We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VACATION PLACE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation
Ranked #8 of 53 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT VACATION PLACE!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

WOW, what a great vacation we had! We were looking for a place to take a suba diving vacation, and a friend recommended Capt'n Gregg's in Puerto Galera, Philippines. We took him up on his recommendation and when we arrived were pleasantly surprised at how friendly, clean and well centered Capt'n Gregg's was. The diving was great, the staff was very knowledgeable, and the equipment was state of the art. The room was furnished with cable tv, hot water, aircon, mini bar and safe. The beds were clean and very comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food and service were excellent! Our fiend was right on with this and now we recommend Capt'n Gregg's to all of our friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    14
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
13
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Even with new, updated rooms, Capt'n Gregg's, the oldest diving resort in Sabang, still has its old resort charm. A stable staff, many who have been there for over 15 years, is cheerful, and makes your stay safe, and fun. You'll always have a freshly-scrubbed bathroom, and clean towels, and you won't worry about items going missing.
While shore diving in front of the resort is wonderful, the reefs are thrilling, with or without currents. Boat rides of usually less than 7 minutes will put you over 10-15 of the best diving spots in the world. The diving staff seldom selects a site, leaving that up to the divers to discuss. Unless there is presumed a "thumper" current, you go where you want to go. New boats that go faster, and ride smoother, are wonderful.
The restaurant is one of the best on the beach, attested to by the patronage of so many who visit from other resorts. Great barbie, large menu selections, and daily specials, coupled with modest prices, make evening dining a great way to end a day of diving, or sight-seeing. Portions are large, so older or diet-aware diners can order half-portions. I use this as a way to try more than one menu item per meal. Don't tell my wife!!
If you want to update your diving skills, the staff is one of the most technically-knowledgeable on the beach. Tech-diving is offered, with the latest in mixed-gas computers.
Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: No elevator to upper rooms, so if you are really tired at the end of the day, you want an older, mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I travel with my friends exploring the beauty of the rebublic of the philippines we are very pleased to visit these beautiful island, we end up staying at Capt'n Gregg for a week we dine in we dive you name it they have everything we want it...we stayed at the new rooms very clean we have cable t.v , wireless connection restaurant is just five step away absolutely fantastic .... we are so lucky that we have the sun all the way for a week it's Owesome!!! we recommend to our friends and family...Food was excellent big serving and good price...and the staff were very very helpful and nice we are so spoiled ... We dive for a couple's days it's a magic we can not wait to come back again soon...we owe these trip to a very helpful manager who's always there to help us and to make sure we are having a good time and enjoying ourselves...Thank you for the un forgetable experience.....

Room Tip: good rooms upstairs all new with hot showers and cable t.v and wireless connection.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My Husband and I was here for 10 days holiday and diving we have a great time. The Owner and the Manager Chuck Shumack really take extra good care for us, We have drinks together { Gin Juice } I recommend it to every one great drink really love it..And the staff very very friendly / helpful with a smile on thier face's it really make the holiday perfect...we have dine in the restaurant food was out of this world large serving and very very good price...we stayed in the New renovated room very nice and clean with aircon, fan, with hot shower cable channels and wireless internet what else to ask for its really relaxing place to stay We can't wait to come back for the next summer...Diving we have a wonderful time with Mark dive master / instructor we really want to go diving with him again..Great job to all and we look forward to come back again we highly recommend to all our friends and relatives to go and have a great time at Capt'n Gregg's Sabang Beach , Puerto Galera Mindoro Philippines......

Room Tip: All the room is clean and nice with aircon and fan your choice and hot showers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Excellent location, friendly service, make your stay comfortable & engaging. The food is large & entices you to return...again & agian. It's like your one of the family with friends abound.

Room Tip: ask for the newer rooms available upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamerongeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Superb location, right in the centre of the bay on two levels right on the shoreline. Just the five rooms, all with aircon, fan, hot water & showers, three rooms upstairs, two a bit larger downstairs.
A small TV witth multi cable channels is also in each room, and free, though slowish, wireless internet is available if you have own laptop.
Whilst extremely central to everything, in the evenings, rooms are far enough from nightlife disco's etc, to not be disturbed by noise etc from the Sabang nightlife.

Captn Greggs will even arrange private transfer from Manila (or airport) including Bangka ferry . whether private or from Batangas, the bangka's arrive just 50metres down the beach from Captn Greggs which is really great.

The rooms might be considered small & basic compared to Europe and America, but are nice and clean, with new bed linen daily, and lets face it, one is here for getting out and about, eg scuba diving, not staying hidden in ones room, and for the nights the rooms have nice comfey beds for sleeping.

The staff are always there for you, in the background, and are really polite and friendly,
as is the owner, Chuck, who must have been there forever by now, maybe 20 years or so. You are made to feel like you are part of the family by Chuck and his staff.

Upstairs is the ever popular restaurant, with optional barbecue food from 6pm each evening, you can cook your own, or let the staff take care of it for you.
The massive 500gram steaks are exceedingly tastey, have one barbecued or grilled in the kitchen.. I always put weight on, despite diving and taking part in hash club Saturday runs. .

Downstairs is a diveshop, part of the same setup, with friendly and knowlegable Instructor and diveguide(s). Equipment is available for hire, and boats to some extent go out when you want to dive, not at some annoying, inconvenient fixed times....
This really suits me, as I hate being ready for 9am dives on my holidays! Most dive sites are just a 10minute fast ride away, or less, on the their small boats.

Cost wise, I am very happy, maybe a little bit extra due to the really central location, but who wants to walk to the far ends of the beaches, and worse up steep hill sides to their accomodation when Captn Greggs is so central to everything going on in Sabang.
I even have all my breakfast, lunch & dinner here. Plenty of choice, so even though here for three weeks I did not get bored with the choice of food.

I would recommend Captn Gregg's to anyone, with the probable exception of Honey Mooning Couples, who unless serious divers, should want something more upmarket and secluded, and with larger more luxurious rooms and who will also want a really great beach.

Does Captn Greggs warrant repeat bookings ? Yes certainly !
I guess the proof is that I have been coming to Sabang (not always on my own) since 1999, and since my first stay at Captn Greggs in 2002, I now always look to stay here. Not only that but I consistantly meet many repeaters, families, couples and singles, who have also stayed and returned multiple times.
Unfortunately Captn Greggs is so popular with repeat customers, who are in the know, especially during high season, that some times I have to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scuba_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

The room was moldy to the point that we checked out the next day with breathing problems. The room next door to ours was not as bad, but had giant roaches. The location was good. The diving was OK, they seemed to like to go deep for no real reason other than to keep the dive short. There is some current to lots of current. Overall the diving was much better in Anilao. The restaurant was poor. The food took a long time to arrive and then was just poor. When we went to pay, they charged us an additional 6.5% for using a credit card. This was the only place in the Phillippines that did this.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — mold and roaches
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 5166narda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.2 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
#18 of 52 in Puerto Galera
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mountain Beach Resort
Mountain Beach Resort
#12 of 53 in Puerto Galera
44 reviews
2.2 mi away
Puerto Nirvana Beach Resort
Puerto Nirvana Beach Resort
#27 of 52 in Puerto Galera
71 reviews
6.1 mi away
Amami Beach Resort
Amami Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in Puerto Galera
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation

Property: Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation
Address: | Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
situated right on the beach you can have your meals looking at Batangas luzon we cater for 50 seats 11 rooms and dive shop most wit wifi all have hat and cold water tv safes aircons 4 deluxe rooms have their own balcony's standard rooms all face the ocean , diveshop right on the beach front 5 minutes to all the dive sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capt`n Gregg`s Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing