We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful terraces, great hot springs, HIRE A GUIDE”

Hapao Rice Terraces
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Banaue
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Beautiful terraces, great hot springs, HIRE A GUIDE”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Another set of beautiful rice terraces. If you want to go to the hot springs, it is possible to get there without a guide, but inadvisable. We got lost on the way, but our tricycle driver found us, and took us through the terraces to the hot spring.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBunnsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    28
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ak
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“amazing views, awesome hike”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you want to visit the terraces, hire a reliable guide. The hotels usually can recommend one for you so don't feel pressured by the many who will approach you (especially if you're a foreigner) offering their services. Our guide, Julius, is one amazing and knowledgeable person. He knew the area quite well and was able to identify the flora and fauna in the area. We were even regaled with stories connected with the birds (I was traveling with avid birders). Hapao was worth the visit and the crazy, bumpy road up to the top was an adventure in itself. Once at the ridge, we hiked down for a couple of hours and reached Batad. The whole area is worth several days worth of adventures... I only wish we could've stayed longer. It's not for the faint of heart or for one who dislikes walking/hiking. Our party included a little kid who made me nervous as she adroitly walked the narrow path around the rice fields. Our guide carried her at times, especially when the trek was a bit steep. He never asked for more money (we arranged for the guide fees and driver fees ahead of time) but we gave him a tip anyway as he was genuinely kind and honest.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traipsingguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Another great set of rice terraces”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I recommend not just seeing the Banaue Rice terraces that everyone goes to see but also the Hapao Rice terraces. It is a slightly different set up with a hot spring at the end, so the experience and the photos are unique and worth going to see. If you have any among you who are afraid of heights, then I suggest not going because one of our fellow travelers had a really hard time with the very narrow paths we had to go on that had fairly steep and long drops into the valley. I personally had a great time and enjoyed seeing not just the terraces but also other agricultural aspects like pigs in small hut-like cages, people's houses, pets, and other growing crops. The hot spring is small, so do not be disappointed when you get there. It is nice to soak there after the long climb, though. There is a lady by the hot spring who sells drinks and snacks in a large gazebo, so there is a place to relax and have lunch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alicevarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trek to hot springs”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Gorgeous view and we got a guide to help us walk from the terraces to the hot spring. Lovely.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MisstressMatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hapao Rice Terraces also viewed

Banaue, Ifugao Province
Banaue, Ifugao Province
 
Banaue, Ifugao Province
Banaue, Ifugao Province
 

Been to Hapao Rice Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing