We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SECOND TIME AROUND”
Review of Scandi Divers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandi Divers
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hi fellow Divers and Divettes. This is our second trip to Scandi and it has gotten even better. The Staff and Dive Crews are all the same. These folks are as good as they get! Absolutely everything is taken care of for you! Dives are easy and close, with off gassing done back at the Resort. My wife and I, along with 2 friends were treated like family. We are all experienced divers (Instructor/Divemaster) and were never paired with divers of less ability. Dive times are limited by Air, not time. We picked the sites we wanted to go to and off we went. Walter, our guide is as good as they get and has a great eye for critters. Our "photographer" on the trip was never rushed to keep up, we just hung around till she was ready to move on. We were definitely in charge of the dive and Walter was there just to keep us safe. :)) Accommodations are still basic, but very comfortable. A/C in the units are more than adequate and often not needed. We turned ours off during the day. Food prep has improved since our last trip and the Menu has more variety too. The best indication that this is a great place, is that we are already planning to return next April. Simply put, this is a hidden gem. Clean, comfortable, affordable, friendly and easy to get to and from. All this and Starbucks Coffee too! :)) Want to join us, or simply want more info? E-mail me at LRN2DIVE@AOl.COM

Ken and Joni, Kona Hawaii

Room Tip: Single rooms, one bedroom suite and a 3 bedroom unit are all available. Rooms can be made up to suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frmr48l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 228 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I started SCUBA diving as an act of sheer curiosity. Thanks to Scandi Divers (I can definitely blame them for this!), this might just be my next big obsession.

Big La Laguna Beach may be your better option when you are heading to Sabang in Puerto Galera. Aside from the fact that there is a better beachfront here, the area is also less crowded compared to the other side.

ON DIVING SERVICES: Puerto Galera is undoubtedly the center of the Coral Triangle, and has been recognized as early as 1977 to be a World Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO (a recognition that Palawan also got three decades later). If it's about diving, no doubt that this is the place to be. The location of Scandi Divers proves to be practical and methodical as the nearest dive sites (quality not compromised) are just some 20 metres away from its beachfront. I got an instructor named Conan (he is Irish) and he definitely introduced me to the world of diving excellently - of course, the Irish humour that he brings with him is a definite plus! On my first dive, he took me to the Hole in the Wall and some areas nearby West Escarceo - the selection of the first dive site was key in raising my interest further and in deepening my curiosity for more. On the second dive, we went to an nearby area of the La Laguna Reef, and the experience is as good as the first! There are a lot of dive sites available within the area, and it pays to get someone who knows which dive sites work for you, your level, and your interest. Suffice to say that their services are tailor-fitted to your personal and professional requirements. We took all dives with conformity to standard rules and regulations as set by PADI (we did some actual computations first as to how deep we can go, how long we can stay under water, and how soon can we take the next dive). The shop is compact and it's really well maintained.

ON FOOD: It is interesting to note that this is also the only shop in Sabang that serves Starbucks coffee. So if you are getting tired with the instant mixes, you should definitely seek refuge here. I enjoyed a lot their pizzas and soups. By in large, they serve mixed types of dishes, catering to different taste buds. For a great dining experience, take your meal up to the third floor for an unobstructed panoramic view of the waters of Verde Island Passage.

Ultimately, you go to Scandi Divers if you want an experience of a life time. Not only did I make friends with the staff there -- and their boss Terry -- during my four days with them, but I also managed to learn a lot about the area from chats with them (I was primarily on a research trip on the biodiversity of Mindoro). This only suggests that the people there are relatively informed about what they have and what they can offer - something that I don't quite find often from other shops that just do their thing and that's just it.

Over-all, my Site-Experience rating is as follows:
Site: 10/10 ; Experience: 10/10.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank theberntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had my first discover scuba diving at Scandi's diver !
There are wonderful staff for providing us every detail we needed to know and friendly diving instructor gave us non-english spoken girls fully explanation on each steps and practice that make our first diving extremely gorgeous!
I definitely will go back again !!
BTW,the food there is delicious and lots of choices.
我第一次的潛水體驗!!招待人員非常親切替我們解釋每一個初學者應該知道的細節及練習,讓我們初次經驗非常完美!!
我絕對會再來完成潛水的美夢!!
另外,這邊的多樣化美食非常棒喔!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephaniepan077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I booked 4 nights at Scandi Divers in late October 2012. The staff was friendly and helpful in showing us around and finding things to do. Their diving staff is also great as I thoroughly enjoyed diving there (the equipment is modern and up to date).
I booked the deluxe room which comes with a decent size flat screen and DVD player. The food at the restaurant was pretty good (nothing overly exceptional though). To sum up, Pardon the pun, but I would recommend them without reservation.

Stayed: October 2012
5  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days in August 2012. I can rate this place as 5 stars as the service level and friendliness of the staff is excellent. Every time I walked by the said hello and asked if I needed anything. The housekeeper would ask me if I needed the room serviced and the front desk people would ask if I needed food or a boat ride somewhere.

I went diving twice and the ease of diving is incredible. The dive master – Terry (an Australian or New Zealand fellow) – is extremely professional and thorough with his dive planning and explanation of what we will do and how to do it. The boat comes to the front of the hotel and we are diving in about 10 or 15 minutes. Safety was never in question as everything is double checked. The boat has a crew of 3 or 4 people who help you in every aspect – from getting on the boat to taking your dive equipment on and off the boat. Bring your own equipment or use theirs.

The dives were simple yet very enjoyable. We typically dove to about 60 or 70 feet – which was ok with me- and saw some wrecks and lots of sea life including a large sea grass turtle.

Between Scandi Divers and their sister resort Campbells they offer rooms from the budget to higher end. My room was a budget room as I was alone and just wanted to dive and chill out. My room at Scandi Dive was a basic queen size with a tv and air conditioning. Always on hot water and a stocked mini-bar fridge made life easier. The drinks inside the bar were not overpriced and restocked daily. Some rooms have safes and flat screens and some are more basic.

My room came with a free breakfast and it was a Great western type breakfast. I had the Scan Breakfast and was very happy with it. They also offer a full menu of various types of foods and have barbeques and other events regularly.

The resort is in La Laguna and I read a comment that it is a hike from Seebang. YES it is a 10 or so minute walk from there but part of the beauty of Scandi Dive and Campbells resorts are they are away from the noise and crowds. Peace and Quiet are positive attributes of their location. Away from the party crowds.

I have nothing negative to say about Scandi Dive or Campbells. Both are grade A resorts and both are managed by Terry – and he does a great job.

I came and left at a bad time – in the middle of two storms – otherwise I would have stayed another 3 or 4 days. The island is a nice place to visit as well. I rented a motor scooter and saw much of it.

I will return on my next vacation. JEFF

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MonteBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed in a standard room, which is good for budget travellers(approx.2000peso), and if you want more space and pay a little extra, you can stay upstairs overlooking the bay.
You have the flexibility to move to other rooms nextdoor at Campbells Resort, as they are under same ownership, incase you want a cheaper room(approx.1000peso), or just enjoy a change of experiencing your stay.
Regarding diving the resort facilitates all you need at the doorstep, and is an excellent location for novice divers. The bay offers diving for beginners and can be done from shore.
The management has a great philosophy of servicing the clients, identifying the importance of making your stay enjoyable, and it is a perfect location to holiday away from the crowded Sabang.

Room Tip: The more you pay the more privacy you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crawlingken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Been here before, and will come back again. Great diving and the staff are realy nice. They arranged a trip for Verde island on very short notice, and the diving there is magnificent. In fact all the dive spots are great and in short distance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.2 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 53 in Puerto Galera
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 53 in Puerto Galera
164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 53 in Puerto Galera
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#6 of 53 in Puerto Galera
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 53 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#7 of 53 in Puerto Galera
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandi Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandi Divers

Address: Big La Laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines (Formerly Scandinavian Divers)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $46 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandi Divers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Resort Hotel and Dive Center with Waterfront and Poolside rooms. We also feature small Beach Cottages and 1 to 3 bedroom Waterfront Suites. 2 beachside restaurants serving Starbucks coffee. PADI and NAUI dive instruction ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandi Divers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing