We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury stay in Waimea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the luxury section of El Galleon resort - in studio of Waimea. At first we were surprised that we had to go quite far away from El Galleon reception (through other resorts and uphill) to reach Waimea. But the result was excellent - it is a secluded heaven of 4 beutiful cottages each of which consist of a studio on ground floor and a two-level penthouse (you can also rent a whole house if you wish). From outside the cottages are very upscale, but the interior is quite simple. Yet it has all you need for tropical vacation - air conditionaing, double bed, shower and even a small kitchen. The garden and two level swimming pool is gorgeous - especially when it gets dark and you can gaze to stars lying in the pool. Breakfast also was very nice. El Galleon can arrange private transfers and their service is very friendly and efficient. We did not try El Galleon cottages but I believe that they also are very nice - choose the ones with sea view - they really are first line beach!

Room Tip: Waimea studios do not really have sea view - only garden and pool view. You only have sea view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinetaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 221 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am continually blown away by the amazing service and great food at El Galleon. The diving was amazing and the dive team professional, thoughtful and fantastically friendly. We went over Easter weekend which I thought would be really hectic, but in fact everyone made us feel very special - as always. This time we stayed at their annex which is a lovely private villa area. I guess I prefer staying in the main resort, but to be honest I don't mind where I stay with these guys as long as I get the chance to head down to El Galleon again this year - great job guys!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food here is excellent. The rooms are reasonable and lovely. The staff members are always there for you, extremely generous and helpful. The private transport which picked me and my friends up in Manila has been guaranteed with smooth and swift transition! Nice!

Also went for a Discover Dive with Asia Divers in the Coral Garden of Puerto Galera. The Dive Masters are very professional here. It has been a nice time underwater!

El Galleon is such a nice place to spend your vacation.
But one thing you must pay attention is the pricing of the rooms, if you speak local language it would be way cheaper.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are without views. The lowest pricing rooms must be switched daily. So you might hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary_Nanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The short review: Stay here, eat here, dive here, and drink here (after 5:30 p.m.)

The longer review: Perfectly situated along a rocky strand (with an amazing, aircraft carrier of a dock), El Galleon is a no frills resort aimed at people who love to dive. The rooms are spare bordering on Spartan, but they are clean, cool, and offer a mini-fridge in which to store your stash of mangosteens. And let's face it: we're not here to spend time in our rooms, we're here to dive. The resort staff is attentive and friendly and they go out of their way to learn your name. If you are lucky, Alma will bring you coffee in the morning. We had a 'full board' package which meant three meals a day. The chef -- a Corsican -- is indefatigable, imaginative, and devoted to making sure you get enough to eat. Eggs to order in the morning, buffet meals for lunch and dinner. Among the culinary highlights -- a variety of curries and chutneys, and decadent green-lipped mussels. I detected a little butter in the sauce.

I give 5 stars to the diving operation, the most professional, well-organized dive operation I have ever encountered (I've been diving 23 years). Once you arrive you never have to deal with your gear again. The staff takes care of everything both on the boat and off. (Okay, you have to rinse your own wetsuit.)

Our group did the majority of its diving guided by two Yorkshiremen and a Canadian ex-pat. Here's all you need to know about Allie, our Canadian divemaster: she wears a diving hood with mouse ears and she carries a magnifying glass a la Sherlock Holmes. Her passion for marine creatures big and especially small is inspiring, a trait shared by all of our guides. And the creatures are amazing. Even the most unpromising patch of rubble in the Philippines can yield a once-in-a-lifetime sighting. For me, it was a flamboyant cuttlefish (Big shout out to divemaster Ruben, who seems to possess his own kind of marine mojo.)

After all the diving, retire to the bar above the dive shop and ask Syvel to mix you up a margarita on the rocks and gaze out at the beauty that is the Philippines.

How much did I love my experience at El Galleon? The minute I got home I started working out a plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank motjuste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned from 8 days diving at El Galleon. Exceptional dive operation with easy access to sites and short boat rides. Customer service focus aparent throughout dive operation. Dive masters very experienced in this area (8+ years each).

We had an all inclusive package at the resort. Accomodations are comfortable. Not super fancy but very adequate. Food as prepared by their Corsican chef was very good. Overall hotel and meal service very friendly and consistently good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klsmithmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great resort with fantastic staff. Nice room with oceanview. Very good food and very cold beer at the bar.
Diving is very well organised with great staff. Healthy reefs with lots of fish and small critters. The Verde Island trip is a "must do".

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel where the staff are so happy and friendly and do everything possible to make you welcome. I stayed in the hotel with my husband and I dived every day as the diving is a hop and a skip away..... next door. My husband does not dive but found wandering the streets in Sabang, interesting and relaxing. He met me from the dives and shared a calamarie with me which is the local lemon drink. It is so pleasant and relaxing in the El Galleon I will definately be returning. We had a small room by the pool but those with a bigger budget could have an ocean view room up the steps which had a fantastic sea view.
My diving experience was fantastic with Ali Pete and Jamie. They work their socks off to help find large and small creatures in the sea. They are both knowledgeable and informative and always ready to help all abilities. Jerik, helps with loading the boats and getting equiptment ready and he is like your own personal valet. He is a treasure. I have been home for 6 hours and want to go straight back. Worth the long journey from England. Beverly and PaulChamberlain

Room Tip: Budget rooms are small, poolside rooms are small with a tv and the other rooms have sea views and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeverlyC154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.1 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 53 in Puerto Galera
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 53 in Puerto Galera
337 reviews
2.4 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#6 of 53 in Puerto Galera
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#26 of 53 in Puerto Galera
93 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#18 of 53 in Puerto Galera
71 reviews
4.6 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#7 of 53 in Puerto Galera
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Small Lalaguna, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $53 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its serene and quaint beachfront surroundings fronting Small La Laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Asia Divers and El Galleon Beach Resort and have thirty air-conditioned rooms that blend into the tropical hillside. Majestic views of Sabang Bay and Small Lalaguna Beach, with a restaurant which extends to the water’s edge offering a great value in European and local cuisine, a small pool for learning how to dive, spa, and all the hotel amenities and necessities one needs to totally enjoy his/her stay. The dive facility is less than a year old and there is nothing like it in Asia! We have a diving platform with a large pontoon where boats can easily dock making it easy for guests to get on and off the boats. Divers have their own crate for storage in a spacious area, a dedicated camera room; you are well looked after by the crew who are there to help you with anything you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Galleon Beach Hotel Puerto Galera
El Galleon Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing