We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quality operation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Badladz Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a superb experience with Bad Ladz. Gavin, the owner, is really nice and informative, and our dive guide Morris was also good, pointing out things to see and taking good care. Altogether, a quality operation - good equipment, friendly service and the dive group was small.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Cat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hi Cat A ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us ,we appreciate you letting others know the great experience you had with us. Also, I am really glad to see found our equipment in good condition and that Morris used his expert eye to show you all the beautiful creatures we have here in Puerto Galera

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back here again.

Regards

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 313 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Badladz hit the nail on the head for us, I believe it is not possible to make a better choice for diving instruction in Puerto Galera than Badladz. Hats off to Gavin O'Hanlon our dive master and Gavin the dive shop master. My girlfriend had never dived before, but with Gavin's excellent patient instruction and encouragement, she gained her Open Water certification over our three day stay.

Our rooms were just as expected, simple but clean and free of unwanted insects. The restaurant served us enjoyable food from friendly and competent staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hi Nick W ,

Thanks a lot for doing a review for us , we love reading about the good times our guests had with us here in Puerto Galera.

I am happy to see you have a great time diving with us , I will be sure to let Gavin and the rest of the staff know the kind words you said about them.

Congratulations again to your girlfriend , she did really well :)

Safe travels and we looks forward to welcoming you and our girlfriend back in the future

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

If you wish to go diving then Badladz offers an excellent service. The dive team is very professional and the gear is well- looked after and in very good condition. The diving was spectacular with the nearby bay offering opportunities to see turtles and wrecks.

Both the food and the service were first-class. The staff at the resort and within the dive centre were both helpful and knowledgeable. The food was of a high standard with both the Mexican and the Phillipino food being tasty and they were large portions.

The only downside was the standard of the rooms. The Philippines in general does cost more for accommodation than the rest of Asia and we were prepared for that. Nonetheless, we were disappointed by the room. The air con unit was incredibly loud (no chance of sleeping with it on) and the beds were uncomfortable, the mattresses should be been thrown out a few years ago! Furthermore, the WiFi does not work in the room meaning you have to sit in the bar, which would be fine if the WiFi worked there but it was so slow as to been almost unusable. For a non-diver there is nothing to keep you occupied as the island of Mindoro is in itself not very touristy.

If you want somewhere right next to the pier with good food, good diving and good service then this the place but I feel the rooms are overpriced for the quality they offer and also breakfast is not included, making it a less than ideal place to stay for the diving. The quality of the accommodation simply isn't as good as the quality of the diving. A shame!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hi Amcs1983 ,


Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us , we always appreciate feedback from our guests , positive and constructive since we are striving to improve our guests experience with us.

I am really glad to see you enjoyed diving with us . We understand that many people want to feel comfortable and relaxed underwater and all our dive staff aim to act in a considerate and professional manner to relax you underwater.

And we always like to read about people enjoying our food and staff , we make a consistent effort everyday to have all our meals we make to a high standard :)

Thank you for highlighting your observations about the rooms , we always like when our guests mention the problem to us during their stay so we can fix the problem quickly as possible , certainly the problems you describe are not aspects of our resort that we wish for every customer to experience and had you mentioned this to the management or staff we would have done our absolute best to fix the issue fast as possible. Again , this is not the standard of rooms we wish for all our guests to experience with us and we aim to improve this situation right away.

Regarding the internet , as I am sure you know from traveling around the Philippines the internet is quite slow compared to western countries , while the internet is not super fast it is more than capable at handling regular everyday tasks like checking e mails and updating social media. In Puerto Galera there is many activities and sights to see but if you are an experienced traveler or have done many of these activities in other parts of the world then perhaps you might find it a little boring, that is the great part about traveling is discovering new things :)

Since you have mentioned this to us we have taken steps to rectify this problem so the next time you come back to us these problems will be in the distant past :)

Safe travels.

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

After a trip with friends, I decided to stay on in PG for a little diving and quiet time. Badladz was a great choice for both. Do not be fooled by the small dive shop; whilst I was diving with my own kit, I noticed that all their rental equipment was well maintained or new, as well as properly organised.

The dive sites we went to in PG were surprising, in a good way. Often we would go down and I would wonder why on earth we were there, then one after another, mimic octopi, seahorses, jawfish, spiny devilfish... I dove mostly with Jojo, however on one day he was not available, they arranged for another Divemaster, who was equally talented in macro spotting.

Badladz itself may not be beach front (it's right by the port), but it sits in front of its own little patch of harbour, a vista of yachts and flat water. The food is filling but comes in huge portions, perfect post dive.

Everyone there was friendly, and it was an easy place to chill out and read a book between or after dives.

1  Thank georginah10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hi Georgina H ,

Thank you so much for leaving a review for us , we never get tired of reading about the good time our guests had with us here in Puerto Galera . Thanks for noticing our good quality equipment , we like making sure everything works correctly and regularly service the dive shop equipment so everyone has a safe dive. Haha , I know the dive site you are talking about and it's one of my favorites , from a distance it looks quite barren but when you get close to the sandy bottom it comes alive with cool fish , we find lots of rare animals on that dive :)

We hope to see you return to us soon for some more dives and great food.

Safe travels

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

affordable room and food prices.. good service..nice room. tasty food.. beautiful view always everyday.. friendly owner as well as the service crew...love to stay here. they have a dive shop, too if you want to explore around or do a great dive..very good service. excellent

Room Tip: their room have always a good view.very relaxing wherever room you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheyydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Hi cheyydel ,

Thank you so much for doing a review for us about your good time here , we really appreciate the positive feedback we get from guests like yourself :) , I am so glad to see you enjoyed all the parts of our resort that we put so much effort into so that our guests have a great time with us.Thanks again.

We hope to see you back here soon.

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Really enjoyed my first experience of diving at badladz , very friendly well organised and professionally run , I couldn't fault it .
We started off in the pool at badladz beach resort , to familiarise ourselves with all the equipment , then went on as many dives as we could fit in while we were there . The two Gavin's made everything easy for us , and diving in small groups meant we got to see so much more than the crowded boats in sabang , plus when we were finished it was straight in the bar for a cold beer and some excellent food .
I will be going back to do my open water course with badladz soon .

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Hi Shaun F ,

Thank you for taking the time to write out a review for us , we always like to read about the great times our guests had with us here.We are really glad to see you had a good time diving , we always aim to keep dive group sizes small.

Safe travels and we look forward to having you back to complete your open water course :)

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

As a novice at diving we could not have found a better place to start than at Badladz Dive Resort. Gavin the dive shop manager explained and sorted everything out for us and we took our initial training in the safety of the pool at the Badladz Beach Resort, where we were staying with family. In the afternoon our fab instructor (Irish Gavin) accompanied us on our first dive not far from the dive resort which was just amazing. The area is a fantastic place for diving. I really can't fault these Badladz guys - the equipment is of high quality and they carry it all to the boat. They only dive in small groups (not like various other crowded boats we saw). So you get lots pointed out to you and as a novice I felt constantly reassured and safe. We followed this up with 2 more dives off Sabang and saw turtles, giant clams, lion fish, a huge frog fish and many other beautiful creatures and corals. Next time we visit we will have to do Verde Island.

Both the Mexican and Filipino food is really good both here and at the Badladz beach resort. There is so much to choose from and its always cooked fresh to order, which may take a bit longer but we didnt mind - just have another cold beer! Great location and the staff are really friendly. We can't wait for the next visit!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Heids1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Hi Heids1 ,

Thank you so much for leaving a review for us, we really appreciate you letting others know about the great time you had with us here. I am so happy to hear about the good time you had diving with us , we really enjoy putting the extra effort in to making sure all our divers feel relaxed and comfortable. Happy to hear you enjoyed our food also :)

Safe travels and we look forward to having you and your family back here soon.

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
1 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
165 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#22 of 54 in Puerto Galera
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#19 of 54 in Puerto Galera
71 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 54 in Puerto Galera
136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 54 in Puerto Galera
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badladz Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badladz Dive Resort

Address: Muelle Pier | Puerto Galera, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines (Formerly Badladz Adventure Resort)
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: $32 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Badladz Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of the Puerto Galera resorts! Our hotel is small, quiet and very clean. Located on the Yacht Harbour in Puerto Galera Bay at the "quiet" end of the main tourist pier, Muelle Pier. Our location is very convenient for travelers. You will be only 6 km from both Sabang and White Beach making it the best of both worlds. This makes it a nice alternative to the crowds at both these locations yet close enough to enjoy these spots, far enough away for rest and relaxation. You simply MUST try our famous International restaurant. We are highly rated here on TripAdvisor and serve the best Mexican food on the island. If you have come to learn how to dive, whether you are a complete beginner and just started learning to dive, or you’re an experienced diver looking to expand your qualifications, you’ve come to the right place. Our in-house dive shop offers you everything you need to discover the beautiful underwater world of Puerto Galera – no matter what your skill level is. We’ll take you to the best diving spots in Puerto Galera, which is one of the most beautiful bays in the world. You will find that staying here at BADLADZ Dive Resort is great value for your money and offers many conveniences whether you're here to dive or to enjoy the surrounding activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Badladz Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badladz Adventure Hotel Puerto Galera
Badladz Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing