We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,993)
Filter reviews
3,993 results
Traveler rating
2,426
1,187
289
57
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,426
1,187
289
57
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paprika restaurant beautiful hotel colonial style colonial feel heritage hotel new wing breakfast buffet balcony overlooking the pool executive room sultan's palace hotel restaurant welcome drink an oasis indonesian food nice pool malioboro street spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 3,993 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I Was staying on this hotel out of reccomendation from a friend. And oh boy did it live up to the expectation. The minute we were picked up from the air port, my driver Ari was super friendly and all smiles on his face, he made us feel welcomed on thia foreign country. And when we check in, miss Silvi was very cheerfull and welcoming. She made our heart felt like we were back home in US. After we checkin Mr. Rhoni and Ms. Stevani showed us our room. They were both equaly cheerfull and welcoming also. I talked to mr rhoni while my wife talk to ms stevani on our way to the room. They told us everything we need to know aboht jogjakarta in just few mins! They made us traveling experts in matter of minutes. They were so helpfull. Finnaly, we areived at the room. The room was amazing, the view of the pool is breath taking. Over all this place is a 10/10 would come again. Oh and just incase anyone gonna read thia i would like commend these friendliest staff again in hope they receive their pat on the back or even a raise ! Itari,silvi, rhoni and stephani.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CoolkelpUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear CoolkelpUSA,

We would like to take this chance to thank you for staying here and taking the time to share your experience with us. It’s very nice to read your feedback and it is very attractive words. Thank you for highlighting our service, our friendly staff and it is wonderful that you are pleased with the pool view room. We are extremely happy to know that everything we provided truly lived up to your expectations. We hope we can meet you again in the future for another unforgettable experience.

Best Regards,
Francisca Imas Soraya
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is another colonial style hotel in Indonesia which we enjoyed. Service and food are good.The buffet breakfasts are good, buffet dinner ok. They provide a breakfast box if you are leaving early.The live music is fun and some groups would play requests, but have to be well known stuff.Beds are ok. Pillows a bit uncomfortable
Pool is ok a bit too shallow at one end for laps.
The restaurant Madam Tan’s is just across the road. The security guards help you cross.
The hotel is close to the train station and you can travel there easily by bejak rickshaw for something different. The trains are highly recommended. The hotel is worth a visit. Does not serve bintang beer but does serve Bali hai even during Ramadan
Some days the Restaurant is very busy so have to book or cross the street

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank GM8868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear GM8868,

We would like to express our gratitude for your kind review to us. It is wonderful to read you have enjoyed our colonial style building, our service, food such as the breakfast and dinner and our convenient location. We also glad to know that you are pleased with the live music, our bed and the breakfast box we prepared. However, thank you for your kind feedback to us, we do really appreciate it and will share it all to our team. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Yogyakarta again.


Best Regards,
Francisca Imas Soraya
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Heritage hotel, very comfortable executive room on the top floor with pool view .
Room 5 star, amenities 4 star, staff 4 star.
The hotel is occupied mainly from local tourists and the food is the restaurant is selected accordingly. International tourists may not find many familiar dishes and some of the local dishes may taste very unusual. There are lots of fish and poultry dishes, but not many red meat ones.
Special thanks to Hafid from the restaurant for his outstanding service.

Room tip: The hotel is on a very busy road, get a room in the second building, which is away from the road
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear LL P,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your stay at The Phoenix Hotel. We are all so pleased for knowing that you love the room we provided and appreciate the service from our heart, we are happy you can feel our spirit in serving you. More, thank you for your feedback, we will share it all to our team here.

We hope to welcome you back again whenever you back to Yogyakarta!


Best Regards,
Francisca Imas Soraya
Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I had a memorable nights while stay in Yogyakarta, specially in this beautiful hotel.. The services from the staff are really amazing and warm. They give my friend a complimentary birthday cake on her bday! They recognize my name and my friend. The buffet dinner in Paprika Restaurant, is a must to try bfore u die. Anyway, Thanks to Engineering team to complete my request while I stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank najbakhtiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear najbakhtiar,

We do thank you for feedback you shared to us. It is always exciting for us knowing that you really enjoyed our beautiful building, service, our friendly staff. More, we are glad to know that you are pleased with the birthday cake prepared on your special day and our daily thematic buffet dinner.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and we would love to welcome you back whenever your travel brings you to Yogyakarta.

Best Regards,
Francisca Imas Soraya
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

The Phoenix is a beautiful hotel with an elegant combination of Javanese elements and colonial style. The location was ideal, given its easy accessibility to Malioboro Street and surrounding tourist areas in the city. The hotel is cool, clean, and tidy and the courtyards and pool are beautifully presented and maintained. The staff were always welcoming, helpful, and kind.
The food at the restaurant (and the room service!) was delicious with a different themed buffet each night and many a la carte options. The restaurant had both Indonesian (including Yogyakarta specialties) and international options. Breakfast was sublime with an array of different delicacies to try and live gamelan provided a relaxing atmosphere.
We will absolutely stay at The Phoenix again when visiting Yogyakarta in the future.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraadairhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear laurazepam,

Many thanks for sharing your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We feel honored for your wonderful compliments, and for your time to give us your generous review about our hotel.

Thank you for highlighting our style, our prime location, cleanliness, our friendly staff and we are extremely happy to read that you are pleased with the food we provided in the daily thematic buffet dinner, ala carte also enjoyed our breakfast with the live relaxing gamelan music. Your kind review has truly boosted the spirit of the entire team here and it is our aim to always give distinctive experience to our guest.

Nothing makes us happier than welcoming you back for another exceptional experience. Please do let us know when you will be returning.


Best Regards,
Francisca Imas Soraya
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews