We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a great place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badladz Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Badladz Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still a great place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was my second trip to Badladz Dive Resort, the first in 2007, and now in 2014. PG has grown and so has Badladz. The hotel has been well kept up, and is a decent place to sleep. The restaurant is great, and i love their Mexican menu. The staff are different from my last visit, but all were really good.
As mentioned by others, the view of Muelle Bay is great, so hanging out and just enjoying the view is a great option. That said, there are a lot of adventure type things to do while staying at Badladz. Number one is their dive shop. I like PG for diving, and did my Advanced dive course here my previous stay. The gear is maintained well, and the dive staff really want you to have a good dive experience. There's a nice variety of dives and sealife to see. I also went up to see the golf course and then Tamaraw Falls.
I think PG is a great little escape from Manila. There is no need for a flight, and there are lots of activity and accommodation options.
Badladz has established themselves as a great budget hotel, with not one, but two location options. I plan to try their beach resort when I go back next time with my wife and daughter.

Room Tip: There is a pool at the beach resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hi Macosie,

Thanks for coming back to visit us and also thank you for giving us your feedback about your time with us , I am really glad to see all the positive things you said about us , it really motivates us to keep working harder and harder to get even better for your next visit with your family :)

Safe travels and see you soon.

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    81
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
75
82
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Husband and I just decided to have a short vacation. There was a small hiccup on the way to Puerto Galera from Batangas but the receptionist and I were corresponding over the phone and she was really helpful(sorry,I forgot her name). When we arrived the guy who picked us up in a tricycle was like a tourist guide he was so informative of places to go to and things to do. The breakfast the next morning was great and affordable. The stay was all worth it. The ferry ride back to Batangas is right at their door steps. Kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lhana07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hi Lhana07,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your stay, I am really happy to see despite your small hiccup on the way that you still had an enjoyable vacation with Badladz and I am happy to see you enjoyed the breakfast , It's always nice to wake up to a nice meal :)

Safe travels

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I will stay in this hotel again; the view is fantastic, Mexican food great, the location good, but, the real strength is the helpfulness of the staff, both Gavins helped us arrange our excursions and Mary arranged a lift to and from the airport.

The hotel is basic, it had slightly sporadic electricity and hot water but it was safe clean and friendly.

Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Northern R ,

Thanks for your kind review , we love reading about the good times our guests had with us. Glad to see you enjoyed our food , I will let the two Gavins and Mary know what you said also.

Safe travels and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Regards

Maylen Cooney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

For me this place was perfect, I wanted to dive but not spend a lot staying at a resort, Its right next to the water and I loved sitting on the balcony looking at the yachts in the bay. You literally walk from the restaurant across the walkway to the dive boats, the dive gear was in excellent condition and the dive guys, Gavin and Morris very professional. The food was good and the location halfway between Sabang and White Beach was a short bike ride or ten minutes in a trike. The rooms were clean with A.C. and hot water. Couple of bars close by, Gavin (there's two of them) meets you at the front entrance and was very helpful, but won't have a beer till after work. Cheers mate. P.S Beware of the guys on the corner trying to rent motor bikes.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Greg B ,

Thanks for doing a review for us , we always love reading about the good experiences our guests had with us. I am happy to read about you enjoying the dives, the nice views and the kind words you said about Gavin and Morris.

We hope to see you back here soon.

Safe travels

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I had a great stay at Badladz while getting my PADI Open Water license with them. The rooms are simple but clean. The restaurant was good and right along the water. The hotel/restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive. Also, very convenient from the pier and you can hop right on the boat when you are ready to dive. If you aren't planning to dive, you might check out their other backpacker hotel as it has a pool, yard and beachfront.

I wish the wifi worked in the room but you really won't want to linger in there anyway. Internet anywhere in Puerto Galera is generally slow and there are occasional power blackouts. During the day, Badladz has you covered with a generator but at night noise regs prevent them from running it.

The dive crews were great and the equipment looked very new. If you are diving and the price is right, this is the place for you. If you want upscale, I'd find a nicer hotel but still use these guys for your diving.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lowest level and you might have better luck with wifi. If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Oliver O,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay with us, we really appreciate it. Firstly , well done on getting your dive license and welcome to the underwater club :)

Sorry about the blackouts , sometimes the power company turns off the power in the whole area to preform maintenance but like you pointed out , we use our generator to keep the hotel going during the day.

Thanks again for visiting us and we look forward to taking you on some great dives next time you come here.

Kind regards

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Outstanding, I couldn't dream of a better place to stay in Puerto Galera. The staff is the nicest I have ever seen, the food is excellent, next to the beach, swimming pool, located 10 minutes away from both White beach and Sabang, it provides the best opportunity to scuba dive and all of it for a very cheap price!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfourgous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi pfourgous,

I am really happy to see you enjoyed your stay here , we always like knowing our guests leave us with good memories and as always we love knowing our guests found the food excellent. The staff will be really pleased to hear the kind words you said about them :)

We hope to see you and your friends come back here soon.

Kind regards

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

If you are looking for great diving experience and getting know the locals, certainly Puerto Galera is the best option and Badladz is among the best choices of accommodation there. Absolutely value of the price! Good location and amazing view from the Mexican restaurant of the resort, where you can try also Philippino dishes.The rooms are not something impressive, but the beds are very comfortable and big, there is air conditioner and hot water all the time! The place has unique atmosphere and definitely if I come back to Puerto, I would go again there. Big thanks to the dive instructor, Gavin, for the patience and to the dive master, who is really great person!

Room Tip: Each floor has a cozy balcony with WiFi, so you can have a drink there and enjoying the perfect view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Maria Z,

Thank you for taking the time to write out a review of your experience with us, we really appreciate this.

I am happy to see you enjoyed our resort and had a great time on your first dives with Gavin. I will also let Morris our dive master know the kind words you said about him.

We hope to see you back here to enjoy the view and well done again for doing your first dive :)

Kind regards

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
1.0 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#1 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#10 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Encenada Beach Resort
Encenada Beach Resort
#46 of 51 in Puerto Galera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badladz Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badladz Dive Resort

Property: Badladz Dive Resort
Address: Muelle Pier | Puerto Galera, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines (Formerly Badladz Adventure Resort)
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Badladz Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of the Puerto Galera resorts! Our hotel is small, quiet and very clean. Located on the Yacht Harbour in Puerto Galera Bay at the "quiet" end of the main tourist pier, Muelle Pier. Our location is very convenient for travelers. You will be only 6 km from both Sabang and White Beach making it the best of both worlds. This makes it a nice alternative to the crowds at both these locations yet close enough to enjoy these spots, far enough away for rest and relaxation. You simply MUST try our famous International restaurant. We are highly rated here on TripAdvisor and serve the best Mexican food on the island. If you have come to learn how to dive, whether you are a complete beginner and just started learning to dive, or you’re an experienced diver looking to expand your qualifications, you’ve come to the right place. Our in-house dive shop offers you everything you need to discover the beautiful underwater world of Puerto Galera – no matter what your skill level is. We’ll take you to the best diving spots in Puerto Galera, which is one of the most beautiful bays in the world. You will find that staying here at BADLADZ Dive Resort is great value for your money and offers many conveniences whether you're here to dive or to enjoy the surrounding activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Badladz Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badladz Adventure Hotel Puerto Galera
Badladz Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing