We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12 to 15 October 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“12 to 15 October 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We checked in on 12 October around 2pm but our rooms were not ready. We had to wait for more than an hour before our rooms were ready.

Toiletries were not replenished daily.

However they were quick to respond to our requests like resetting the room safe deposit code, bringing toiletries to our rooms and replacing the light bulb in the shower.

Overall the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Davidwy8

Warmest greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta…….

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us, it is always helpful to improve our level of service and standard thanks to guest comments.

We appreciate your good remark about our hotel, quick responds of our employee during your stay with us.

We do apologize if part of your experience did not meet your expectations. We always try to improve our guest satisfaction and I would like to specially apologize about the rooms that not ready yet during your check in time and toiletries were not replenished daily. The issues have been addressed to the departments concerned and training has been initiated to handle and improve in the future.

Once again thank you for your detail feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warmest regards

Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,934
    977
    212
    39
    23
See reviews for
671
1,331
278
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here for a couple nights during a family vacation. The hotel is conveniently located, just off Jalan Malioboro. The hotel is very well-kept, with nice touches like the phoenix door handles. The pool was nice, though a bit small, so it gets crowded. The best thing was the breakfast, which offers everything from omelet station to traditional Javanese dishes. Just be advised that the front rooms are not insulated against road noise.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Baby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Baby D

Greetings from your favorite Hotel in Yogyakarta……

I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in our heritage Hotel in Yogyakarta.

Thank you for your ratings and nice comments on the hotel, our employees, the service and memorable experiences during your stay with your family. I have shared your compliments with the entire team. And I will keep your comment recorded for the noise rooms and input them in our upgrade and renovation plan.

I am sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back one day in our heritage hotel.

Warmest regards,
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Far away from ireland to yogyakarta city to do some business makes me need an extra comfortable and quality rest. And this hotel gave all exactly what i need. With an attentive and helpful staff(ms.dilla) i had a very good breakfast time ever.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jocelynheiz38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Jocelynheiz38

I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in our Hotel, your generous comment will be warmly received by the team at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

All the team is very happy, if you can enjoy your stay with us and your satisfaction is our 1st priority. I shall be certainly sharing your compliments directly to Ms. Dilla. She will be very excited to know that an excellent level of guest satisfaction was delivered.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

As I am sitting next to the lovely pool of The Phoenix Hotel while writing this review, I'd like to share that it was a real pleasure to stay here for the last 4 days. To start with, the staff is very kind and and always willing to help and they are so much more service minded compared to most (western) hotels. We booked a deluxe room with a view on the pool and a large balcony. I can really recommend this room for it's king bed as you'll need some rest from the busy world outside the hotel. The restaurant serves a great breakfast, a nice lunch and dinner. If you have the chance try the weekly Friday evening BBQ, where you will have an enormous range of choice in local and international dishes. Then there's also the relaxing atmosphere at the pool and I have been told that the massages at the spa are heavenly as well. Last but not least, we've had a fantastic private tour, which was organised by the hotel, to the Borobodur temple, the Merapi volcano and the Prambanan temple. All this in just one day for 950,000 Rp. Not a bad price at all...
I would like to thank the staff of The Phoenix Hotel for the lovely stay we've had and I would especially like to thank our driver, Edwin, who drove very well during the tour in the busy Indonesian traffic.

If you are looking for a nice hotel with great service and a good price / quality in Yogya, look no more, you've just found it!

Room Tip: Deluxe room with King bed and balcony. Pool view optional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear JimmyLancaster,

Greetings from your favorite hotel in Yogyakarta

I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in our Heritage style hotel and I sincerely thank you for nice comments on the hotel, our employees, restaurant and the service.

I shall be certainly sharing your compliments with all of the team here at the hotel. They will be very excited to know that on excellent level of guest satisfaction was delivered. The true Yogya Hospitality really does come from the heart and this is the type of service delivery we take pride of at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

Thanks for highly recommending our hotel and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This wonderful colonial style hotel is a charmer. Everything was wonderful, especially the Paprika Restaurant which had a great variety at reasonable prices. Staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our four nights here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Marvel on

Greetings from the best hotel in Yogyakarta…..

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience.
We are pleased to learn that you had enjoyabel stay.Thank you for your compliment of our Paprika restaurant and the service rendered by our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and giving you another memorable experience.

Regards,
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I forget how many times I stay in this hotel, every time I go to this hotel just can say Awesome...
The food are great and tasty, the room services are best with the complimentary crunchy bread basket every you order.

Room Tip: Find the new building or the pool view room. Strongly ask that because some of the rooms are facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanislaus14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Stanislaus 14

Warmest greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta……

Your comments “excellent property, great and tasty food and best room services”, do motivate us in our strive to provide a high standard of service and a memorable experience. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Thank you for highly recommending our hotel as your destination in Yogyakarta and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This colonial styled hotel is a real gem in Yogyakarta! Conveniently located, within walking distance (15mins) to Malibolo street (or a short trishaw ride away), yet feels a world away after entering the lobby. It is full of character, unlike more modern hotels, from the ornate tiles on the floor to the glass paneled doors. There is great attention to detail - the table lamps in the room are shaped like a stupa from Borobodur! Service is amazing, everyone makes you feel like a special guest. Definitely get a room facing the pool, and sip a drink on the (small) balcony! On arrival, there is a selection of bite sized pastry to munch on, and some items in the minibar are complimentary too. Meals are excellent, and during the buffet breakfast, there is live gamelan players which adds to the atmosphere. The pool is a bit small and gets a bit crowded. Borobodour is 1 hour away, would recommend staying in Phoenix, and getting the 3.30am taxi service there for sunrise (although on our particular morning it was too foggy to see much). Then visit Prambanan on the way back.

Room Tip: Pool view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MC22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear MC22013

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta….

We would like to thank you for giving us your impression; our guest feedbacks are very important to us and help us to improve the level of our services.

We will keep in mind your comments and always try to provide exiting experiences and try to make people feel special in our Heritage Hotel.

Best Regards,

Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing