We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Colonial Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #9 of 210 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A landmark in Java’s cultural capital, Phoenix is for the price we pay ($80 without breakfast) one of the best value-for-money hotels we have stayed at. While retaining its colonial grandeur, rooms are quite modern and very clean, typical of five-star business hotels in Asia, even if bathroom amenities are below standard. After sending an e-mail asking for a room with balcony overlooking the open courtyard and the swimming pool, the management promptly responded that they would try their best to accommodate us though we never expected to be offered a near-corner room next to an executive suite, a long walk from the lift but truly an oasis of calm perfect for post-Borobudur rest and relaxation. “City-view” units are much noisier and the views nothing to write home about.

Although we can’t comment on the breakfast served in an elegant art-deco space, the complimentary salak is too dry, not sweet and juicy like those grown in Bali or Thailand. Budget travellers will rejoice when they discover Circle K close by but unfortunately it can take up to ten minutes just to cross the street as it’s among Yogya’s busiest. Yet the location next to Tugu monument is more asset than liability. All the major attractions can be conveniently reached within 15 minutes by Trans Jogja BRT (take bus 1A/1B from/to the airport and to/from Jalan Malioboro). For the adventurous, it’s worth rubbing elbows with locals at Angkringan Lek Man (daily 6 pm to 4 am), 15 minutes away by foot, for nasi kucing (literally cat’s rice) and kopi joss (espresso dipped with burning coal).

With its central location, amazing staff and comfortable rooms, this colonial gem is definitely on our "gold list" of hotels we can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PORhibido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,651 - 1,657 of 3,547 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

A beautiful hotel. The facilities are excellent. The staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is old style but in immaculate condition with updated amenities. The restaurants are first class with a varied menu. The hotel has a lovely pool area and its spa is wonderful. My wife and I stayed for a week in order to visit Borobodur and Prambanam both of which are easily accessible by the local (cheap) taxis. The only problem we had the whole time was a corrupt customs officer and his friends at the airport on departure. Beware the scam they try of claiming anything as an historical artefact. Despite this I would go again as the area is fascinating and the hotel is an absolute delight.

Room Tip: We stayed high up where it was quiet. Stay away from function rooms as they can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We very much appreciate for sharing your review related with your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked a 3-night stay for a King Executive and were upgraded to a suite facing the pool. The hotel is charming and its set-up reminded us a bit of the Raffles Hotel in Singapore.
1. Restaurants in the City.
Kesuma: Exquisite but service is slow. If you have an early morning the next day, start your dinner early.
Via Via: best Gado-Gado we have eaten.
Restaurant on site at the hotel: Good local food. Reasonably priced for a hotel. Breakfasts are fantastic.

2. Transport.
We used Annas Tour for a car and driver. They are fairly professional.
Bus 1A. The bus conductors spoke English and were helpful. But the bus could get really crowded and hot.

3. Hotel spa. Acceptable, could be better.

4. I did not give the hotel a 5 because they kept failing to replenish shampoos and soaps. The quality of the toiletries could also be improved.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. I am sorry that your experience concerning the bathroom amenities did not meet your expectations. Our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family (myself, hubby, 4 years old son and an elderly mum) stayed at Phoenix Hotel for 5 days and 4 nights during our visit to Yogyakarta last April. We had a wonderful experience staying there as the hotel employees are very helpful and friendly. We never had problems communicating as they spoke fluent English. The rooms are very clean and their room service was great. I would like to say THANK YOU to Ms Ira (Reservation Dept) for arranging our requirements perfectly without any hiccups. Not forgetting the hotel employees (I wish I can remember all the names) who served us from the day we arrived until we departed.
We also booked our transportation with the hotel itself and everything was planned perfectly. Our driver was Pak Dani and Pak Susilo and I must say both of them are very friendly and patient. Next, we tried Ayurvedic and another massage at their Spa and Massage Centre. It was very refreshing and priced at reasonable pricing.
Breakfast will be served at Ground Floor and the Hotel served both local and international menu. Do try their local “Jamu Drink”.

Room Tip: Try to get room at their second building facing swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your kind words have been passed to our team especially Ms. Ira, Pak Dani and Pak Susilo. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This revamped colonial mansion is the best hotel in the region. It has all the modern amenities (and they all work) at C19th prices-except for alcohol which as is common in Java is prohibitively expensive. The swimming pool featured in advertisements doesn't do justice to the atmosphere created by the openness, ceiling fans and shutters in the public spaces, the carp pond through the dining area and the french provincial courtyard cafe, complete with fountain, gamelon orchestra and reasonably priced fabric shop. Add to this white marble on the floors everywhere, very very good service and a fantastic five star buffet breakfast included. Only criticism I have is too much furniture in the smallish rooms (no built ins) which meant there was only space for access to one travel bag per room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 512traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Amazing colonial Javanese British raj style hotel with open courtyards and fabulous buildings only 4 stories high. Most room have balconies with doors that open, a relief as many hotels in jogja are those awful block styles. Lots of antiques on display everywhere and there is still an old section of the building at the front. The hotel is steeped in history and tours of it are available.
The staff are amazing and the service incredible. We had the executive suites one over looking the pool and the other the city. Get a room over looking the pool as that is the best view and the rooms are quieter. The rooms facing the city do hear the 4am prayers and inevitable roosters but it is background noise and not that loud. As a light sleeper my yellow foam earplugs blocked it all out.
The pool is crystal clear and so gorgeous in its courtyard setting. So refreshing to jump in after a day of shopping or sightseeing. It instantly revives you, it is also expertly serviced for food and drinks and next to the spa.
The buffet breakfast and buffet dinner are out of this world. Breakfast has every kind of food and even local medicinal herb drinks to pep you up for your busy day. The lamb and beef was just as good as Aussie meat gets. I liked the way the restaurant was under cover and separated into 4 sections. one for inside, one for smoking, one for non smoking and a cafe area in an open courtyard. There is a great vino bar with lounge chairs, a piano player and pool table. We had drinks there before mounting our attack on the buffet each night.
The spa was fabulous, try the facial massage to make you look younger.
The hotel driver service was great as he spoke some English and the car was very comfortable and new. He was able to find lots of places for us as sometimes its just too hard in a local taxi. The location is close to malioboro road and museums etc. This hotel has a wonderful atmosphere, cultural 5 star luxury and it is one of the best I have ever stayed in. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Go executive suite or deluxe room over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heleconiaGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your visit to Yogyakarta. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked five months before my stay through Expedia for RM866 (about USD290) for three nights without breakfast. Breakfast for two is about Rupiah 210,000 per day, definitely overpriced.

I requested for one double bed but was given two single beds instead. Reason: full.

This hotel has almost everything a hotel should have; clean room and surroundings, comfortable bed, staffs giving good service, and is located at good location.
When i checked-in, the kettle was not working and so was one of the two bedside lamps. After i reported it the staff came to replace the kettle and fixed the lamp immediately. That was good.

Breakfast: good spread of food and the food quality is also excellent. However it is quite odd that guests had to pass breakfast area to go to the lobby.

Hotel location: this hotel is located in a good spot.

For those who want to be 'different' to reach this hotel, you can take bus No 1A from Adi Sucipto Airport and alight at Gondolayu bus stop in front of Santika Hotel. Cross the road, and you are here. Hey, the ride will only cost you 3000 Rupiah (about 30 cent USD) per person, as compared to (ordinary) taxi Rupiah 50,000 or special taxi Rupiah 90,000. Use the saved money for shopping or for food!

The hotel is also located near
1. Kranggan Market (5 minutes walk), where you could get a variety of local foods at a much economical price compared to the hotel price. I like to buy my 'jajan pasar' or Indonesian snacks from here. There were huge selection to choose from. And yes, buy your fruits here; fresher and cheaper than the one in the supermarket.
2. Malioboro Street shopping area; walking distance (about 15 to 20 minutes). If its too hot to walk, use becak or trishaw, or taxi.
3. Jalan Solo; to go there from the hotel, taxi will charge you a minimum fare of 15,000 Rupiah. Or as an alternative, take a bus (no 1A if i am not mistaken; or ask the attendant) from in front of the hotel, stop at Demangan market (3000 Rupiah), and walk from there.

Jalan Solo, especially near Gadenia shop, has a lot of fabric shops. This is the place for fabric shopping (including batik) if you want to avoid crowd at Malioboro.

4. Fitri Laundry. As you go out of the hotel, turn left. The kiosk is located just behind the Hotel Santika busway stop. It was not a laundry shop per se but act as a collection and delivery points. Express service for 2 kg of laundry (24 hours service, wash and press) cost me only 12,000 Rupiah. He..he..compare this price with “discounted laundry price” offered by Phoenix when you first arrived, at 38,000 Rupiah from 42,000 Rupiah for just a pair of item, a shirt and a pant.
5. Restoran Tiga Nyonya (halaal). Situated across the road from the hotel; if you are tired of hotel food, or too lazy to wander just come here, even though the price of food will most probably make you tired also.

Now about forgotten promises
1. On the 27th April 2013 in the evening, I called the hotel operator and asked about cultural show for that evening. She told me that she was not sure and said that she will call me later. So I put off the phone and waited. Unfortunately she did not call back. Eventually I got the information about the cultural show from the receptionist.
2. On the early morning of 28th April 2013 I called the reception to ask about Subuh prayer time. She said that she was not sure and she promised to call me back. Again the call never came.
Fortunately I did not wait for their calls to get the information. Those were only simple promises. But I really hope that they keep their promises.

I also asked the receptionist about spa and massage service outside (but nearest to) the hotel, since the one at the hotel was too expensive. The receptionist could not give me information. I am not sure why, but may be it was againts their policy.

To be fair, i would like to thank this hotel for extending my stay by one hour.

Room Tip: Room 266 is on the second floor, facing swimming pool and good to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Titi Rahmawati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share your concerns related with your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. I am sorry that some of your experience did not meet your expectation, especially with the operator. We hope that we can serve you better in the next future, and looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
1 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#14 of 210 in Yogyakarta
1,440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#5 of 210 in Yogyakarta
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#11 of 210 in Yogyakarta
1,116 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#13 of 210 in Yogyakarta
1,066 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $73 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing