We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and some character (inside). Good choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banaue
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and some character (inside). Good choice.”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed in superior and standard rooms. Standard is larger but bland. Superior has more furniture and style, difference in price is not justified. Staff is generally nice and courteous. You can book all your excursion from the hotel. Food is average, good pancit though. Prices are reasonable for local menu. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MabuhayNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    132
    152
    32
    14
See reviews for
69
135
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

There really isnt much to choose from if you want something more upscale than a backpacker hotel. The Banaue Resort Hotel (must have changed names) is located away from the centre of town but if its peace and quiet you want and to loose yourself in the scenery, this is the hotel to be. The hotel is average but the view is amazing. Staff try hard to please.

The rooms are dated and do need upgrading but they were clean. Breakfast came with the room and you had 3 breakfast options to choose from. There's only one dining area in the hotel and you would need transportation if you were going out. That said, transportation is inexpensive. You can hire a taxi to take you around the entire day, visiting the different terraces or outlying areas. There was 5 of us and it cost us about $25pp for our daytrip, stopping where we liked to take photos or just looking at the local produce. Our driver's name was Tony and he services the hotel. His english is decent and since he is from the area, he really knows where to stop for gorgeous vantage points.

The hostel part of this property is being rebuilt. Dont know when they will be finished. The hotel is actually owned and ran by the Phiippine Tourism Department so a little disappointed that such a beautiful site would have such a basic hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that overlooks the rice terraces. Just asking for a view room could me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnut360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This hotel was a fantastic place for some proper sleep. After a few days Batad -and the lousy accomodation there-, we were in desperate need of a good night sleep. We tried to negociate a good deal at the Banaue Hotel, but that is not possible in this hotel. So we end up paying 2200 pesos, but it was all worth it. The beds are comfi, the room is spacious, clean linnen, a great shower and above all...SILENCE! TOTAL SILENCE (that is in the Phillipines hard to find). The gigantic swimming pool was absolutely great. There was nobdy and we the views are awsome. The breakfast was really lovely. The views from the restaurant are absolutely great. The look of the hotel from the outside is totally ugly. Inside the hotel it smells so/so, and the interieur/ decor is very old fashioned but it has it's charm.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EllesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The Banaue hotel is a sizeable state run hotel with a superb location and some fantastic views from the restaurant and rooms where you can view the world famous rice terraces.
Rooms are spacious but basic with no TV etc. The shower was very good. The restaurant is pleasant with reasonable service as is the bar which opens in the evening. There is a reasonable open air swimming pool and poolside bar again with great views of the surrounding countryside. Below the pool there is a souvenir / craft shop which offers good at a fraction of the price of the outlets inside the hotel building.

Room Tip: looking towards the terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alant1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The Banaue Hotel is pretty spartan, generally very clean and a good choice for the area.

Don't expect many amenities, but remember, you're not coming here for the hotel. It's all about the rice terraces and getting out to see the Banaue region. Don't miss Batag or the hanging coffins of Sagada.

The rooms are **very** spartan. There is no TV, no A/C, no hand towels (just scratchy bath towels). The provide soap (those little round ones about the size of the diameter of a toilet roll core) and shampoo (in plastic packets the size of your typical sugar packet). They provided a large fan on a stand and that provided enough cooling to comfortably sleep.

Our room was very clean EXCEPT my son's bed had many tiny ants (and they also attacked a glass on the counter that had leftover gatorade). My bed was fine. Fortunately, there was a third bed in the room so he just moved over. The ants were just an annoyance and not a big problem. After all, you are out in the Philippine countryside. If you expect the Manila Hotel, you are going to be quite underwhelmed.

In our three night stay, we ate all our meals at the hotel dining room. Our first night and first breakfast was off the menu as there were few guests in the hotel (we were there in the off-season in May). However, the second and third days had more guests and the dining room served up a buffet for both breakfast and dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed the meals although not all the buffet items were tasty. The food tended to be on the more salty side. The coffee was excellent, I might add.

I suspect this one of the better places to stay in the area (and we didn't many other choices), so if you are a Western traveler, this hotel will fit the bill for you. Just don't expect many amenities. It's pretty much no frills, relatively clean and close to some of the most fantastic rice terraces you'll ever see!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreasuryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I've been visiting this place and hotel for at least 1-2x per year since 2007 with 25-38 trainees plus staff each time. Nice, accommodating staff, and willing to serve our needs of 2-3 different food preferences (vegetarian, muslim, regular) for an international and multi-cultural group

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieMaghuyop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
東京
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

i didnt wanna stay at this hotel actually but we had no choice.
i think it's a lil hard to stay there if you are not philipino or backpacker.
hotel room is dark and not clean and nothing to do there but better to stay one night if you go banaue by car from manila because it is pretty far!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banaue
30.6 mi away
Villa Diana Hotel & Cafe
0.4 mi away
Bogah Home Stay
Bogah Home Stay
#3 of 14 in Banaue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banaue Homestay
Banaue Homestay
#2 of 14 in Banaue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Native Village Inn & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Batad View Inn and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Banaue Evergreen Hostel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel

Property: Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel
Address: Banaue Rice Terraces | 348 kms. north of Manila via Cabanatuan City and Lagawe Roads, Banaue, Luzon 3601, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Ifugao Province > Banaue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banaue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banaue Hotel And Youth Banaue
And Youth Hostel Banaue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing