We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth every penny!”

Iga Sapi Bali ( Bali Beef Rib's)
Ranked #211 of 1,174 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth every penny!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My brother took me to Iga Sapi Bali one day for lunch, and it was my first visit there. Although the place is famous for its Iga Bakar (barbecued ribs), I opted for the Iga Kecombrang (ribs with relish made with ginger flower/torch ginger) because I was having gastritis at that time and it was labelled as "Tidak Pedas" (not hot/spicy) on the menu. My brother ordered the Iga Bakar and Urutan (Balinese beef sausages). I think the Iga Kecombrang was excellent! If you're not familiar with "kecombrang", it's a fragrant herb that can be commonly found in Thai cooking and in Laksa. I also tried a little bit of the Urutan, it wasn't spicy, and it was delicious. Not cheap by Jogja standards, but I think my meal was worth every penny. I would definitely come again and try their other dishes!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 573ff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do you very like iga sapi? You must try this”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

oooh.. The food taste sooooo gooooood... Try iga sapi bali. Not iga sapi bali madu. Coz iga sapi bali have a original taste from this restaurant. Ayam betutu penyet if u like chicken is the best one too. Sop bening iga u must try too. Don' t forget to order es daluman.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 085729492536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“regularly visit this restaurant, always like it!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Best Iga bakar in Yogya, that's for sure!
The place is very simple, yet very nice, in between rice fields.
It has outdoor sittings, it's good either at lunch time or dinner time.
Took many friends there and they all like it.
Ayam kecombrang is also very good, for who likes spicy food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank shinta_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“salivating”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

really good, if you like spicy go for "Iga sapi Bali" if yo can't handle spicy go for "iga sapi madu"
Iga sapi with steamed rice will cost around Rp 45.000 , BUT IT'S WORTH IT

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Ribs in Jogja”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ribs are spicy and very tender. Bener2 empuk dan lunak. Overall most of the food here are hot and spicy.
Must try is the Iga Bakar Bali and Ayam Kecombrang! Damn hawt yoo.. If you prefer something a little less hot, try the Iga Bakar Madu or Soup Iga.
Don't forget to try the Es Daluman! Highly recommended to cleanse the hot spices.

Despite the rave reviews of the ribs, service and atmosphere wise, the place resembles a warung. A more professional warung that is :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iga Sapi Bali ( Bali Beef Rib's) also viewed

 

Been to Iga Sapi Bali ( Bali Beef Rib's)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing