We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Thumbs Up here. Always my hotel in Sabang Beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angelyn's Dive Resort
Ranked #26 of 53 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I love this hotel and have stayed here for three years in a row for 3 - 4 nights at a time when I am diving at Sabang Beach. Clean comfortable, quiet rooms. Super nice and friendly staff and a good restaurant. This is really a great kick back and relax small hotel. Has a small pool and WiFi and real brewed coffee! The water pressure is a bit funky, sometimes you have it, sometimes you don't, but not a big deal in the scheme of things expecially for $35 - $40 a night.

Great location..right on the beach.

Will be back diving in October and staying at Angelyn's.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Angelyn's Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 60 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed 15 nights there from June 28, 2011 to July 12, 2011. It was my second trip to Puerto Galera scuba diving.
I thought it was very nice. I stayed in a large second floor room with balcony. It had a table and chairs on the balcony and a clothesline to hang all the diver wet equipment at the end of the day.

The room itself was very nice. I've stayed in some very nasty places when travelling for my diving. This was very nice. The only drawback was the air conditioning. It was a wall unit and very noisy. To sleep I let the unit run to cool the room down then turned iot to the run setting so the noise wasn't as bad.

Satellite tv, mini fridge, table, chairs, closet and drawers to put clothes and personal items in, ceiling lights, bedside light. Good mattress, not north amrican style for sure but not the usual thin thin you can find in some phillipine hotels or accomodations. The most awesome feature was actually a mini headboard that held my blackberry, mouse, coke, remote control, usual things can't live without.

The bathroom had no vanity or shelves and no plug for the sink. I wound up piling my shaving and other things on the back of the toliet and rinsing the shaving cream off in a drinking glass. That was kinda funky at first. The bathroom floor didn't have a bath mat so I purchased an extra pair of flips flops so I wouldn't slip on the ceramic tiles.

I wound up paying Canadian Converted $30.43 per night breakfast included which was an awesome price. The occupants could order from the menu for breakfast. It wasn't a continental breakfast setup where you got a few pieces of toast and a cup of instant coffee. It was good breakfast.

There was a rooster outside the bathroom window I had to get used to but that didn't take long.

There is a safe at the front desk.

The service and the staff were more then awesome. I can't say enough about the staff and the service both the Resort and the Dive shop which are affiliated with each other.

The cafe for the resort fronts the ocean and is great place to sit and relax when not diving. WIFI is free for guests and is available in most common areas. I made sure I bought the unlock code for my Blackberry before leaving Canada. On the way out of Ninoy Acquino I stopped at the booth and had the vendor swap in a Smart Card for phone/text/internet so I had all functions on my Blackberry so had internet away fro Angelyns as well.

My laptop had internet at Angelyn's. Sometimes it was slow and I couldn't skype call but most times it was ok.

All in all I rate Angelyn's very high. The room was very good for the phillipines, better then some but what really made the stay stand out was the service, staff and value for money.

Room Tip: Most resorts are affiliated with dive shops. There's not much to do in Puerto Galers unless you...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I had been to Boracay on three previous trips to the Philippines but we decided to try a different area. Unfortunately Puerto Galera was not a good choice for us because it is primarily a diving resort and does not offer many other opportunites for recreation that we would like. However, I must compliment Angelyns Resort. It is a very nice hotel right on the water and we enjoyed our stay there. The rates were good for the rooms and the food. All the staff were friendly and accomodating. Just keep in mind that there are no good beaches in the area for swimming. If you are a diver I imagine you would love it there since there are so many dive sites. Also it was rainy much of the time so the true beauty of the place was not evident in the poor weather.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Stayed 2 nights at the Angelyn's in early Jul, booked through frontier Scuba. The room look like it had just been renovated, new and clean. It is simple setup, bed, cable tv, fridge, and bathroom with hot shower, air-con in the room. Staffs are friendly. I stayed at level 3, with some nice view of the surroundings. Overall It is very comfortable place with very reasonable price, the only thing is the room is not at the beach front, but it has a nice cafe fronting the beach, good to start the day with a breakfast by the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Applexiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I spent 2 nights there from June 2nd to June 4th. We had two cottages up the hill and payed 1.000 Pesos each without breakfast. They both had a nice large porch where you could sit on. The view wasn't exciting but absolutely ok.. The cottages are in a little clean garden and inside they are very clean too and the furniture is ok. In my place the AC didn't work, so I went down to the reception and it only took a little while to replace it and after I came back I had a working AC. Staff is very nice. A big bag of Laundry was 250 Pesos overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saskia1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

roaming around the sabang area has never been this exciting expecially when you are housed in a very comfortable and excellent hotel..... i should say angelyn's hotel must be the place to consider... it's very pleasing ambiance and wonderful, accommodating staff add to the best experience that every guest should have........

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlyciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Angelyn's is a simple hotel located in the heart of Sabang. It is divided into two sections; a two storey building fronting the beach which contains the kitchen and dining area as well as a number of room upstairs and, a three storey building located behind the main building which is only rooms. Being located in the center of Sabang this property is within an easy walk of all the restaurants and bars in the area and a short walk to the Point Bar. The rooms at Angelyn's are average in size, all with a/c and ceiling fans, refrigerator, cable TV and hot and cold water.There are no room safes but they have a small vault for guest valuables at the front desk. Each room has a small table and chairs in it's own small terrace where neighbors can meet for that first cold beer following the late PM dive. The third floor rooms in the back building are generally preferred as they are a bit newer and have full size queen beds as compared to double beds on the first and second floors. Breakfast is generally included in the room rate and the basic but reasonable breakfast is served in the seating areas facing the beach. There is free WiFi available in patio/dining area which can also be accessed from the corner of the balcony on the back building. This is clearly a resort that caters to divers as it is ion the middle of the concrete jungle called Sabang and many dive shops are located within a 5 minute walk. The staff do what they can to be helpful and you always get the simple provincial hospitality at Angelyn's.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMS_PEK_MNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Galera
0.2 mi away
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
#14 of 52 in Puerto Galera
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manarra Seaview Resort
0.2 mi away
Mermaid Resort
Mermaid Resort
#17 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ark Bayz Suites
Ark Bayz Suites
#13 of 43 in Puerto Galera
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
#9 of 52 in Puerto Galera
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation
Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation
#10 of 53 in Puerto Galera
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angelyn's Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelyn's Dive Resort

Address: Sabang Beach Walk | Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines (Formerly Angelyn's Beach Resort)
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $32 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angelyn's Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Angelyn's Dive Resort, where you can dive into a complete Puerto Galera experience! Angelyn's Dive Resort is among the pioneer Puerto Galera Resorts and a renowned provider of the distinctive Sabang Beach Diving experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Angelyn's Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angelyn`s Dive Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing