We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,918
    958
    205
    39
    23
See reviews for
663
1,314
274
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This was a live review as I write and still staying here!

Our room was not ready when we arrived at 2.30pm. We waited in their classic reading room cum waiting area. We were a room with balcony facing local homes. Would have been great to stay facing the hotel courtyard.

As this hotel came recommended, I'd not bothered reading reviews. The superior is small and pretty disappointed with the non-branded toiletries for such beautifully promoted hotel.

The buffet breakfast was sumptious and good spread of varieties.

They have hotel tour but only at 2pm daily.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Happy Passion

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta….

We would like to thank you for your effort to review our property, and for the constructive points you have mentioned, it will certainly help us to provide better services.

In particular, we will change our hotel tour program and try to have more flexibility with its schedule.

Thank you very much for helping us to improve.
Best Regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I had the best stay here. From the time I checked-in till I checked-out, it was simply fantastic! The staff are really friendly, not only at recep but throughout the hotel. Every single one of them were always smiling and happy! Service was exceptional and they're always willing to go out of their way to make your stay that much better. My room had a balcony and a view of the pool which was perfect. The room itself was spacious and cosy, and the bathroom was nice too. Grand in a simple way. Lovely!
The food at the hotel - absolutely outstanding and tasty. The menu is extensive but what amazed me was how good it was. Loved dining in and it was always crowded. I also had a massage at the hotel - one of the best I've had. Relaxing, just the right pressure and I had the best sleep after.
The ambiance of this hotel is simply perfect. Lovely sections to just chill with a beer, dress up to dine, pool for fun. Best of all - it's not expensive for what you experience in return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SmitsV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Smits V

Greetings from your lovely hotel in Yogyakarta…

When we shared your comments with our associates, they are delighted.

Your comments make us very proud and give us the feeling of a mission accomplished. Our first mission being your satisfaction, your great review is received as an exceptional gratification.

Thank you for brightening our day and giving us the extra motivation to continue serving with heart.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back “home”

Kindest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at the Phoenix Hotel in Yogyakarta. We are both seasoned travellers and can get a bit finicky about hotels and their service. So it was quite wonderful to find The Phoenix exceeding our expectations. In short it's one of the best value for money experiences we have had in a while.

The look and feel of the place is great with a nice colonial feel to it. The centre courtyard looks distinctly European with its fountain in the middle. The pool area is also quite lovely with each room around it equipped with a balcony to sit in and relax. The room overall was good with lots of little touches that gave it character and flair. That said, what really impressed us was the service. It was absolutely top class, everyone served with a smile, English proficiency was good and they went out of their way to help when needed. In fact, I left my phone in a taxi after dinner and Linda from the front office immediately sprang to action to locate the cab and get it back to the hotel within 5-10 minutes. In short we were delighted with the service and it rivalled what we would expect at a top tier global 5-star.

We also recommend the hotel private car service for touring around Jogjakarta. It's a little bit pricier than what you might get outside but they really do the full package with English speaking drivers who are knowledgeable, cold towels after a hot walk in the sun, bottles of wart and a flexible itinerary. All in all we had a great stay and recommend the Phoenix.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Animesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Animesh M

Greetings from your great boutique hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for your very valuable feedback.

We are glad you had an enjoyable and that we made your experience Memorable.. We really appreciate your very positive review related with our service, room and hotel facilities.

We hope you can have another beautiful experience in the future.
Once again, thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and services .

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed in a room overlooking the pool that was spacious, had a well equipped bathroom (the rainfall shower pressure was brilliant), and was clean and bright. The complimentary local fruit in the rooms was a nice touch as well.

The restaurant buffet breakfast was amazing. The hotel restaurant Paprika was a real treat, especially the cocktail service from a fantastic bartender. The service at the restaurant was at times a little slow but overall a great dining experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMT_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear JMT_NZ

Greetings from your relaxing hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for the time you took for it.

We appreciate your good attention to details that truly highlight some special experiences that we are happy to provide.

A great thanks once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to seeing you again with another for a relaxing stay.

Kindest regards
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you plan to visit Yogyakarta and wondering which hotel to choose, pick The Phoenix Hotel because it is the Best. I stayed in this hotel recently for 2 nights ( 31 Jan to 2 Feb ) and I loved everything about this hotel. The service was top notch, the staff were so friendly and always willing to help. Most of them speak very good English, very courteous and always gave a very warm smile. The room was very clean, very cosy and the bed was so nice to sleep on. The spa was fabulous. I had a very good 1.5 hour massage and after the massage, I felt so relaxed. Climbing up the stairs at Borobudur and Prambanan temples on the next day didn't even wore me out. I felt so energetic... thanks to the great aromatherapy body massage I had the day before. The food served at their Paprika restaurant was also good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the swimming pool. The view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonySg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Tonysg

Greetings from the Best hotel in Yogya

Thank you for your very nice review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

Your satisfaction is our 1st priority, so we try to keep guests satisfied by giving the best we can and we are very happy when we can reach your satisfaction.

Once again thank you for the motivation and support that you gave to us by writing this review.

We are all looking forward to seeing you again for a next relaxing holiday.


Best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Overall our stay at the Phoenix was pleasant enough despite my wife, teenage son and I being put into a room with two single beds and a rollaway cot that seemed smaller that the rooms others in our party occupied. It being the second last room (no. 365) at the end of three very long corridors was also a little inconvenient for retrieving last minute or forgotten items.

In any case, the hotel has great ambience and wonderful character and the reason why we had our travel agent specifically book the establishment, having heard great things about it, all true, one might add.

The 11.30 am call to remind us of our 12 noon check-out was also very much appreciated and was responded to by settling our bills at 11.50 am with a request to retrieve our luggage from the room. This, however, only happened three reminders and 40 minutes later, all the while keeping our party and transportation waiting. One accepts that miscommunications do occur but if the hotel wants its guests promptly out by noon it should at least reciprocate by being a little more efficient. What was most glaring, however, was the absolute lack of remorse shown on the part of the front desk. Not a single word of apology! There was only one other guest present the entire time, and two desk officers.

Great hotels and repeat customers are by nature built on customer relations, but perhaps some guests are more honoured than others!

BTW, the complimentary birthday cake for one of our party was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: 1,2,or 3-67 are the furthest rooms. Ask for ground floor or rooms with lower denominations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seika61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Seika61

Greetings from the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. On behalf of the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta I would like to apologize for the disappointments that you have felt during your stay with us.

Your review has given us motivation to reconsider some aspects of our service and will certainly help us to increase the attitude of the front desk staff, the organization of our luggage collection and overall the satisfaction of our guests.

Please be sure that we are working on the points that spoiled your experience, in order to avoid them to happen again in the future.

Thank you for helping us.

Sincerely,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
2.8 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing