We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Hotel with Excellent Service Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel with Excellent Service Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We chose to stay in the Phoenix Hotel after looking through the hotel reviews here in Tripadvisor. The Phoenix Hotel is a historical building (ex Bank of Indonesia) that has this colonial charm and tranquility that is wonderfully preserved.

We had brought our parents, and the staff was kind enough to allocate our parents (quite senior in age) a room on the 1st floor to make their stay more convenient. The room was also spacious, with metal handles for them to hold unto should they need to steady themselves, which is really a great touch on their part.

The rooms are very spacious and luxurious (we took the deluxe rooms) and the breakfast spread is one of the most awesome hotel breakfast buffet spread i had ever had (with freshly squeezed juices to boot!)

There were a couple of nights when we got back late, and we had food in the restaurant as well. The prices are extremely reasonable, and taste really great (we had largely western cuisine and the mains were just done perfectly). We recommend visitors to try one of the famous local drink, wedang uwuh (colloquially known as "Rubbish Drink") which is a brilliant concoction of spices that has great purported health benefits.

Throughout our stay, we have had staff that greeted us with warm smiles, and we would definitely stay in Phoenix hotel again if we visit Yogyakarta again.

- Christine & Eugene (visited March 2014)

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room nearer to the cafe/restaurant.:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meiju85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Christine & Eugene

Greetings from your stunning hotel in Yogyakarta

Thank you for your detailed review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and our services

Your satisfaction is our 1st priority, so we try to keep guests satisfied by giving the best we can and we are very happy when we can reach your satisfaction. We are very glad for the way you describe our hotel and for the high recommendation you make of it.

Once again thank you for the motivation and support that you gave to us by writing this review.

We are all looking forward to seeing you again for a next relaxing holiday.


Best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,918
    958
    205
    39
    23
See reviews for
663
1,314
274
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

it is a nice property, great location and very friendly staff working in there.
Rates are not cheap and quality of service is certainly not commensurate with moneys spent.
Management would do well to look into maintenance, staff training and quality of food and beverage in general, mostly breakfast buffet... highly disappointing.
Hopefully more international hotels will be available in the city so this hotel won't take for granted its customers.

Helpful?
1 Thank jjbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have traveled to Yogyakarta, Indonesia for thirty years but only this year stayed in the Phoenix. Renovated and reopened in 2004, this hotel includes new wings but has been rebuilt in a charming, thoughtful way consistent with the early-twentieth-century colonial style of the original building. The dining and central open courtyard are among the most charming restaurant locales I know in central Yogyakarta; food is quite good and varied; sensibly priced by international standards. Fitness center is very good, as is the lovely pool. Rooms vary -- some toward the front of the building get a good deal of street noise (this old Yogya district is charming but noisy!) -- and the standard rooms are only modest sized. Although reasonable by international standards, rates lie toward the high end by Yogya standards -- but worth it if you want the local history experience. Well managed -- overall a unique, historic, charming place.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper (as I am) ask for a room to the back of the complex. Even up front, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Robert H

Greeting from a historical hotel in Yogyakarta…..

Thank you for your amazing review through Tripadvisor.

It is nice to hear that you had enjoyable experiences in our legendary hotel. I really appreciate your kind remarks about our hotel and the ambience that we provide; we will keep maintaining all the unique and historic things in our hotel to give you memorable experiences.

We hope to welcome you back again for another holiday with memorable moments.

Kindest regards
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great place, fantastic staff, cool atmosphere. Good value for money. Only complaint would be that the hotel tries to offer a gourmet style restaurant experience for dinner but does not reach the full distance, food is not bad but it is not what the hotel aspires it to be (we only ate local style food from the menu, I think it is better on the street outside for a fraction of the price) . But we had a fantastic stay and I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear 13147

Greeting from a beautiful hotel in Yogyakarta…..

Thank you for your review and for the time you took for it.

We are very glad to hear that you mostly enjoyed your stay and the mention of your disappointment about our menu will help us to reconsider and to serve you better in the future.

We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Well, it might be late for me to review. Anyway, i stayed here Over 8 months ago. Just wanna share how it was. I stayed with friends, got room facing the pool. Love the hotel in overall. Nice lobby, staff smile at you giving the nice warm colonial greetings. Clean hallway, pool and public areas. Food was good, big selection of breakfast. Lunch was good too, nice presentation of food. But wifi problem that keep logged out after a while sometime annoying. Overall, really love this hotel. Always recommend this place to my friends that coming to Jogja !

Room Tip: Room with pool view is Nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewalidjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Alfian A

Greeting from incredibly historical hotel in Yogyakarta.

Thank you for your very nice review. We are glad that you have enjoyed our service.

Your satisfaction is our 1st priority, so we try to keep guests satisfied by giving the best we can.

Once again thank you for the motivation and support that you gave to us by writing this review and we do apologize for our wifi problem. We are now progressing to change with a new system, with hope to fully answer to your expectations.

Thank you for always recommended our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon in our historical property.

Best Regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
2.8 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing