We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Heritage hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 205 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Rooms are nice, clean and well maintained with a lovely balcony overseeing the pool.
The amenities are great : spa, pool and other activities
A special mention to Paprika restaurant where we spent three very good dinners with good wine and good breakfasts.
Too bad that they don't really organize tours but car rental/taxi services are available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DelKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Delkyle

Greeting from heritage hotel in yogyakarta

Thank you for your amazing review through Tripadvisor.

It is nice to hear that you had enjoyable experiences in our legendary hotel. I really appreciate your kind remarks about our hotel and the ambience that we provide, as well as your comment related with the tours that we should provide. For your info that we had tours completed with the driver and car but there is no tour guide, meanwhile thank you for your comment and We will keep it as our motivation to provide the best service in the future.

We hope to welcome you back again for another memorable experience.

Kindest regards
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,395)
There are newer reviews for The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 3,395 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Charm and ambience in this old private house converted by a very good architect into hotel.
We were not lucky with the room which didn't have a nice view at all. Room itself was excellent and well equipped. We missed our coffee( nescafé) in the morning! The food in the restaurant is extremely good. Great choice of food and wine! Service in the bar outstanding!
Carpet in the room was not cleaned during our 2 night stay and not before either.
Lady in the business centre extremely unhelpful with printing our boarding passes. She had all kind of excuses. The front desk helped me...after some talking! During our trip we had 5 flights and nowhere a problem getting our printed boardingpasses. A pity!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool. We stayed for 2 nights, special member of Accor but didn'...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranceMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear FranceMartine

Greeting from colonial style hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you very much for your balanced comments of the Phoenix Hotel.

I have taken note of both the positives and the "not so positive “comments. I apologize if we were not able to meet your expectations especially some problem that you met during your stay with us. We addressed all your comment to the department concern and we will learn from these shortfalls and put efforts to step up to the best standards.

We do hope that you will allow us a second chance to be your hosts in the near future.

Best regards,
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Yoboh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Kurichan49
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

From check-in to check-out the service at this hotel is exemplary. Staff are friendly without being overbearing, and nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are well appointed and interesting. Mine overlooked the pool, which I feared may be noisy (a complimentary pair of earplugs is provided on the bedside table!), however we didn't find that to be the case. The hotel is interesting and unique. My friends and I enjoyed a tour of the hotel, hosted by a lovely young lady who was very knowledgeable and interesting. The tour ended with a free neck massage at the Spa, which was enjoyed by all. Breakfast is fabulous - a wonderful mixture of local and Western fare, with something to please every palate. There's a welcoming bar with helpful staff, and a two-hour Happy Hour. The restaurant is so good that, having eaten there on our first night, we decided we didn't want to go elsewhere on subsequent nights. My friends and I look forward to enjoying the charm of the Phoenix again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have balconies with an attractive outlook.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zojanahage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Zojanahage

Greeting from your hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for your very nice review. We are glad that you have enjoyed our service.

Your satisfaction is our 1st priority, so we try to keep guests satisfied by giving the best we can.

Once again thank you for the motivation and support that you gave to us by writing this review

Thank you for always recommended our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon in our historical property.

Best Regards,

Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the whole package. Had a swim within minutes of my massage. The checking in was quick and efficient.
The food was very good and very tradional service...served with a smile..
My room, , with a view of the pool is very comfortable and chic. Looking forward to breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acushla54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Acushla54

Greetings from wonderful hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you very much! Your very nice review touch us very much.

We are honored by your comment, and all our associates here are very touched by your compliments.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you home.

Kindest Regards,
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel was a delightful surprise. It has all the charm and ambience of an old world colonial hotel with all modern amenities. There has been a new wing tastefully added with a great pool. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food particularly the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sallyn138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Sallyn138

Greeting from the Charming hotel in Yogyakarta….

A pleasure to read your great review on The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and all went smoothly.

We hope you’ll have the opportunity to come to Yogyakarta soon and to have the pleasure of welcoming you once more.

Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 205 in Yogyakarta
984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 205 in Yogyakarta
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#16 of 205 in Yogyakarta
1,344 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 205 in Yogyakarta
614 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#11 of 205 in Yogyakarta
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $69 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing