We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect: calm location, friendly staff, spacious rooms”
Review of Duta Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duta Garden Hotel
Ranked #31 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect: calm location, friendly staff, spacious rooms”
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights, we were absolutely charmed by this hotel!
It's calm, no streetnoise, just outside of the busy centre
(15 minutes, or between 10.000/20.000 rupias away from centre by becak, which is about 1 euro)
Breakfast staff was very friendly, reception staff also.
The rooms are very spacious, clean, modern.
NOTHING to complain!!!!
The price is right, about 360.000 rupiah a night (26 euros or 38 american dollars)

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmilieD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    124
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
111
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I was a little concerned when I read the last review of this hotel and it could not be further from the truth. Yes, you are approached by rickshaw drivers every time you leave the hotel but this has been my experience at every hotel in the Far East. You just need to be polite and smile and say no thanks. In the whole 16 day trip in Indonesia I was never touched or felt threatened but I am a 57 yr old female. I was travelling alone and experienced many friendly helpful locals.
The hotel has a reasonable sized pool and the rooms are in a lovely setting. I crossed large stepping stones thru a carp pool to get to my room which had a small patio in front with table a chairs. A lovely place to relax after hours sightseeing. There is a breakfast room but it is not a restaurant altho you can order thru room service and eat there. Breakfast leans to oriental but you can ask for eggs(fried,scrambled etc)there is toast jam and cheese slices and fruit.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Someone comes round every late afternoon with complimentary tea and cake The room was spacious with towel (no hand towel but when I asked they gave me another bath towel) and sheets changed every day (not very "green"). There are numerous places to eat nearby. The only down side for some people may be that hotel is in an area between 2 or 3 mosques & the call to prayers (which are not in sync) may disturb early morning. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We very much enjoyed our 5 day stay at Duta Gardens. The staff were wonderfully attentive, the room was clean, large and beautiful. We love the fish ponds and gardens. The pool was clean. Breakfast was a treat. We hope to return next year and will for sure plan to stay at Duta Gardens.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Stayed at this hotel with my husband and 2 brothers on 9-12 December 2008. We booked trough the hotel website and took the 4 days 3 nights package that was offered by the hotel. The hotel driver picked us up from the airport and brought us to the hotel. from the main road we have to go into a small road to reach the hotel. I was quite scared as it is kind of dodgy but man when we walk in to the hotel, we are quite please with the nice homey ambience. There are fish ponds, small swimming pools, nice kept gardens, birds cages and so on. You'll straight away feel like you're at your own home. Check in was smooth and fast. Rooms are nice and clean. Bathroom is big and very clean too. But i think they can actually improve at the room's lighting as it is too deemly lighted especially at night. Breakfast was basic but enough to get going with Nasi Goreng, breads, fresh fruits, coffee and tea. If you're back at the hotel in the evening, they will serve you tea at your balcony with biscuit or slice of cake. That's kind of sweet for them to do that. The staffs are all very helpful. If you want hot water just ask from them and they'll bring it to you.

Overall, the hotel is clean and comfortable. I'll recommend if you're with budgets.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrdaIdris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Fantastic hotel near centre of yogya.Large clean rooms with all the usual amenties inc A/C.Great patio areas in front of ground floor rooms.Well maintained gardens around the pool.Friendly and helful staff.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolUKMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyberJaya
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Duta Garden is a nice place to stay with the reasonable price and also the friendly service from their staffs. The environment is peace and feel comfort to stay, but anyway, hopefully they could maintain their room facilities frequently.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BYLIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDONESIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Duta garden hotel is NOT for the single (female) traveler. You are constantly harassed by the Ojek drivers outside - who 'magically' obtain your phone number (probably from hotel reception) and proceed to stalk you (in person and on phone). There is little if any service at the hotel itself. The restaurant is rarely open for food - which forces you to leave the hotel and again be harassed, grabbed or fondled.
It is NOT a relaxing holiday experience at all!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — feeling harassed
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RozMaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 206 in Yogyakarta
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
#20 of 206 in Yogyakarta
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#59 of 206 in Yogyakarta
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#30 of 206 in Yogyakarta
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indies Heritage Hotel
Indies Heritage Hotel
#27 of 206 in Yogyakarta
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 206 in Yogyakarta
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duta Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Garden Hotel

Property: Duta Garden Hotel
Address: Kpg. Timuran 103, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duta Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duta Garden Hotel is one of the three hotels united in Java Bali Accommodation. Situated in a strategic area of Timuran Village (Prawirotaman area) that is well known internationally, Duta Garden Hotel that is managed by one of the lodging pioneers has been experienced in giving services to tourists from different countries. Its existence for more than a decade and its success to go through economy crisis proves that Duta Garden Hotel services are the best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duta Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing