We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from Home”
other travelers have booked this property
GARDEN & POOL
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
GARDEN & POOL
VILLA JODHPUR MAIN JAVA JOGLO
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
GARDEN & POOL
VILLA JODHPUR
MAIN JAVA JOGLO
VILLA JODHPUR FROM THE GARDEN
THE CARVED ROOF IN THE MAIN JOGLO HOUSE
'ETHNIC CHIC' DECORATION & ANTICS
THE LIVING AREA IN THE MAIN OLD JOGLO HOUSE
'ETHNIC CHIC' DECORATION & ANTICS
'ETHNIC CHIC' DECORATION & ANTICS
'ETHNIC CHIC' DECORATION & ANTICS
'ETHNIC CHIC' DECORATION & ANTICS
'ETHNIC CHIC' DECORATION & ANTICS
'ETHNIC CHIC' DECORATION & ANTICS
'ETHNIC CHIC' DECORATION & ANTICS
KIDS PARADISE
ANTIC BALINESE STONE STATUE
THE LOUNGE AREA IN BATHROOM
VILLA JODHPUR FROM THE POOL
OPEN BATHROOM
THE TERRASSE
LIVING SPACE
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yogyakarta, Java

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
vineeth v
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We loved our short stay at Umah D'Kali. While the major attractions of Jogja, the Borobudur and Prambanan were spectacular, Umah D'Kali was very very pleasant. Marc has tastefully designed the entire place with a mix of antiques and modern comfort also looping in the delightful Jogja culture. Catur's ever glowing smile added to our experience and she made some very nice breakfast. Just the type of vacation rental we were after - Pleasant, quiet, comfortable and private. Marc was very helpful in arranging taxi tours for us and also took us to the town a couple of evenings. Overall, a memorable experience and we called it our home while we were there.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumpingJu...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great host, highly recommended”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I were looking for a unique and beautiful villa to relax in during our stay in Yogyakarta and I must say we found exactly that when we stayed at Umah D'Kali. We were charmed from the moment we stepped into the premises. The villas were gorgeously decorated and really spacious - you can hold a house party in the bathroom!

The one factor that makes this villa stand out from the rest isn't its location in the midst of a quiet village amidst padi fields or its thoughtful decor - it's the villa's host Marc and his wife.

Marc was the most accommodating and helpful host. He arranged for our transport to Borobudur on one of its busiest days (Vesak Day) within a few hours' notice
just so we could go watch the lanterns on Vesak Day. He even went out of his way to buy dinner for us when we came back exhausted from our white water rafting trip. He also knows his way about town and recommended us really wonderful places to eat at and to get massages at. Even before the trip, I had a good feeling about staying at Marc's because he was so quick with his responses and always thoughtful in suggesting things we could do in Yogyakarta. Marc's wife also made us feel like we're not staying at a holiday villa but at a friend's home. She chatted with us when we first arrived and we felt that she was really kind and friendly.

All in all, Umah D'Kali is a great place to stay at if you're looking for a space to call a home away from home in Yogyakarta.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnysout...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of potential, lovely location”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are regular visitors to Jogyakarta and its surrounds and tried Villa d'Kali for the first time in July. We stayed for 6 nights and the ambience and location are lovely. Marc and Catur really made an effort to make us feel at home and after giving Marc a heads-up, they made a real effort to supply a tasty gluten free option for breakfast for my husband.
We stayed in Villa Jodhpur and it is a pretty, traditional villa. However - we had to negotiate the floorboards - some of which were quite dangerous, we were worried we would fall through. I hope they make these urgent repairs soon. The Cable TV didn't work until halfway through the week (I think this is now fixed). The room cleaning was inconsistent, at the beginning of our stay it took 2 days to get toilet paper in our villa (although I did ask for some), we found a large broom straw in our bed one night, and it was hit and miss whether water glasses were left in the room. In 6 nights we only had one change of towels. Flip flops / thongs were supplied at the villa but both pairs were large male sizes and no good for me....It is attention to detail that will improve the offering to a higher standard.
The non GF breakfast was good - but with no variation, it was a bit monotonous to be served french crepes every morning for 6 days. There were no offers of savoury options. The fresh fruit was nice, but with the abundance of fruit available, I wondered why we were only served supermarket juice - one morning we had mango concentrate placed on the table (in the bottle) that was not watered down! (they didn't read the label!) The variety of fresh juices and Indonesian style breakfasts are what I look forward to when travelling to Indonesia and I was disappointed.
We are dog lovers and enjoyed the two boxer dogs, but I worry whether all visitors will like this as much as we did.
There are no restaurants in the area so you need to be resourceful about food - we ate lunch and/or dinner out, and sometimes brought home something to eat beside the pool which was a lovely way to spend the early evening. There is the offer to have dinner supplied from a couple of restaurants in Jogya and if you don't have transport that would be a good option. On that point, you have to consider transport, Marc arranged a motor scooter for us which was necessary in order to get around and we had a great time traversing the picturesque country roads.
Your experience would also be very much coloured by the guests in the other villa - it depends if you want a quiet time relaxing or if are happy to share with families also using the pool. In that way its a bit of a lucky dip and needs to be a consideration when booking in a small place such as this.
I think with some more refinement Villa d'Kali will be a truly beautiful place to stay - but attention to detail in service is lacking.The potential is there - a lovely location, relaxed and friendly owners, pretty villas and a beautiful swimming pool.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Pool, location, traditional villa
Liked least: room cleaning, breakfast
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arik14
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
“amazing place to stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

this villa is the best place to stay with nice view near the river and great service also beautiful interior using javanesse house mix with javanesse n indian furniture.closer to handicraft centre and restaurant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: interior and the service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin...
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Umah D'kali is a perfect choice for who wants to relax and enjoy peaceful and beautiful place after spending a day visiting Jogjakarta and its neighborhood. This place is a little paradise along a river and neard by authentic ricefields where Jogja Architecture of each villas has been particulary well preserved. The service provided during our stay has always been excellent, I will not hesitate coming back to this Umah next time I'll go to jogja.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthieu...
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful.”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

I began my trip in Asia staying one week in Bali with good friends.. going out every night, party.. Seminyak vibe i would say..
After that, i decided to move few days in another place and finally went to Yogyakarta, witch was my first time there.
I stayed few nights in Umah D'Kali, and felt as soon i arrived a totally different mood in comparaison with Bali, Seminyak in particular.
I would describe it as serenity, kindness of the population, no violence at all, no agressivity, another vision of the time also.
I had a very short time there, but still extremely relaxing, discovering wild landscapes, non expensive very fresh and very tasty food.
I had a wonderful staying in this house, found a beautiful vibe with people there, had deep sleeping, and got new energy that i needed at this time.
I truely recommand this place.
Thanks a lot.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jjcpage
1 review
“Fantastic - welcoming and delightful”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I am a regular guest at the villa - staying as many times as four times a month on occasion. The villa is beautiful - offering a peaceful and tranquil escape in a kampung filled with traditional ceramic.

The pool over-looks a slow flowing river and quite often offers the delight of seeing sheep and cows being bathed.

The hosts are superb and if you don't want to go out in the evening delivery service from the finest French restaurant in Jogja is available.

Highly reccommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing