We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room like a cave...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Galera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Apple Dive Resort
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this resort on the basis of the reviews on trip advisor and were sorely disappointed with the room which was, in short as dark as a cave with the barest of furnishings. There was no where to put our luggage up on a stand, just had to clear off the stuff from the small fridge so we could put the luggage on top and not on the floor. When we were showed our room she turned on the air con and the smell of Baygone bug spray was unbearable and almost choked me out of the room.

The atmosphere at the bar was split between the lonely old men picking up younger women and the other half, where we ate, the restaurant where the service was good as well as the food, but watching the other half of the bar was off putting and sad,

I didn't dive but I thought that it was rather un-ecologically friendly to have a dried trigger fish hanging from the ceiling of the dive shop.

We left and took a room at another nicer resort down the way. I cannot give this resort a higher rating as it was below the standard we read on this site. We wouldn't stay here again and we can't recommend it. The other issue we had was that there was an extra charge for our transportation at the dock when we arrived from the car to the boat - not sure what that was for as we had already paid in full for the fees. Our driver on the way home also took longer than 4 hours to take us back to the airport (we made it to the port on the way in in 3 hours) and then tried to charge us 260 pesos extra for taking the skyway...

Room Tip: head down to the Atlantis Resort - LOVED it and had the best time at the Bar every night and the div...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrib726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Big Apple Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 115 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've stayed here several times since 2004. Friendly attractive staff. Reasonable prices. Great location in Sabang. Pool , a/c , outdoor bar with pool tables, good music, great atmosphere.
Fried chicken and Pizza is good and nightly barbq's. Just about a 60 second walk to a few nice little night club hot spots with plenty of friendly faces. Just walk out onto the beach and hire a sailboat , take a scuba class or swim out to the famous floating bars. Rooms are nothing fancy but sufficient. Think motel 6 on the beach with lots of amenities. Book in advance , this place does sell out.

Room Tip: some rooms are equiped with fans while others have a/c. Book early to ensure a/c.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatvr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This resort offers basic but comfortable rooms in the centre of Sabang, at a price that is reasonable. Diving instruction is good and at the time of visit there was a limited number of divers which allowed for a more personalized experience. Large groups may not experience an adequate level of service however. Delays at the restaurant are significant therefore plan in consequence. Overall a good value.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank FrankTripAdvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was my first time at the Big Apple and it certainly won't be my last, the whole experience was great. The hotel staff and restaurant/bar waitresses were great with nothing being too much trouble. The dive staff and DM's were first class and the diving was always safe, if you had a dive site you wanted to visit then it was never too much trouble providing it was safe to go there. From what I observed the training given to new divers was first class with excellent instruction. The pool was always clean, with staff constantly keeping it that way. The rooms were good, I upgraded to the superior room from the deluxe room so that I was overlooking the pool. There was live sport on in the bar 24/7 with Moto GP and Formula 1, as well as Premiership football. I am already making plans to return next year. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are far enough away from the bar to be quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Del_Boy3059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The instructor, DM and their staffs are friendfly, professional and know the divesite. The rooms are basic but comfortable, there is a refrigerator/mini bar, TV and the hot/cold shower. After diving you can hang out at the bar in front of the resort or relax yourself in the swimming pool.

Enjoy my diving here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaNapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I didn't stay here but the location is good and I ate here quite often. Good food and dink and free wifi. Service is good also and it seems to be a spot for people to hang and socialize.

Recommend it for food and to stay at but it can be quite noisy.

Room Tip: not too close to the bar
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonteBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

One of the best dive resort on Puerto Galers, Lovely & friendly staffs, good food and very good instructors and dive masterss... they have a lovely boat to take around for diving.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vivek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Galera
0.0 mi away
Manarra Seaview Resort
0.2 mi away
Mermaid Resort
Mermaid Resort
#16 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
#14 of 52 in Puerto Galera
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#2 of 52 in Puerto Galera
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Apple Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Apple Dive Resort

Address: Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best value for money resort with the cleanest and clearest Pool around! Lively Sports Bar and Cafe Party Bar and New Indian Restaurant! Friendly staff! Open to serve food and beverages 24HRS with a variety of special menu items daily! LIVE SPORTS on the BIG SCREEN. Happy Hours: 8am - 8pm in main bar, 5pm - 8pm in Sports Bar, 12noon - 8pm in BA Cafe! HQ Billiard Tables and Great Music! FREE WIFI! Nintendo Wii! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Apple Dive Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing