We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Nearby Hotels
Melia Purosani(Yogyakarta)
$54
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Yogyakarta(Yogyakarta)
$41
$37
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$31
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,609)
Filter reviews
3,609 results
Traveler rating
2,168
1,103
260
47
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,168
1,103
260
47
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaprika restaurantcolonial stylebeautiful hotelcolonial feelheritage hotelnew wingbreakfast buffetbalcony overlooking the poolexecutive roomsultan's palacehotel restaurantwelcome drinkan oasisindonesian foodmalioboro streetnice poolspa
Filter
Updating list...
1,249 - 1,254 of 3,609 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The feel of old town and Java tradition are so dense in the hotel; either it is in the hall, open space, even in room. Since I dislike such atmosphere, so I didn't enjoy such atmosphere.
The food was delicious. The distance to city centre is not very far. The spa is good, very very good :)

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Fresa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Fresa Y

Thank you very much for staying with us at “one traditional grand hotel” and for sharing your experience.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services and our Spa in particular, and I am sorry to read that you did not like the atmosphere that we provide.

The entire team joins me to thank you for your honest feedback.

Kindest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Phoenix is a hotel with an old world charm mixed with a truly Indonesia experience making it both elegant, with it's vast marble foyer, passages and beautiful architecture while also giving you a chance to immerse yourself in some of the Indonesian arts & culture and at the same time their unique way of doing things. The staff are very friendly but can at times not understand what you want, so Yes Yes Yes can translate into What No What? make sure you explain exactly what you want as simply as possible, with plenty of notice and you will get it, most of the time but it's all part of the experience. The rooms are large, clean and stylish for a very reasonable price. The dining includes both western and local foods and definitely try the Indonesian herbal drinks at breakfast. With the pool, sauna, spa and gym available you can truly relax after a day out on the streets of Yogyakarta. And if you should decide to take a walk across the street the boys out the front of The Phoenix will show you a whole new way to cross a busy street, their on the job and will make sure you make it safely across and back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Tracey L

Thank you very much for your review and the time you took for it.

We are glad that you globally enjoyed your stay with us especially for the ambience, the food and facilities that we provide. Your compliments will boost the spirit of our staff to deliver their best.

We do apologize for miscommunication that you faced. We took seriously your comment and we will work on them for best services in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

By far the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Three nights of luxury. The hotel itself is very like Raffles in appearance, the service is excellent and the food brilliant, especially breakfast. Wine is way overpriced, but that seems true of most of Indonesia and even Singapore. Staff are very friendly and very helpful. Unlike other reviews which favour requesting a room overlooking the pool, we were put in a room as far away from the front desk as it was possible to get. That meant no passing foot traffic, and although the view was less than fantastic - who sits in a hotel room and stares at the view anyway - there was no noise from the pool and no street noise.
Could not fault the Phoenix.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, buck the trend and ask for a room towards the back.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rbmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear rbmitch

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

What a wonderful review, I am very happy to learn that you had such a great stay and I will definitely share your positive comments with the team as I am sure it will motivate them to keep up the good work.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again at “Luxury at an affordable place” on your next trip to Yogyakarta.

Warm Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews