We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest place in a tourist place”
Review of Warung Heru

Warung Heru
Ranked #31 of 1,168 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $3
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: A warung (old spelling waroeng) is a type of small family-owned business - often a casual shop, a modest small restaurant or cafe - in Indonesia . A warung is an essential part of daily life in Indonesia. Warung Heru provide traditional Javanese original recipes, home cooked and fresh. With homely atmosphere which will make you part of a family in Indonesia. Gather spices from all over Indonesia , which will give you the sensation of traditional Indonesian cuisine. It's your second home in Yogyakarta :)
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Honest place in a tourist place”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Rarely we have a very affordable restaurant right in the heart of where most tourists would stay, but this is the place.

We had Nasi Pecel (rice and salad with peanut sauce) for only Rp 20k.
The vegetables were fresh and the portion was huge, it's nice that they serve bigger portion to match hungry travellers stomach.

Mind you, most places would easily charge 35-40k for that meal and people would happily pay them.

Another thing I like about this place is they don't have too many options, probably about 15 ish main courses on their menu. some people would think the more the merrier, but when you're trying to do everything the quality usually decreases along the way. So it's nice they stick with what they know to maintain the quality.

WILL definitely come back again if I happen to be in Jogja !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pouletcochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    60
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed !!!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went to this place plenty of illusion. We read on the web it was on the 4th position on trip advisor in Yogyakarta .
As soon as we arrived we thought " that's a really nice place". Unfortunately the food wasn't so good.
We ordered mie goreng and fish with coconut sauce. After 5 minutes or less our food was already on our table. Is this fresh food? Ready in 5 minutes? When we ended up with our dinner none went to clean our table, even if there were no customers and the waiter was sitting chatting with a lady.
After 10 minutes we decided to ask for the bill and leave. We asked if it was possible to call us a taxi.the waiter,after chatting a while with the lady that probably was the daughter's owner,told us he didn't have enough credit on his phone. Finally we've waited 10 minutes and we went home by ojek. So, food was not good , the food is overcooked and not fresh and the service was terrible. We won't suggest this place at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 55silviettag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing local food at local prices ”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I ate at this place twice during our stay in Yogya. The dishes are less than half the price of other restaurants in the same street (20,000-25,000Rp instead of 50,000) and the food is delicious, cooked fresh by the owner.

We tried the gado gado (veggies in peanut sauce), mie goreng (noodles) and nasi goreng (rice) and the serving sizes are really good too. Definitely recommend lunch or dinner at this place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food and cute atmosphere”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We had our best meal in Yogyakarta here. Really good gado-gado and soto ayam. I'd definitely go back. It's laid back with good service and quirky art on the walls.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So nice”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Only stopped by for a few beers. I was just sitting on my own and the guy running the bar just sat down with me for a bit for a chat.
Really friendly place and pretty good beer.

Helpful?
1 Thank 45matty45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Heru also viewed

 

Been to Warung Heru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing