
Address: Big La Laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines (Formerly Scandinavian Divers)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandi Divers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Resort Hotel and Dive Center with Waterfront and Poolside rooms. We also feature small Beach Cottages and 1 to 3 bedroom Waterfront Suites. 2 beachside restaurants serving Starbucks coffee. PADI and NAUI dive instruction ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scandi Divers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing