We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
favehotel Kusumanegara(Yogyakarta)(Great Value!)
$19
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Yogyakarta(Yogyakarta)
$42
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$53
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 1001 Malam(Yogyakarta)
$30
$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Duta Guest House(Yogyakarta)(Great Value!)
$27
$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Artha Hotel(Yogyakarta)
$25
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,584)
Filter reviews
3,584 results
Traveler rating
2,152
1,099
256
47
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,152
1,099
256
47
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaprika restaurantcolonial stylebeautiful hotelcolonial feelheritage hotelnew wingbreakfast buffetbalcony overlooking the poolexecutive roomsultan's palacehotel restaurantwelcome drinkan oasisindonesian foodmalioboro streetnice poolspa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,476 - 1,481 of 3,584 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We loved the Phoenix hotel! Gorgeous building, sweet-as-can-be staff, beautiful pool, pretty darned decent food (bit pricey though), amazing breakfast spread (be sure to get a deal that includes that in your room rate). With 2 boys we had to get a suite + extra bed to accommodate all of us, but the one we were in was tastefully and elegantly organized and decorated. Definitely worth the walk all the way to the back of the property to get a poolside view--lovely walk it is, too, with the halls decorated with art pieces and knick-knacks as they are. Wasn't the cheapest place we ever stayed at, but was definitely luxurious and worth every penny.

Room Tip: Pool-view, definitely!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeripateticDeepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Peripatetic Deepa

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta….

Thanks a million for such a positive review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we managed to reach your expectations.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in our beautiful heritage hotel.

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Phoenix Hotel in Yogyakarta rates as one of my two favourite places in the world! It is a luxurious place with friendly staff - in a perfect part of Yogya... and it has perhaps the best breakfasts ever, as well. Lovely swimming pool; great iced-lemon teas; wonderful dadar gulung - green coconut pancakes... as well as great historic photos of the Sultan's Kraton.

My title here is inspired by the fact that The Phoenix is only about 30km from Gunung (Mount) Merapi - which had an eruption in 2006 (?)... The Phoenix is conveniently located for trips to Borobudur and Prambanan - the most famous Buddhist & Hindu temples in Java!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the crowing rooster in the nearby kampung (village).
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratukidul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Ratukidul

Warmest greetings from your in Yogyakarta….

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and taking the time to send your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to hear that our hotel in one of your two favorite places in the all world! We are very proud to achieve such recognition.

We hope to welcoming you back again very soon in our beautiful property.
Thanks again and Very Best Regards, ,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

BF and I spent a weekend at this hotel and found it adequate to our needs - a quiet and comfortable place to sleep while we had 2 full-on days of sight-seeing around Yogya. Mind you, it was quiet because we had specifically requested a quiet room overlooking the pool. Rooms in other parts of the hotel would have been subject to traffic noise from the major road in front of the hotel, early morning calls to prayer from a nearby mosque, or noise from the large, open dining area.

While the building itself was beautiful, and the rooms were nicely decorated, we found the marble floored corridors a little hospital-like, as well as noisy (I felt very sorry for people sleeping, when we checked out at 7am and I had to roll my suitcase with a broken wheel along those floors - what a racket it made!). There were also a lot of ants in our room, which we had to ask house-keeping to spray.

We can't comment on the food, as we did not eat there. However, we did find the staff to be very friendly and courteous.

While we have rated certain aspects of this hotel as a "4", our overall rating of "3" for this property is based on comparing it with the other numerous 5 star international hotels that we have stayed at. When put into the 5 star luxury category, the Phoenix has a fair way to go.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Braziltraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Braziltraveller2010

Warmest greeting from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Thank you for the time you took to review our hotel.

We appreciate that you had an overall pleasant stay with us and we thank you for your encouragement to improve.

Warmest regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

this is a really beautiful hotel, nice rooms and a super super breakfast buffet, I travel 100 days per year and this breakfast is in my top 3, but the other food is also delicious (recommend the Friday night buffet)
staff is really friendly

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strikgeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Strikgeel

Greeting from your beautiful hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and taking the time to send your review on Trip Advisor.

It is nice to hear that our property is your very satisfactory choice in Yogyakarta and we really appreciate your kind remark about our hotel, rooms, breakfast and also friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Very Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews