We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful introduction to the Philippines” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera
Ranked #2 of 52 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful introduction to the Philippines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I tried and tried to come up with some criticism for this resort. As others have stated, it has the most marvelous food, excellent service, friendly dive staff, and comfortable accommodations. I guess the only downfall would be the number of steps to get to the rooms as they are located up the hillside. However, even this is not a negative, because it serves as insulation from noise and a way to work off the fantastic Mango Jam Rolls they serve between dives!

If you don't take advantage of the spa services, you are definitely missing out on part of the experience here. The diving is fantastic and their motto is true -- you do leave as a "friend". The beach is a busy place during the day, but when you cross the threshold into the main part of the resort the busy-ness totally disappears. You can be as involved or as uninvolved as you wish!

As for the diving, I can't possibly say enough. Started the trip off with a pygmy seahorse -- what more could you want? But there was no let down afterwards as every dive held its own surprises. Divemasters are fantastic and understand the needs of photographers, while not ignoring those who had no cameras. Boats are comfortable enough for the very short rides to the dive sites, entries and exits were easy, and surface intervals were back at the resort.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: For families the kids will love the Flintstone rooms with their treehouse-like bunk beds which are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubanana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    51
    15
    12
    2
See reviews for
20
76
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

You couldn't ask for better hosts for a scuba vacation. The team bent over backwards to accommodate us. The food was fantastic, the service second-to-none (wait staff and dive staff) top-notch and friendly, and rooms spacious, comfortable, and clean, were right out of the Flintstone's Bedrock. Very unique. There is about a three hour transfer from Manila airport, two by road and one by water but it's worth it. The resort is in the middle of the town on the water. There is lots to do especially if you like to people-watch as the main walkway splits the resort although it is more adult oriented from my perspective. The beach is more of a harbour and may not be the best for swimming so limit that to the pool. We came to dive and were treated to small groups and close dive sights. Five scheduled boat dives per day included in the package. You can pick and choose the ones you want. The dive masters seemed to compete at finding the most and most unusual subjects. All dives were about 60 minutes long. We spent five days and nights here then our group split up. Some to the Azores live-aboard in Southern Layette out of Tacloban and the rest to the Atlantis resort in Dumaguete for a week. The boat ranked in the best any of the members had ever experienced in all categories from food, accommodations, and staff. The highlight being the whalesharks, which was the main reason for choosing this itinerary. The group that went to Atlantis Dumaguete were equally impressed with the same level of service received at the other resort with the added unexpected bonus of snorkling with whalesharks on a daytrip! The beach here was more condusive to swimming if you chose to do so and the atmoshpere much more laid back. The rooms are a little more spread out and available ground floor or second story. Dining is overlooking the ocean and you can watch the sun come up over the water at breakfast. Don't miss the Wednesday trip to the local market. It's an experience you won't forget!
We can't thank the staff enough for their excellent treatment in all three locales. We came as visitors and left as friends. Well friends, we look forward to our next stay with you. We'll be back! Group from Happy Divers Den, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: Puerto Galera resort is built on a hill so the ones closer to the restaurant have fewer steps. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at Atlantis in Puerto Galera and enjoyed every moment. We are still fairly new divers and the dive masters were incredibly flexible and very understanding. The transfer from Manila was remarkably smooth and comfortable (we ended up having a private boat!), and the welcome was very warm and friendly.

You can dive 4-5 times per day if you want, but we generally had the energy for 2-3 only. There isn't much to do besides diving, but the resort does have a spa with really affordable prices. We ended up getting 3 massages and I treated myself to a manicure and pedicure.

The food was fantastic. Absolutely delicious. The chefs can even make things to order, if needed. We enjoyed every meal at the resort given we bought that as part of our package.

For the avid underwater photographer, there is a photography room, and you can also rent an underwater camera if you don't have one.

I really hope we can come back. We went in mid-August, right before the high season began. The weather wasn't too bad and it practically felt like we had the resort to ourselves. What a fantastic vacation! The only improvement I can think of is to install mosquito nets in the rooms. We did have at least mosquito here and there, which made it difficult to rest easy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is across a busy little lane that cuts through the small town. Always fun to see the people busy with their day. The beach is nice, I went for a run every morning along the beach and it wound along onto a sidewalk and up a really cool cliff with wonderful views. The hotel is clean, nice pool, interesting little "hobbit rooms", maybe too small for some folks. Dive center is excellent and the meals here are very good. Great espresso machine!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellowjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here for a week as part of a group trip arranged by our local dive shop. Location was selected for us and arrangements made for the whole group as a package. Was absolutely fantastic. The overall service, whether in the restaurant, front desk, housekeeping or dive masters, was great. They really take care of you here and want you to have a good experience. Food in the restaurant is great with offerings that meet the tastebuds of guests from diverse backgrounds. If the daily lunch menu doesn't meet your fancy, they will stir fry something up for you in "Mongolian BBQ" style. Diving and the service of the divemasters is what made the trip unforgettable. Divemasters are experienced and patient with divers at all skill levels; very attentive while giving you space to explore on your own. All staff is very personable and learn your name and preferences. I would not hesitate returning to this resort.

Room Tip: Definitely be aware of the resort's location on a hillside and fact that some rooms require clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G0ldenState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Expensive by comparisosn to other options nearby but clean, friendly and the best food in Puetro Galera. We had a mini-honeymoon here and it was really nice, felt a bit secluded from the seedy parts of the area. Excellent chef and staff - very helpful. Very safety conscious dive masters who were well organized. Good rental equipment. For divers - skip the Flora night dive with blacklights - over-priced and not worth it, but otherwise the diving was excellent and the trip very well organized.

Room Tip: ask if there is any construction in advance. some rooms require walking up 3 flights of stairs so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jctokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Atlantis Puerto Galera in December. The rooms rise up the hillside, getting fancier as they get higher, so if you forget something in your room, you could have a nice stairmaster work-out. Our room was up three levels, with queen and single beds. The bathroom was open to the main room, but the commode was in a separate room with a door. Lots of shelves on either side of the sink, and plenty of hot water. Quiet AC; those staying up at the top mentioned hearing roosters. My only complaint was that the room was dark--there weren't many lights. Opening the blinds helped some.

The dining/bar area was open and all under cover. They have buffet breakfast and lunches if there's a crowd, otherwise they use menus. When we first arrived, there was a large group there, so we got to choose our own stirfry ingredients from the buffet, with lots of veggies, beef, chicken, or fish, and different sauces; then the cooks took over, and we had a delicious meals a couple minutes later. When the large group left and we ordered off the menu, there were still several choices. My food allergy issues were no problem.

We were there to dive, and the dive operation is well run. The gear storage area is crowded when there's a full complement of divers, with each diver having a small cubby hall, with rods for hanging BCs and wetsuits. There's one hot shower and four rinse tanks for various pieces of equipment, including cameras. Our gear was set up each morning in the large shop area, Nitrox checked, and loaded into either a speed boat or a Banka. Gear was left on the boat between dives, and staff changed the tanks after we checked the Nitrox. Shore diving is not permitted due to boat traffic. The shortest dive site was 30 seconds away, the longest about 10 minutes. There was a lot of rain, supposedly unusual for that time of year; one day in particular we ended up doing three "dusk" dives, with very poor visibility above eight feet, then clearing, but dark below. It didn't keep us from enjoying the dives, which ranged from muck to wrecks to reefs. The diving is primarily small fish and critters.including some of the stranger ones, similar to what you'll find at Lembeh.

There's a small pool on site, as well as a spa that offers a variety of services.

Atlantis is fairly easy to get to; we were met at the airport (prearranged at an extra cost), transported by bus for a couple hours, then by ferry boat for another hour. Staff lugged our luggage a few minutes to the resort. We enjoyed our stay, but don't consider it the very best diving; we're definitely jaded after 40 years. Those with less experience will love it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UnderwaterDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.3 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#10 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#1 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.4 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#15 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera

Property: Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera
Address: | Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerto Galera is well known for its numerous scuba diving spots; the area was designated a Man and Biosphere Reserve of UNESCO in 1973 and has some of the most diverse coral reef diving in Asia located at the very heart of the 'Coral Triangle'. The area also features numerous pocket beaches and stunning tropical scenery. Atlantis Puerto Galera is beautifully built into the hills of Sabang Beach of Puerto Galera and has a great beachfront location; in many travel guidebooks and magazines Atlantis is quoted as one of the most outstanding resorts of the Philippines with its award winning (Flintstones) design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Dive Resorts Puerto Galera Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing