We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolphinbay Beachfront & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Encenada Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Utopia Resort & Spa(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Badladz Dive Resort(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Punta Del Este(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Badladz Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bamboo Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
8
18
12
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
18
12
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssisigwhite beachthe food is greata great staydeluxe roomhot waterstepsloungesabangdiveshuttlefilipinojacuzzipesos
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 51 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We all stayed here as part of a Wedding Party. The Staff were great and Friendly. The Manager tried his best, but was Sacked by the Owner for trying his best with the limited resources he had.
No hot water for days on end. Room service once in 5 days, and Stairs, Stairs, Stairs. If you like walking up and down Stairs and really rough rooms, this might be for you.
Apparently during our stay the Owner hadnt paid the staff for months, and was busy sailing around the world on his new boat. No wonder they didnt want to do much.
So, to sum up, Nice Staff, but a disaster of a Hotel. Run as far as you can from the Dolphin Bay.

Room Tip: Try another Hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrColin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a wonderful family holiday at Dolphinbay. It was especially nice because there actually wasn't anyone else staying at the resort when we were so we got special treatment. :) The staff were very nice and going the extra mile for us by offering to drive us around Puerta Galera and cooking any meal on the menu for us. As I am now on the topic of menus, let me mention that the food was absolutely amazing. They have lovely chefs there who make beautiful food - the menu is very large. The hotel itself is quite small with very nice rooms. They were very clean and comfortable. The deluxe room has an extra small room with a bunk bed which was very nice. The pool was nice and the grounds beautiful. The beach is very clean and the water is crystal clear - true paradise. The restaurant has the most spectacular view of the beach - it is truly enchanting, with mountains in the background and nothing but nature. They have kayaks and we often took them out to nearby private beaches. It was absolutely beautiful. The few minor things such as sometimes a lack of hot water or internet really didn't affect our holiday negatively. There were too many wonderful things for this to matter. Overall, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matreha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

myself and my fiancee had a relaxing time it has a nice pool and a great veiw the service from the staff is very good but the manager is very disorganised and does not know how to operate a resort l found his effort as a manager very unsatisfactory also l noticed people from the filipines got better treatment there so to all my fellow australians and new zealanders my advice is not to stay at the dolphin bay

Room Tip: do not take a room up the stairs its a very long walk
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Admittedly we were there when it hadn't even opened yet. That being said however, the following would seem to hold true for most aspects of the hotel-resort to date:

First, it is a GREAT LOCATION!!! Can't say enough about it's quiet, secluded, hide-away-from-it-all, seriously romantic location!
We were on our honeymoon and were escaping from Puerto Galera (DON'T GO TO PG!!!), when we tripped across Dolphin Bay who actually took us in after we told them we were on the last night of our honeymoon and if we could stay as we really wanted to just have a decent place to stay for the night. Though the owner and his wife were not there, (it seemed the resort was being looked after by a young girl and her family), we were accommodated for a very fair price 2,500 php as nothing was really then available. And yes, this was true: nothing was available, except for the restaurant with a poor, young, scrawny, albeit friendly monkey that was certainly NOT being looked after..
What we did there: Not much really. We strolled along the wee private cove that is "Dolphin Bay" and walked the short narrow beach (approx 20 meters if you're lucky as it's shared by another hut-type "resort on the same beach) and pretty much had some home cooking, care of the same girl who was looking after the place (or her mother).. For us, it was perfect as the last night to our honeymoon; but to be fair, we had just had a nightmare of an experience in the roach-infested beachside hotels of Puerto Galera, so anything would have been "perfect" to us by then..
Bottomline, it looks amazing once you step down its steep steps to the cove itself and it certainly looked like there was LOTS to do IF the owner had been there and the resort was open as he seemed to have his own katarmaran and even a private mini-plane by which to go sight-seeing, but but but one has to wonder if it was anything other than a rich Austrian property-developer's personal wet-dream for him and his Filipina wife..
Potentially, it is a wonderful, romantic hide-away..
(that could do with some serious improvement in customer service, food and basic entertainment - sure there wasn't eve a KTV machine to play with!!)
W & C

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishman2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews