We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will comeback !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We will comeback !”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is more then just a nice for our family. It was great experience to stay in the best spot of hospitality of Yogyakarta. The building will bring back your memories of colonial ambiance and the most reason to stay again : Great Hospitality deliver by all staffs !

Room Tip: Stay in backside of the hotel and facing to swimming pool, you will not believe you are in Yogya !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMCriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We were very pleased to read about your enjoyable stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,998
    1,013
    222
    42
    24
See reviews for
704
1,374
285
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our 3 night stay was wonderful. The atmosphere of the hotel was extremely charming. Our room was very clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and punctual with our needs. The breakfast was amazing and catered to our western and Indonesian tastes. We plan on returning when I can. Great Romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lammaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It was a great stay! The hotel is nice and historic. Service is impeccable.
The rooms are on the smaller side but the overall ambience of the room and the hotel in general make up for it. Yogya is a city for exploring so how much time does one spent in the room? Excellent mattresses and pillows!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Panji_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for 3N . Well above my expectations. . Kudos to the housekeeper , the room is very clean. . They are also fast in responding to request . I can said that all the staff are humble and polite. The breakfast is amazing with reasonable price , we paid INR 91,000 per pax as our breakfast is not included. As for the dinner buffet , it is a bit pricey but the food is good .

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe room facing the pools or the fountain .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkkSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naaldwijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great room, very good service from staff. Nice people in the restaurant pleasant and helpfull. Located central in busy Yokja on a throughroad but hardy any nuisance. On walking distance from
the main touristic attractions

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CentWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely hotel with well trained and presented staff who go out of there way to cater to your every whim.
Breakfast is amazing and the setting of the swimming pool is awesome.
One of the most classy properties I have stayed in for a few years and truly an experience.
Only fault if any is the size of the superior rooms.bit on the small side so if you like a bit more space upgrade.
Would return if I get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay. We are looking forward to serve you again in the next future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 204 in Yogyakarta
953 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 204 in Yogyakarta
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,058 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
2.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing