We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but Good”
Review of Halfway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halfway Lodge
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Banaue
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We had 8 in our group when we stayed at the Halfway Lodge from December 27-29, 2011. My husband and I had a standard room with our own bathroom, but no hot water. If you want hot water, you have to get a more expensive room. The 6 others in our group were single guys so they stayed in a dorm room for 6. For budget travelers, you can't beat the prices here. The food in their restaurant is also very good. And, it's quiet, facing the terraces. The staff were very helpful and can book transportation to Batad or Sagada for you. We only trekked up to the waterfalls in Banaue so didn't need to rent a jeep. We also had our own vehicle so drove ourselves up to the View Point. There's parking for your vehicle in front of Halfway Lodge, too.

We liked the location of the Halfway Lodge because while it's close to the town proper, it's the last lodge on the road going down the hill and so is nice and quiet. It's only a few minutes' walk to the town, though. They also have a gift shop.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mlgocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 52 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Halfway Lodge is situated in the heart of Banaue Town and is very close to the Tourism Center, where you can book all of your terrace treks with a certified and well-trained guide.

My stay here began Dec. 28, 2011 and I checked out Jan 09, 2012.

The staff (all family), are very friendly and I was warmly welcomed and treated throughout my stay.

My bed was comfortable and I slept soundly throughout the night.

The rooms are clean, simple and unadorned. But they do have en-suite bathrooms with hot and cold running water. All rooms face the Pangga (sp?) River and offer serene views of the Banaue Rice Terraces. I would suggest that you leave your windows and drapes open during your stay for a very peaceful viewing and aural experience.

Oh, and I forgot to mention...the beds feature an authentic and warm woven Ifugao blanket.

There are several room configurations, capable of accommodating various sized groups.

One double bed and one single
Two double beds and one single
Four double beds
7 Single beds

There are also hostel-style rooms with two single beds that share common bathrooms.

Walk-in rates at the time of my stay were:

P500 for single person (I stayed in one of the Double-Double-Single rooms but had it to myself, since I traveled alone.)

P800 for two people

P250/head for groups.

Discount rates are available...email to get a quote.

The restaurant offerings are:

BREAKFAST
Various complete ones, including:
American
Filipino
"Halfway"
"Semi-light"
"Ordinary"
Continental

Also on the breakfast menu are Omelets, Sandwiches, and Pancakes (all of the pancakes in this area are, to themselves, sweet, and are generally a good deal thicker than the American version (still fluffy, though.)

LUNCH
Halfway Rice (which is actually a combo meal)
Chopsuey Rice
Curry Rice
Chicken Rice
Pork Rice
Fried Rice (w/ham, eggs, and veggies)
Garlic Fried Rice (traditional Filipino and yummy)
Plain Rice

DINNER
Plates:
Fried Chicken Platter
Breaded Chicken or Pork Chops
Pork or Chicken versions of Afritada, Curry, Chopsuey, and Adobo
Chicken Tinola
Pork Sinigang
Bangus (Milk Fish) Boiled, Fried w/Sweet & Sour Sauce, and Plain Fried

Soup:
Egg w/Garlic
Egg w/Onion
Vegetable
Vegetable w/Egg
Cream of Mushroom
Cream of Asparagus
Chicken Mami (fresh noodles)

Pancit:
Bijon
Canton
Salanghan

Salad:
Halfway (Sort of kind of like a Cobb or Chef Salad of sorts)
Potato
Fruit
Tomato, Cucumber & Onion

DRINKS:
Various Juices: Mango,
Freshly Squeezed Calamansi or Lemon Juice
San Miguel Pilsen or Light Beer
Hot Tea
Iced Tea
Hot Chocolate
Instant Coffee
Brewed Coffee
Sprite
Royal Orange (gotta try it)
Coke

All of the food I had was tasty and well presented.

There are a few things you need to be aware of - things that are common with most every hotel in Banaue (excepting the pricey ones.)

There is electricity in the rooms, but only for the lights and hot water. There are no outlets. You can charge your electronics for a small fee.

While the bathrooms are western style, paper items are not to be flushed, so you will need to baggie your soiled toilet paper and place it in the bathroom waste bin.

You need to ask for towels, as there are none in the room.

In closing, the Halfway Lodge gets my vote for staying in Banaue - great rates, great food, great views, comfortable beds...what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Ask for a discount if you are staying more than two nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oreoero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Noa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank sarabisgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zikka83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Loïc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banaue hotels
0.1 mi away
Banaue Homestay
Banaue Homestay
#2 of 16 in Banaue
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bogah Home Stay
Bogah Home Stay
#4 of 16 in Banaue
159 reviews
2.5 mi away
Native Village Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banaue Evergreen Hostel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Rice Homestay
Rice Homestay
#3 of 15 in Banaue
17 reviews
4.8 mi away
Batad View Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway Lodge

Address: Poblacion, Banaue, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Ifugao Province > Banaue
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Banaue
Price Range: $16 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing