We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clasic hotel in malioboro street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mutiara Malioboro
Ranked #127 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed November 7, 2012

very old and clasic hotel but its nice and quite comfort to stay,
they have jacuzi also in the swimming pool. the price also reachabel they have big room and wide enough LCD screen for that reachable price.
things that i like the most is the location.
very very strategic! you can enjoy shopping on the malioboro street in the night you can enjoy traditional music instrument played by student who study in jogjakarta.
very unique!

Room Tip: if you would prefer big room, choose room in the corner.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imay_septia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mutiara Malioboro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 96 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

I decided on this hotel as I had passed it many times and wanted to try it.

The main selling point is location, on Jl. Malioboro a few minutes walk to Malioboro Mall and central to everything else.

I booked through Expedia, luckily I called the hotel to check the reservation and they said they hadn't received it. I had to get Expedia to reconfirm with them, a lot of faffing about and I'm not entirely convinced that it wasn't the hotel at fault.

I booked a non smoking twin room and got a smoking double, arriving at nearly 10pm, I was too tired to complain so let it go. I asked the next day about a non smoking room and they were full so I had to put up with the lingering smoke smell for the three days. I could have insisted but I let it go but if I were to stay here again, I would make sure that I was given the type of room I booked.

The room is big, and clean. The Expedia description is a bit over enthusiastic. There is no safety box (although there are at reception). The wifi is only free in the lobby and the price in the room is not particularly cheap. The air con was not good at all, it looks like it was installed in a bygone era and hardly cooled the room as the thermostat was fixed at 23.

Breakfast was very good, polite staff who called me by name, a good selection of Western and Indonesian dishes.

The staff in general were pleasant, however they need to pay more attention to reservation requests, in particular requests for no smoking rooms.

I possibly would stay here again but there are so many choices in Jogja that it would probably be a last choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Located in Malioboro - right in the center of town close to shops, restaurants and attractions. It is an older property. Facilities could use better upkeep. Smell of tobacco smoke everywhere. After two nights, I moved to more decent accomodations albeit at a higher price range.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Mutiara is at the heart of Malioboro Street Yogjakarta. That is the busy street where you will find food and shops and lot of fun easily. It is also within walking distance to Mall Malioboro.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. They smile a lot. We got our transport for 2 days through the front counter of the hotel. Very efficient arrangement.

The rooms are dated but clean. South wing of the hotel is better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yapahloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

After we stayed at The Sunan Hotel Solo. We stayed at Hotel Mutiara Malioboro Yogyakarta.
The location is so nice .... on Jl. Malioboro No.18 | PO Box 1087, Yogyakarta 55213, Indonesia.

If you want to go to malioboro, you can stay at hotel mutiara malioboro yogyakarta

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The location is right in the centre of Yogya..The service and politeness of the staffs are excellent..

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rindra71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Standart hotel with shopping area across street. Many local transport ( becak and andong)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alvasierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.7 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#58 of 206 in Yogyakarta
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
#34 of 206 in Yogyakarta
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#29 of 206 in Yogyakarta
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
#51 of 206 in Yogyakarta
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Inna Malioboro
Grand Inna Malioboro
#49 of 206 in Yogyakarta
357 reviews
1.6 mi away
favehotel Kusumanegara
favehotel Kusumanegara
#54 of 206 in Yogyakarta
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mutiara Malioboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mutiara Malioboro

Address: Jl. Malioboro no. 18, Yogyakarta 55213, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $40 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mutiara Malioboro 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mutiara Malioboro is place of elegance and warm atmosphere. Located right in Malioboro, Java, Indonesia the most popular destination object in Jogyakarta where culture treasure, government office and shopping centre just steps away and takes a few hour to Borobudur or Prambanan temple. Each of the hotel spacious guest rooms feature charming Javanese interior, marble bathroom and boast some of the finest views in all of Jogjakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mutiara Malioboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing