We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location but terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Inna Malioboro
Ranked #44 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Java, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Strategic location but terrible hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I'm on a holiday trip to visit all the historical sites in yogyakarta and of course I choose to stay in the heart of the city which is malioboro street. I choose inna garuda because of the location, the brand name, and the pool hoping to have a pleasing stay in yogyakarta. Unfortunately, when I arrive the hotel pick up at the airport is 30 minutes late, and when we check in, we are granted early check in to find out that the pool is under renovation which was not informed to us before... And when we saw the announcement at the pool site the renovation was to be done by august 15.. So that's another disappointment... And then the room smells old... The bath tub is leaking, we didn't get liquid soap only soap bars are available... The breakfast taste horrible I'd better eat on the sidewalk of Malioboro street. The elevator was broken and there's electricity black out during our two days stay.
Overall I'm very disappointed with the so called 4 stars hotel, they need an immediate management and building renovation. I think they're more suitable to be called 3 stars hotel.
The only outstanding point of the hotel is the strategic location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xty2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    178
    93
    14
    8
See reviews for
100
58
16
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the Inna Garuda to explore Yogyakarta. The location of the hotel is perfect at the Jalan Malioboro, which is the mainstreet of Yogyakarta. From here you can explore the whole city. Most of the taxi-drivers and becak-drivers know the hotel so it is very easy to make clear where you need to go. When you walk out of the hotel you are on the Jalan Malioboro, where you can find stores, market stalls, warungs and restaurants.

The hotel itself is really large and feels like a business hotel. Because the size of the lobby, and the hotel in general, it feels a bit bleak and the staff is helpful but does not always recognize you as one of the guests.

The room was good, spacious and clean. We booked a deluxe room because it was the only room available, but when you have the choice, a deluxe room is a waste of money. In general the hotel is a little bit overpriced compared to other accommodations in Yogyakarta.

The breakfast is very good and there is a lot of choice. The choice also changed daily. On our last day we used the free shuttle service to the airport, which was perfect. Because we left before breakfast we got a box with sandwiches and potatoes, which was a great service.

Conclusion is that if you are looking for a clean hotel at the perfect location in Yogyakarta, the Inna Garuda is perfect for you. It is a bit overpriced and there probably are a lot hotels in Yogyakarta for a better price.

We had a perfect stay but I rated it 3/5 because it was a bit bleak, too large to be personal and in my opinion a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franksnijders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We booked a twin-share room for one weekend night in Hotel Inna Garuda during leisure trip to Yogyakarta. The rate was a bargain since lesser star hotel would charge more. We have found the bed was larger than usual single bed size, and although the shower tap was bit tricky, it didn't interrupt our comfort staying. I had read many reviews regarding the uncleanliness in the room, yet I found our room was quite clean and convenient. However the some public equipment like elevators might need to be upgraded.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinejkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

this is one of the historic hotel in Yogya. too bad their glory is coming to an end especially because of the out dated room and services. my relatives have booked previously 2 rooms for 2 night stay (later we found it was bad decision to do so) and surprisingly the reception lady told us that she did not receive the booking. weird right? i told her to double check and she made us wait for such long time and finally we got our room. it was terrible. there were stains on the pillow and it was so smelly (i think from smoke). bathroom was terrible, not that clean. television was quite dull also. curtains even smelly. breakfast was so/so and i found the chinese restaurant was much better so we decided to dine there instead. lobby was good despite need serious renovation and the rooms as well.

good stuffs are the parking spot. they have large parking and are safe. location is also right in heart of Malioboro street and all 'lesehan' thingy was in front of the hotel. mall is also nearby and not to mention, hundreds of small shops that sell traditional batik clothing.

overall, it is all about location and feel of cultural moment from the past. maybe for some people who does not really serious about comfort and value and much more consider to the location, Inna Garuda may suit you. but for me and relatives with much older senior member who really likes comfort and value of the price, then Inna Garuda is far from those stuff. i'll not return to this hotel - unless they're doing renovation and major face lifting.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

The hotel rooms are old and run down. But apart from that we had no issues. The place was clean, the service great and the breakfast excellent. There was a swimming pool with free beach towels provide. there were other services at the hotel which we didn't use, so I can't comment on them. We organised a bus to borbourdor through the hotel. They organised a take away breakfast for us as we were leaving before breakfast startef. We got to choose from a couple of options. We choose the baked goods which I have included a picture of. There was tea and coffee provided in the rooms. Because we weren't there in the peak season we only paid 600,000 a night which was half price. I certainly wouldn't pay full price to stay here. Its just not worth it when there are other hotels around that a significantly cheaper. It is very secure though. There are armed guards all around.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
#34 of 206 in Yogyakarta
730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
#17 of 206 in Yogyakarta
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#19 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#30 of 206 in Yogyakarta
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#21 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#13 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Inna Malioboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Inna Malioboro

Property: Grand Inna Malioboro
Address: Jl. Malioboro no. 60, Yogyakarta 55213, Indonesia (Formerly Inna Garuda Malioboro)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#23 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Inna Malioboro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically Located in The Heart of Yogyakarta " Malioboro " Grand Inna Malioboro's 222 rooms are furnished in classic but modern elegance and face Malioboro Street, the heart of Yogyakarta. All the amenities expected in an international standard hotel are at your fingertips because You are everything to us! We are located in the heart of Jogja. Jogja is the name of both city and region in Indonesia. It is famous for its genuine friendliness and you may not be worried about its streets at all day long. In fact, some say that it is never sleeps city. Grand Inna Malioboro is located in the heart of the city "in the shopper's paradise of Malioboro" street, near the Sultan's Palace, 42 kilometers from the famous Borobudur Budhist temple, 17 kilometers from the Hindu temple of Prambanan. Everything you need to see in Jogja is close at hand. We have facilities to meet all your convention need. 17 Meeting rooms of various size fully equipped with convention facilities as well as internet services plus HOTSPOT/WI FI. We have suitable room for your need. 222 Rooms with variety of accomodation : superior, deluxe, junior suite, executive suite, and Sudirman Suite. Fully equipped as for a 4 star international Hotel Standard. Grand Inna Malioboro is the right place for conventions and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Inna Malioboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inna Garuda Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing