We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A wonderful, stylish hotel with an olde-world feel. The service was matched by excellent value for money. The breakfast had good variety, right down to the traditional Jamu and Jogya favourites. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Vincent214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,622 - 1,628 of 3,470 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days at the end of March 2013. Got a pool facing room (but without a balcony) from a hotel booking website. For the price we paid (with breakfast), I cannot imagine another hotel that comes close. Not all rooms face the pool. And there are a few rooms facing the pool but without a balcony. Nevertheless I think whichever room you stayed in, it will be a pleasant stay.

It is situated near the tugu (a small memorial tower) in the middle of Yogyakarta, which is officially the centre of Yogyakarta in so far as distances are measured. The hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport (although this time may vary greatly depending on traffic). We were greeted with the most friendly of staff and as soon as we stepped into the hotel, we knew that it was a choice. Sometimes, the reception a hotel may look good but the rooms not so good. However, this hotel looked good from the very start and is good throughout.

The suite (where our friends stayed) is absolutely fabulous. Good size. Rooms were clean. Wifi is free. Flat screen TVs. The only complaint (well, if at all it can be called one) is that none of the sports channel showed the English Premier League football. The walk to our room through the corridors of this colonial style hotel was itself ...a good feeling of satisfaction of a good hotel discovered. Bed was just nice, not too firm and not too soft. Bathrooms clean.

The night view from the rooms facing the pool area is just so cool. Only drawback is that it did get slightly noisy with some kids swimming early one day but that did not bother us. I have not been to another hotel where the staff was friendlier.

Dining: For some strange reason though, the indoor dining area was stuffy as nthere was no air conditioning. However, most of us would sit outside or along the dining area corridors, which was so pleasant. Buffet dinner is only served on Friday night. Price: just over USD30. Breakfast is also good value at just above USD10. The other dinner offers however were very pricey. Somehow, there is a great price difference between the buffet and the special or ala carte menu.

The souvenier shop was surprisingly not expensive. In fact, some of us bought some souveniers our of town and thought we got a good deal but in the hotel souvenier shop, the same items were in fact cheaper! Very surprising for a hotel souvenier shop.

Walk towards the monument (turn right as you walk out of the hotel), then turn right as you reach the monument and there are ample eateries around the area - keep walking and you will reach the Tentrem Hotel, which has a good Chinese Restaurant called the Grand Duck King.

It is one of those hotels which you want to spend some time just sitting around. So cool! I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to get the pool facing rooms with a balcony if you like to sit out on the balcony overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FootyboyMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. I am sorry that we were unable to broadcast english premiere league according to the local. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the next future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Phoenix Hotel is located in a wonderful colonial building with a beautiful interior very close to the city center. It has several facilities, of which I like the spa and cooking lessons a lot. They offer a rich breakfast with a big variety of choices including a complete Indonesian dish. And during breakfast there is (soft) live gamelan music. Very nice!
The staff is very friendly, helpful and honest. When I was about to leave to my next destination by taxi they called me and handed me my envelope with the money which I hid under my mattress the evening before.
Thanks for everything guys! (By the way, I come back in october 2013.)

Vivienne Philippus

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night over the Easter weekend. We had booked a Superior room and were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves upgraded to a Deluxe room.

Room was very spacious, modern and well equipped, and had a balcony with good views of the city. It was beautifully decorated with a batik theme (batik bed runners, batik seals on the wall etc.), and had a warm charm to it.

WiFi is included in the room rate and works well in the room and in all common areas. It was fast enough to stream videos smoothly.

We did not have dinner but did have desserts at Paprika restaurant, which were very good. Breakfast buffet was extensive, with a good combination of Asian and Western items.

My wife booked a two hour spa package, and found it to be of a high standard.

Common areas felt like a museum, with a fascinating collection of traditional Javanese handicrafts, Chinese porcelain, wood carvings and stone carvings. The building itself is 95 years old and is very well maintained, we spent a fair amount of time walking along the courtyard and corridors, and admiring the antiques on display.

Staff were very polite, always serving with a smile. They provide turn-down service, which we did not expect at the price we were paying.

Should have stayed one more night to truly enjoy the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on top floor for good views over Yogyakarta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with The Phoenix Hotel during easter weekend in Yogyakarta. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very nice layout. Took a regular suite as we have a 16yr old daughter. Service is good. Food is great, service is good. We didn't hear the prayers from our room. We were in room 249. View of room is not good but guess we were on the 'good' side as we didn't hear anything at all in the evening nor in the early morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We very much appreciate for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

good better best...when you need to rest , choose this from the rest. central , good food, awesome art, friendly staff.
and the best of all ...english speaking.

the rooms are small in comparison to the other things mentioned.

Room Tip: choose the pool side. the outer rooms have no great views. remember the 430 prayers from the nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajkumar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience related with your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very nice hotel. Very good breakfast buffet from American to Europe to Indonesian breakfasts. Rooms were quiet until the morning "call to prayer," but we were up early to visit the temples. The hotel had a box breakfast for us at 4AM when we went to Borobudur for sunrise. We used the hotel car services and were pleased with the results.

Rooms were comfortable and we would stay here again if we returned to Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We would like to thank you for staying with The Phoenix Hotel and using our car for your sunrise experience at the temple. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,031 reviews
1 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#16 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,102 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 212 in Yogyakarta
633 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#11 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $72 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing