We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“USA ski lodge circa 1950”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banaue
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Old, tired, in desperate need of some modernisation. Room was just ok, but bathroom was old and poorly maintained, the door wouldn't close without force.
Beds are at best ok, there is nothing offered in the room, no TV, no fridge, no aircon (though you don't need it really) the carpet is worn, and the room felt not really clean.
Breakfast is offered in the price. The breakfast service was slow, and it wasn't a busy morning by any means, so I don't know how they would cope if it was busy. The food itself was average. The hot chocolate was appalling.
Found the staff to be impersonal and not really caring about what the guest wanted.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 369 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is supposedly the best hotel in Banaue, but even though the staff is friendly and food good, the rooms are small and bathrooms even smaller. Granted, you do not spend a lot of time in the rooms, but i think it is time for a renovation.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel surely outperforms other hotels we visited in remote areas. Rooms are clean and charming, pleasantly relaxing and offer stunning views. Fans are provided which is useful to catch sleep at night. Besides the weather is generally cooler in northern Luzon compared to Manila so no issues to be expected in that particular framework. However, as opposed to locals we met in the streets, we found the staff relatively unfriendly, and not really supportive for providing information on the tourist spots. Also the food in the restaurant was pricey when comparing with surrounding food stalls and probably not worth the value.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

They didn't have my booking, so after 21 hours traveling, you just want the room and a shower.
Room with a dump smell, old furniture, no look at the carpet floor, cockroach, water tap leaking, no hot water, no ac, noisy fan.
Wifi in extra charge and only in lobby. Sinister bar. Walk away fast !
Around 10 minutes walk to get travelers tips and tourism center
Breakfast good and service nearly professional.
Only good point is the unique view: sunrise on the rice terrace.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana_elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I know that is probably the best hotel in Bananue... but is very far from being a good hotel. The room are very noisy because the walls are thin and not soundproof, so we could hear snoring from the room beside. How water takes 15 minutes to come out. The restaurant is even worse: quite expensive but we didn't like the food. You have to pay from the wi-fi, even if very often it doesn't work.. I mean in the mountain probably is difficult to get good connection, but at least do not ask money for that.
Positive aspects: nice staff, nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomagnaMia82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

a famous guidebook says that it looks better inside than outside. personally i think it looks as bleak inside as outside. the place is in a serious need of a facelift. everywhere (lobby, rooms...) it looks and feels old and worn out.

the rooms have good views of the surrounding mountains though, such does the restaurant room. that is the only good point of the hotel.

we had dinner at the hotel. the food is not bad. neither better nor worse than anywhere else in the area; just more expensive (especially the wine)

however breakfast buffet is terrible. cheap items of very poor quality.

there is internet only in the lobby; you must pay for it and it hardly works...

this is an hotel that mainly caters to groups and which enjoys very little competition... therefore why make any effort...

i don't know the other hotels in banaue and given the little choice this might be after all the best one. but, that said, it is not a good hotel at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was a nice hotel with a great location. The rooms overlooked the Rice Terraces and the breakfast was wonderful. They also have a nice swimming pool which was great for diving as the depth was 12 feet. However when i asked for the password for the internet, they told me there was a charge. I would think that when you pay around $50 for a hotel room, that the internet would be free. Also the use of the computer in the lobby was also a charge, which was disappointing. In the room there were glasses and coffee cups, and even little packets of coffee and tea. However there was no way to heat up hot water to use. The room had a thermos and no one told us how to get hot water into the thermos. The staff was friendly and allowed us to keep our luggage into a back room until the night bus left for Manila.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms had a tiny single beds so if possible ask for a room with a little larger bed in i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcallinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banaue
2.6 mi away
Native Village Inn & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Bogah Home Stay
Bogah Home Stay
#4 of 16 in Banaue
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banaue Homestay
Banaue Homestay
#2 of 16 in Banaue
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Banaue Evergreen Hostel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Rice Homestay
Rice Homestay
#3 of 16 in Banaue
18 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sagada Heritage Village
Sagada Heritage Village
#5 of 24 in Sagada
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel

Address: Banaue Rice Terraces | 348 kms. north of Manila via Cabanatuan City and Lagawe Roads, Banaue, Luzon 3601, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Ifugao Province > Banaue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banaue
Price Range: $35 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banaue Hotel And Youth Banaue
And Youth Hostel Banaue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing