We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,805)
Filter reviews
3,805 results
Traveler rating
2,299
1,146
275
53
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,299
1,146
275
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paprika restaurant colonial style beautiful hotel colonial feel heritage hotel new wing breakfast buffet balcony overlooking the pool executive room sultan's palace hotel restaurant welcome drink indonesian food an oasis malioboro street nice pool spa
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 3,805 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well maintained luxury hotel. The building is WOW and impeccable service from arrival until departure. We had a room overlooking the pool, which gives an extra touch to your stay! Pool is in a very nice setting and also enjoyed a massage in a relaxing atmosphere. We choose for dinner buffet, which was very good. Only thing to take into consideration is that, when the staff says the kitchen closes at 11pm, the will start cleaning and take all food away prior. So at 11pm all the food was already done and buffet was closed.
A enjoyed a wonderful experience, totally recommend it!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SvenS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GE M, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear SvenS83,

Thank you for sharing your memorable experience staying at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

We couldn't be happier knowing that you loved this well maintained luxury hotel, impeccable service from the staff members from the moment you arrived until you left, pool view room that offered tranquility, good food selections for dinner buffet, and relaxing massage experience.Thematic buffet every night (table d'hôte) is available from 6.30 - 10 p.m., yet guests may order ala carte that is available until 10.30 p.m (last order).

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Best regards,
Francisca Imas Soraya
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros:
- Amazing staff. They're everywhere and all smiles.
- Hotel has an amazing feel, an oasis of calm in the messy but beautiful city of Yogyakarta.
- Breakfast buffet is perfect
- Location is walking distance to Malioboro street (local and tourists) the lively part of Yogyakarta and a 20 minutes drive to Prawirotaman area, the other hip up and coming neighborhood (touristic)

Con's:
- Pool is freezing
- Rooms are cute and authentic (colonial feel of the hotel), but unfortunately that meant bad sound isolation, from the street but also from our friend's room (connecting room). Also don't expect modern luxury style rooms.
- Careful that the hotel has 2 separate buildings, one with rooms overlooking the pool (more expensive and nicer facade), and an other building (cheaper) with zero views (we were facing a wall)

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kas_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GE M, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kas_Bxl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our colonial hotel!

It's great to know that you were in love with the service provided from our friendly staff, calm atmosphere, perfect breakfast buffet, and central location. As we don't provide swimming pool temperature control, the water temperature is neutral around 27 degrees Celsius and checked daily.

Since this hotel has stood for over 100 years old, the rooms on the front side of the building has become historic landmark which is much smaller in size yet they have history value. Should you look for a larger room and tranquility, Deluxe Pool View room on the back side of the building might suit you best. Thank you for highlighting the room soundproofing, we will work on it for a better performance.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience.


Best regards,
Francisca Imas Soraya
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff speaks English very well, Arsita is very helpful with all our queries and she is very professional and courteous in the guest experience department. Love our rooms, it is very spacious, for a 3 people in Suite structure. The layout of our room is perfect and breakfast is to die for !!

Sarah, Simon & Zak
Perth, Western Australia.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank sarahontong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GE M, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear sarahontong,

A big thank you for your valuable feedback and compliments, they are very motivating for the entire team, especially for Arsita. We were pleased to know that you enjoyed the room, breakfast, service, and had a memorable stay with us. We feel honored for your wonderful compliments, and for your time to give us your generous review about our hotel. It is our hope to meet 3 of you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Francisca Imas Soraya
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are friendly. Every staff you meet will greet you with a warm smile. Variety of food in their breakfast and dinner buffet. A must is the Jamu drinks (a traditional health drink). Overall, 5 star.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pohkuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GE M, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear pohkuen,

Nothing makes us happier than knowing you had a nice experience with us in Yogyakarta. Here, we strive to provide our best service and are grateful you like it especially our style. All the team here is delighted to see your feedback which is very important support to improve ourselves. Thank you for highlighting our Jamu drinks as well as the breakfast and dinner buffet. It was our great pleasure to serve you.
We surely look forward to welcome you back in the near future for a longer experience with us.

Best Regards,
Francisca Imas Soraya
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely beautiful hotel in the collonial style. Wonderfully decorated. Takes you back in time when Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman were filming Casablanca. That's what this hotel reminded me of. Lovely room with large bed, small but lovely bathroom. Food is average, but staff is accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mettebthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GE M, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mettebthomas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel style. We try very hard to make this hotel a great place to stay and got positive feedback like this make every effort worthy. Thank you for your kind words of our room and staffs. Looking forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Francisca Imas Soraya
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews