We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in perfect location”
Review of Duta Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duta Garden Hotel
Ranked #32 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had a great time in Yogyakarta for the 2nd time after 9 years. And it’s also my 2nd time staying in Duta Garden. The place changed a lot for the better. With the new wing having the villa and the old wing are still the perfectly clean same. The area is perfect. The pool is good after a long walked. I’ve always love how gardenie the hotel looked and I would tap Duta Garden one of the best boutique hotel around. The new reception area at the new wing gives me the impression of Java in the 18th century during the Dutch colony. With antiques décor everywhere! I’m a sucker for antiques and it’s just awesome! My 2nd time in Duta Garden still have the same experiences of 9years ago. The service is always satisfactory. They are always polite - I guess it’s in them for being polite because the people of Jogja are so refine, that’s one of the reason I came back - cakes for tea-time if you’re in the room, daily towels changed, rooms made once you’re out, the hotel area is always clean, no problem in the room and breakfast is good. The next road parallel to Duta Garden, which is Prawirotaman I, was once a dead street but now it has turned out to be busy with eateries, hotels, spas, antique shops, gift shops, bars and travel agents for travellers. Most of the eateries there are rated best in Yogyakarta on TripAdvisor. So where Duta Garden is located, you’ll get the best of most things around the corner, all in the minutes of walk..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlynnSaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Duta Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 250 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice accommodation, very relaxing and close to the restaurants of Prawirotaman. Stuff is friendly and price is ok. The swimming pool is a plus to refresh after a day wandering in the city. Rooms are clean and spacious although lacking a bit of charm. Only minor issue was the toilet which was smelling of humidity (allowing to open the window would do the trick ...). Breakfast is in line with Indonesian standard (i.e. poor buffet)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gubias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms, a lovely garden, great location within walking distance of restaurants and shops, nice pool for cooling off after a day of sightseeing . . . We were very satisfied with our stay at the Duta Garden. Afternoon tea served poolside or on your private veranda was a lovely perk. My husband and I had a room in the garden, villa area while our son stayed in the Duta hotel just across the little side street. The hotel room was a bit less "fancy," but for the price, it was good value. Good wifi in the villa rooms. Friendly service. Would return. Overall, excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: Request a garden villa rooms when booking if you are looking for more charm with a touch of luxury.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vidaliaroams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here for one night for a quick weekend trip to Yogyakarta. Got there early and they were kind enough to let me check in early. The gardens/pool areas is stunning, but my room was very average. Spacious enough, but the sheets were a bit stained and the shower was very old and desperately needs a do-over. The water pressure of the removable shower head was dismal. At least the room had A/C and the patio/balcony overlooking the pool was a nice touch.

Had lunch at the restaurant. Food was very slow (took ages just to get brought my bottle of carbonated water) and below average. Wouldn't recommend eating there. They did pack a breakfast kit for me for my 5am Borobudor tour. It was a nice touch, though the contents were a bit blah.

Receptionist was very nice though and helped answer my many questions about the various tours. She arranged my tours and also arranged for transportation to a museum I wanted to go to.

Overall an okay stay for the price you're paying, does the job, if you're into relaxing by the pool, the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is in a wonderful setting with waterfalls and tropical greenery all around. The rooms are very good and the whole place is clean. The WIFI is also very good and available in the room. The staff could not be friendlier. Standard breakfast which is more then adequate. Lunch and dinner is also available if required. A nice, quiet place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the small pool.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacko070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stay at this hotel every time we go to Yogyakarta--every other year. It is absolutely lovely--you really do have a garden view from every room. The staff is super friendly and it is close to all the Yogya attractions. It is not your "modern/highrise" hotel---retains the charm and beauty of Java.

Great value. Hope to come often.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was one of the best hotels we had in Indonesia and in Asia in general. The territory is simply beautiful, with lush greenery and small waterfalls, the pool is on the small side but very nice. The rooms are large and clean, with excellent beds and a great balcony/terrace. Good shower, good wi-fi; a lot of nice little touches, like an umbrella in the room or a drying rack for your swimwear. It is a bit far from the centre but transportation is plentiful and there are many restaurants in the area. Receptionists speak English; they can help you hire a car for a day of sightseeing at the same prices they have at the tourist office. Breakfast could use a little variety but that's the only drawback.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 206 in Yogyakarta
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
#22 of 206 in Yogyakarta
435 reviews
2.9 mi away
Puri Artha Hotel
Puri Artha Hotel
#52 of 206 in Yogyakarta
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#58 of 206 in Yogyakarta
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indies Heritage Hotel
Indies Heritage Hotel
#26 of 206 in Yogyakarta
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 206 in Yogyakarta
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duta Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Garden Hotel

Address: Kpg. Timuran 103, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $33 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duta Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duta Garden Hotel is one of the three hotels united in Java Bali Accommodation. Situated in a strategic area of Timuran Village (Prawirotaman area) that is well known internationally, Duta Garden Hotel that is managed by one of the lodging pioneers has been experienced in giving services to tourists from different countries. Its existence for more than a decade and its success to go through economy crisis proves that Duta Garden Hotel services are the best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Duta Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing