We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get confused”
Review of Duta Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duta Garden Hotel
Ranked #36 of 211 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2012

There is actually 3 of them with same owner. Duta garden guesthouse, Duta garden hotel and Duta garden villas. The problem is that in internet when you want to book it all the pictures are together. Although we booked the hotel and we payed for hotel somehow we ended at the guesthouse. And it is a guesthouse with poor rooms. Although we complained about it they told us it was impossible. The behavior of the receptionist was awful. We talked with the manager later and he looked like a nice man and told us if there was any room available later we could move there without paying more. But next day he changed his idea and told us there is vacancy but we had to pay more. The breakfast was awful. If you came a little later than 8 even it was breakfast until 10 you could find nothing to eat. I will never recommend any one to stay in this guesthouse. But the hotel and villas are nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 257 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2011

The good.

The staff was courteous, helpful and provided good service, and available all the time. There is always at least one staff and one guard at the entrance which makes one feel assured in terms of safety. This is because the road leading to the hotel separates the hotel compound into two. In addition, there is a unutilised swimming pool, and the room is very spacious with a balcony/patio. The hotel is located slightly off the main district and is rather quiet and peaceful at night. There are good eateries and massage within walking distance. Also the hotel provides wireless internet and every day the staff will bring a cup of tea, some snacks and do room service.

The location is not fantastic but you can get the hotel to get a taxi for you. The fare is minimum 15000Rp and saves you the hassle of being hassled by the pecak drivers permanently stationed near the entrance.

The bad
Parts of the room looked worn out. The power socket was almost dislodged from the wall. The first night at 4am I was awakened by the loud prayers from the siren at nearby mosques. There are numerous mosques nearby.

What I did not bother
The daily breakfast, though decent, got boring after one day. There was the standard noodles, rice, fruits, tea, coffee, bread with jam, butter and eggs.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magislayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a pleasant surprise to enter Duta Garden Hotel: a lovely landscaped garden with cottages and apartments clustered around pools and flowerbeds (at both sides of quiet neighborhood road). A good place to unwind after the bustle of the city. Comfortable apartments with fan/ AC, friendly staff, good breakfast buffet with ample choice of foods. Within walking distance of the Kraton. Nice detail: in the afternoon, the room service is offering a free cup of tea plus snack. Bathrooms look a bit worn indeed, but everything worked well in the room where I stayed. Only minus point is that the hotel does not serve lunch or dinner, but this is not a big deal as there are several good restaurants in nearby Jalan Prawirotaman.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lis18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great place, last two nights, great and big room (700 000 R a night), very clean, the best aircon we had (efficient and silent but a big light), balcony on the swimming pool (small but very nice), very nice service, very helpful (everybody), quiet place, average breakfast like at Duta guesthouse. We had a very relaxing time there despite the prayer at 4am and even 5am (several mosques close by).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolezefrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great boutique hotel with pool. Best location for art area. Cool place will come back

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rufusbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in the double room with a/c. Lovely place - nicely decorated and landscaped. The room and toilet were a bit old but clean. Breakfast was simple but tasty and tea & pastry provided in the evening. Swimming pool was a great place to hang out. The place was very cosy with friendly staff and quiet environment.

Downside: The hotel is a little far from the main street of Malioboro and there are no local restaurants or mini markets nearby making it difficult to find affordable food.

Its a great place to relax and affordable too. Would recommend it to friends

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KL_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

When we arrived in Yogyakarta we could not find anywhere to stay and we found this delightful place tucked away off a main street after getting some advice from a local. (My son speaks indonesian thankfully!) The staff at reception were very helpful and quickly settled us into a delightful room just off from the beautiful pool area. Breakfast was included which was indonesian nasi goreng or there was fresh fruit and toast/jam. We could not stay another night as it was fully booked but the receiption staff booked us into their sister hotel nearby and while we went on a day trip, which they helpfully arranged for us with a car/driver, they ensured our luggage was all transported to the other hotel. Free internet access was useful to keep in touch with family/friends. I always wonder why if these little places can do this for free then why can't the really expensive hotels? We had a lovely time here and would recommend it if your on a budget. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom was an 'outdoor' asian type bathroom which was clean and we had soap/towels, etc. Remember this is Asia and this is not the Hilton, so don't expect 5 star, but this was great value and definitely a good find which I recommend wholeheartedly. Go visit Borobodur and Prambanan - they were awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lanymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 211 in Yogyakarta
641 reviews
2.9 mi away
Puri Artha Hotel
Puri Artha Hotel
#55 of 211 in Yogyakarta
240 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#66 of 211 in Yogyakarta
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#12 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
#29 of 211 in Yogyakarta
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duta Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Garden Hotel

Address: Kpg. Timuran 103, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 211 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $31 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duta Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duta Garden Hotel is one of the three hotels united in Java Bali Accommodation. Situated in a strategic area of Timuran Village (Prawirotaman area) that is well known internationally, Duta Garden Hotel that is managed by one of the lodging pioneers has been experienced in giving services to tourists from different countries. Its existence for more than a decade and its success to go through economy crisis proves that Duta Garden Hotel services are the best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duta Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing