We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were travelling through java with our three children and arrived in Yogyakarta by train from jalerta. The hotel is a short cyclo ride from the station. It's a beautiful old colonial building that has been sympathetically extended. The feel of the hotel is one of luxury and we enjoyed our three nights very much. The breakfasts were excellent and varied. The hotel is not central but only a short walk or cyclo ride from the main attractions. We ate out at the local restaurants on an evening so did not sample the hotel food. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable, the service very good. There is lots to do in Yogyakarta and in hidnsight we would have spent another day or two here before moving on.
I would certainly stay here again.
PS The pool area is a little cramped in the evening when everyone returns from day trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinksincave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Tinksincave

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Thank you very much for taking the time to write comments on your stay, which is always helpful and very appreciated.

It is an honor to hear that you are satisfied with our service, room and breakfast; I appreciate your kind remarks about our hotel and I will forward it to the Hotel Team

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta soon.

Very Warm Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,935
    977
    212
    39
    23
See reviews for
671
1,332
278
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and very impressed with this hotel. After a bad experience in a supposedly 5* hotel in KL it was a pleasure to stay in the Phoenix. Food is excellent, staff very friendly and hotel has an old style charm. Recommended

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nollaigglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Nollaigglas

Warmest greetings from your favorite hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you very much for your feedback and recommendation, it is much appreciated.

I was delighted to know that you had an excellent experience during your stay.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for other great experiences.


Best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
267 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Being our first trip to Yogya, we had wanted to stay all our 5 nights here but an email to the Hotel to ask if we could get a free one way airport transfer was being turned down right away. And so we booked our first 3 nights at the brand new, Hotel Eastparc which offers free airport transfer upon our arrival. We were so glad that we made that choice as we were so comfortable there (read my other review) and had a peace of mind with the free airport transfer when we first arrived in a strange and new city (our first visit).

After 3 wonderful nights at the Eastparc, a short 5 minutes taxi drive had brought us to the historical and charming Hotel Phoenix at 9am. But we had to wait till close to 10am before our room, a Deluxe room 366 was ready for us to check in. No complaints as we happily spent one solid hour just to tour the Hotels lobby, waiting room, courtyard and pool area - absolutely stunning and gorgeous as everywhere you turned, you would see wood carvings, statues, objects d'art, antiques, batik clothings, nice furniture', stone plaques etc etc, very museum like - my cup of tea!

However, upon entering our 3rd and highest floor room, my heart sank immediately - smaller room at 35sqm (knew this before hand), with very small twin beds, smaller TV with very poor reception, smaller but nice balcony, smaller bathroom with rain shower but no hand held shower (very impractical and very strange!). What if you don't want to wash your hair daily?

Wifi was free and fast, however, it kept logging on and off, quite frustrating to say the least. Toiletries given are also insufficient, one toothbrush for a twin room, with the smallest ever tube of toothpaste? Also one small bottle of body lotion and shampoo is being combined with hair conditioner - all costs cutting measures when they are charging this much in Yogya?

Two bottles of free mineral water were given daily (Hotel Eastparc offers 4 bottles daily). No iron and ironing board here as opposed to Eastparc and the worst of all, the aircond cannot seem to cool down the somewhat small room ... I complained and they sent an Engineer over and it was a little better the second night. Luckily, bed though small but was comfy enough.

On the positive side - room was totally quiet as it was facing the pool, so book early or request for one of the 30 or so rooms facing the somewhat, again, small pool! It was just lovely sitting on the smaller balcony, looking at the well tended garden and pool below - very nice indeed! Staff all speak good English and are very professional, too - kudos to all of the staff here! Received a small plate of fruits and some sweets in the room - nice gestures!

Breakfasts next day was also good, with lots of choices here, daily changes and the best Gudeg in Yogya. However, in terms of food range, the Hotel Eastparc still beats the Hotel Phoenix hands down. Location wise, it is much better than the Eastparc as it is only 10-15K by taxi to Jalan Malioboro, about 7-8 minutes. Booked a Purawisata show from the Hotel at 35K for both dinner and show, with free transfers both ways, and it was a lovely evening.

Overall, we are still glad and truly happy to have stayed at the Hotel Phoenix. It is truly an icon and historical symbol of Old Yogya - never to be missed. Admittedly, if we had not stayed at the Hotel Eastparc first, like my mum had said, we might have given this hotel a 4 stars rating. After a two nights stay, we took a 20 mins taxi to the Yogya airport, paying only 37K instead of the Hotel's car at 120K (almost 3 times as much ....). Get ready 100K for airport's departure tax though.

With a few new airlines flying to Yogya, including Singapore's Silkair and more new hotels being built, the competition for the tourist dollar is certainly heating up here. Visited the nearby new Hotel Tentrem and it does offer a WOW factor (though its rates are a little higher). The Melia Purosani near Jalan Malioboro is also very nice with a matured garden and a very beautiful pool. Lastly, the best shopping mall here is the Amplaz Mall, right next to the Royal Ambarrukmo Hotel (if in Yogya again, this would be my first choice but take note, Tripadvisor had listed this Hotel's classification wrongly!)

If like us, you are spending 4 or 5 nights here, do allow a night or 2 at the Hotel Phoenix - you will never regret your choice. It is still worth it as its undeniably very beautiful and extremely gorgeous! We had our best lunch in Yogya - Duta Minang nasi padang, and its right opposite the Hotel Phoenix (back facing Hotel, on your left)! But do be careful of the busy road here! Enjoy this iconic hotel ...

Room Tip: 3rd floor Deluxe or Executive rooms facing the Pool is a must, very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear JChua

Warmest greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta…..

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in Yogyakarta and thank you for posting this review.

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with many points in our hotel.

We have noted that you found an unpleasant experience in staying in one of our rooms and being disturbed. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us.

It is our main concern to improve the quality of service, and we are currently working on a global maintenance of our air conditioning in every room.

We do hope that you will choose our hotel again for a future visit to Yogyakarta.

Best Regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
350 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel looks like a nice, colonial-style, full-service ***** Javanese hotel, and it is. I had a great stay there and would certainly come here again when back in Yogya.

I had a Phoenix room (I think), the second-highest category after the big suite, and it was very large. From the reviews here, it strikes me that the small price difference - the Phoenix is certainly cheap for what it offers - is well worth it. (It did not have the best view, but it was quiet.) Altogether, for what it delivers, the hotel is certainly a bargain, by European/American standards anyway, but also within the region.

Nice touches: Good DVD/CD player, free minibar and, rare enough, local snacks (chips, chocolate, cashews, cookies etc.), as well as fresh very interesting and high-quality fruit, daily replenished. Great coffee/espresso maker with equal stocking, rare in the region, of decaf.

The pool is the star of the hotel; looks as great as on the pictures. And it is certainly fun to swim there, but there are a few limitations: The pool is so shallow on the swimming side that one cannot swim laps; the water is heavily chlored (which it has to be as in spite of the nice shower, people go in without showering, some in clothes - yuck) and so one needs to shower again when back in the room; the pool closes already at 7; and it is surrounded on three sides by hotel balconies, so one gives the tenants there a free show. I would likewise recommend the spa; for the hotel context, it is expensive, but still cheap overall, and the treatments are excellent.

More small-scale whining: Wifi very unstable and unable to be fixed (systemic problem as I understand); same with the water temperature in the shower; towels not replaced during turndown service (here of course I am aware how whiny this is). A/C broke down twice but was fixed very promptly.

Excepting the middle-aged female head receptionist when I checked in, the staff was really friendly and courteous, and it seemed well beyond training. Breakfast was very nice, and the fountain courtyard is a great setting, especially with Gamelan music; too bad that the best tables are designated for smokers, but well, this is Indonesia and many local people (still) smoke. The Phoenix, by the way, has some local customers, very few East Asians, and mainly, it seems, European middle-aged couples on cultural tourism. Still, it's a good business hotel as well.

Location is so-so; there is nothing in walking distance, and walking is anyway a bad idea in Yogya (but transport is cheap and convenient). "Downtown" needs a cab. UGM, for many on business a destination in Yogya, is very close by. For arrival at the airport, it makes sense to book their pickup service to avoid hassle; going back, a cab makes more sense (30% of the price of the hotel shuttle, but no receipt).

Altogether, I had just a great stay; strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Aethelred

Greetings from your favorite hotel in Yogyakarta….

I am pleased to learn that you had enjoyable stay in our Heritage hotel and thank you for nice comments on the hotel, excellent service, facilities and friendly staff.

I will be certainly sharing your compliments with all our team here. They will be very excited to know that an excellent level of guest satisfaction has been delivered. The true Yogya hospitality really does come from the heart and this is the type of service delivery we take pride at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

I also do apologize that you met some problem during your stay with us. The issues have been addressed to the department concern to be improved in the future, specially the quality of our free wifi.

Thank you and we will welcome you back soon in our beautiful property.

Very Warm Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

15-20 mins from the airport, the hotel stands out as a beautiful well preserved building with beautiful setting, clean and well kept.

We stayed at the deluxe legacy room which was spacious and luxurious by our standards. Wifi speed was good. Only catch was that the room we got was at another block at an extreme corner. The room balcony opens into a courtyard. On our first night there was a wedding reception hence it was rather noisy but all was quiet by 11pm. Other nights were peaceful.

There is only a rain shower in the bath so the shower cap is a must for those who don't wish to wet their hair each time!

Service at the restaurant was pleasant. The buffer breakfast offers a wide spread. The coffee was good.

The hotel was always a welcome retreat from the long days touring the region. Would stay there again if we ever go back to Yogyakatra. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing courtyard in the inner block. Would be quieter. Also to ask for a room not too f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kienteong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Kienteong

Greetings from the sunny city of Yogyakarta……

We thank you for choosing The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta as your preferred accommodation.

We also want to thank you for your constructive feedback that is very much appreciated. I am sure it will be very useful for many visitors of our city, as it is for us, in order to understand guest expectation and to always try to increase their satisfaction.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Warmest regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful property on the surface. Great architecture, furnishings, etc., history is all around you. However, on closer inspection, things don't quite work the way they should: wifi was on and off the entire stay (very unreliable), our tv remote was broken, the toilet flush was broken and water did not properly drain from the shower, etc. We have stayed at many other properties in Indonesia where all off these things have been maintained and worked properly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank joelob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Joel22

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Your honest feedback will help and motivate us to work on the points you have mentioned.
We are waiting to welcoming you back to see the improvements we will have made thanks to you.

Warm regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at the Phoenix Hotel in a Superior queen room with city view for two nights while on holiday in Java.
What we liked:
- Great service – the reception staff were helpful and provided useful information on the area.
- Our room was lovely, with traditional décor, a comfortable bed and a range of amenities (i.e minibar, slippers, robes, etc). Though the bathroom was on the smaller side with a shower unit but no bathtub, it was still met our needs.
- Good location within walking distance of many of Yogyakarta’s main sites. Tours of the area are also available through hotel for reasonable prices as is airport transportation.
- Nice pool area with plenty of lounge chairs.
- It is a beautiful older hotel that has been well-maintained.
Things that weren’t as great:
- Though we had some great meals in the restaurant, on a couple of occasions the service left something to be desired and the food had not been cooked as it should have.
Overall
A great find! We really enjoyed our stay. The Phoenix is a great base from which to explore the explore the area, and we had a really relaxing time. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_R_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear T_R Grant

Warmest greetings from the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta…

Thank you very much for your positive and detailed review regarding our hotel, service and staff.

We strive to give our guests the best service and I am happy that we succeed for most of your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at our beautiful property in Yogyakarta.

Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing