We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not delicious, but the atmosphere is cozy”
Review of Pecel Solo Resto

Pecel Solo Resto
Ranked #71 of 1,153 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $3
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Treasuring The Past
Semarang
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Food not delicious, but the atmosphere is cozy”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The restaurant is located in old / antique Javanese Joglo-style house. The atmosphere was very cozy. But the food taste was under average. Under our expectation. Price was not cheap, compared to the taste of the food. The staff service was no good. When we arrived, we have to change our order for 3 or 4 times, because they ran out of the menu that we ordered.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silverearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    47
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic, sensational, reasonably priced!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I had the pecel solo with red rice and sesame seed sauce while my cousin had it with peanut sauce, both were delicious! It was the best meal I've had in 3 days at jogja! Great for those open to trying new flavours in a setting of running water, wooden furniture.. They have buffet option too! The guava juice I had was freshly prepared and without added water and sugar free too, as I wanted it pure! I love the setting, tough a word of caution for those without basic Indonesian, the waiters don't understand much English!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yensmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
634 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Indonesian style of salad”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Its a salad indonesian with peanut sauce, worth to try but some time just too hot for our western tongue

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank faozanrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A place to go for authentic local food”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The restaurant was built from an old Javanese wooden house, with traditional antique wooden interior and old timber furnitures. Nicely decorated. On the evening when my family and I went to the restaurant, there was a life traditional music played near the entrace door. As soon as I entered the restaurant I felt like I was in an old time Javanese place. There was a good list of local food and beverages, some are not usually available in an Indonesian restaurant. We tried several dishes and drinks. The food and drinks were nice and delicious, especially for those who are familiar with Javanese food. The selection of vegetables used are local variety of vegetables, and the the taste was real Javanese. However, I am not sure whether or not this would suit foreign tourists' palate.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelnTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“not bad...”
Reviewed June 26, 2008

not bad...

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pecel Solo Resto also viewed

 
Ngaglik, Yogyakarta
Depok, Yogyakarta
 

Been to Pecel Solo Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing