We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Steak”

Hemingway's Bistrot
Ranked #21 of 72 Restaurants in Puerto Galera
Price range: $7 - $57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

One of the only times I enjoyed a good quality steak in the Philippines! Nice personal service. Restaruant also services many German specialties. Been there for luch as well as diner and the burgers served dutring lunch are also of a very good quality.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dutchmen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    47
    22
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good while the owner is there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I visited for dinner 2 times with my partner in late October. On the first visit the owner was present and everthing was up to the high standards mentioned in most of the previous posts and we had excellent meals. On our second visit 2 nights later the owner was not present and the quality of what came out of the kitchen was sub standard. For example the pork was tough and the gravy was watery and flavourless. I suspect that the odd poor reviews in the past could be traced back to visits made while the German owner was no present to keep an eye on things. I will be happy to return in the future as long as the boss is around.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quite good steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Service is good and food is delicious, though a little pricey. I recommend to taste their Chateaubriand steak.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shadowtramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pasta Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This restauran serve best food atsabang beach, the taste of paste is excellent, I ordered chicken alfredo and my girl friend had bologna spagethi. Those food was so good. This restaurant also serve steak and other local food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericsaptaputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hemingways offers American beef and cooks it perfectly. I especially loved how we were greeted by the owner personally and he kept his eye on everyone ensuring they were well taken care of and enjoyed their food. It's a bit pricey but not as much as you'd expect for such a nice dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaChick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolle_Philippines, Inhaber at Hemingway's Bistrot, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi, thanks for the nice rating and I hope we will see you soon with your daughter at Hemingway's Bistrot! have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway's Bistrot also viewed

Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 

Been to Hemingway's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing