We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, conveniently located but ear plugs essential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Istana Batik Ratna Hotel
Ranked #186 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is located within 100 metres of the main train station in Yogyakarta. I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June 2013. It is a traditional style building with about 30 rooms in total located in a single storey arrangement around the open air restaurant and swimming pool. The rooms are basic with aircon, but are rather dark inside and the bathroom decor is very old. Outside each room is two seats and a small table. Staff very polite and although the bed was comfortable, I would agree with previous reviewers on the noise especially from 6.00 am every day. The walls in the rooms are not well sound proofed and you can also hear the traffic from outside.
The hotel seems to attract mainly Indonesian families, and presuming they are up early for prayers they all seem to then converge in the breakfast and pool area when it opens at 6.00. From then on there is lots of nose from rattling cutlery/crockery, loud children etc. The breakfast was good but you had to be up early to get the best of it otherwise it's gone.

Overall good enough apart from the noise in the morning.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Philip771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 129 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

A friendly and very helpful staff. Clean, quiet, TV with Western channels, many areas to lounge in, the swimming pool and the dinning area in a beautiful setting. Good location, can walk to Malioboro and many restaurant and travel agencies. The breakfast and menu are fine. I stayed 1 week and enjoyed my stay very much. I would definitely stay there again. English spoken here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndiaSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a clean, comfortable hotel located very close to Malioboro. Malioboro is just 5 mins walk from this hotel, so you are near all the action, but away from the noise as well.

The room was a good size, and bathroom was decent was as well.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

There was a small swimming pool - good for a short dip when the weather gets too hot.

Room Tip: The rooms nearer to the reception has a stronger wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stilldelving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

sometime noise is annoying but if we come to jogya to see around..less stay at the hotel this is a good place to go...can go by train to another place and 5 minutes walk to malioboro street
room is just okay....the room normally cleaned once a day...
staff quite friendly

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel itself is fine and the staff are quite pleasant but people intending to stay here should be warned that the location, while being convenient, is also very noisy. Not only is the hotel situated on a main road but it's also very close to the railway crossing. I had the additional discomfort of having a screaming child in the next room. The combination of all three ensured a poor night's sleep. People who are not bothered by noise will find this hotel a reasonable mid-range option in a city full of reasonable mid-range hotels.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back may be quieter but I doubt it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19,371,973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed with this hotel 1 night in february. Overall it was a fairly good experience. The hotel is colonial style with a lot of wood carving. Rooms are clean although a little bit dated. Staff are friendly and the location is good. They have a good Indonesian restaurant as well. Only the matrasses of the bed need to be renewed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice hotel, very close to the train station and Malioboro street. Traditional Indonesian setting with wooden furniture. Clean rooms and badroom (although water pressure not always good). Friendy staff. Breakfast included, also if you leave the hotel very early (for sunset at Borobudur).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#32 of 212 in Yogyakarta
675 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#65 of 212 in Yogyakarta
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peti Mas Hotel
Peti Mas Hotel
#122 of 212 in Yogyakarta
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abadi Hotel
Abadi Hotel
#105 of 212 in Yogyakarta
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grage Ramayana Hotel
Grage Ramayana Hotel
#92 of 212 in Yogyakarta
86 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Rosela Hotel
Grand Rosela Hotel
#191 of 212 in Yogyakarta
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istana Batik Ratna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istana Batik Ratna Hotel

Address: Jl. Pasar Kembang 29, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $28 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Istana Batik Ratna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Istana Batik Ratna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing