We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cosy boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
“A cosy boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for a business meeting during early March. A nicely setup colonial style boutique hotel. The room I stayed in on first floor is quite small and ordinary for a boutique hotel. Breakfast is alright, what is special is woman serving traditional Yogya culinary dish, Gudeg.

Room Tip: The other guests said rooms on 3rd Floor are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Samosir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with The Phoenix Hotel during your visit to Yogyakarta. We were glad to read about your enjoyable stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,935
    977
    212
    39
    23
See reviews for
671
1,332
278
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Phoenix hotel is a deal at US $70.00/Night. The pool is a little small and closes at 1900--a bit disappointing. The breakfast is decent local Indonesian, but those with a more Western appetite can get sweet pastries, yogurt, and omelets. I would not recommend this hotel for families.

JC San Francisco, CA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JDClaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying with The Phoenix Hotel during your visit to Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The best part of the hotel is the ground floor public areas, very nicely done up in a colonial style with plenty of antique furniture, high ceilings, secluded courtyards with fountains, lots of sculptures, paintings, friezes etc, all giving the appearance of a lovely Indonesian 'country house' rather than a hotel. Even the lift added to the feel being rather rickety and slow! More modern, but fitting in well was a fish pond partly under glass panels in the floor near Reception which was fun. During the day there were a couple of musicians playing traditional Indonesian music from a spot near the restaurant, a nice touch. Although we didn't try them, the hotel also organised old style tours of Yogyakarta including one in an antique car which was parked near the entrance and caused much interest amongst some guests.
The bedrooms though were a bit of a disappointment, although OK. The room was definitely on the small side, although adequate, and very plainly decorated with some wooden furniture but nothing interesting about them. Lighting in the room was adequate but certainly not great. Storage space was OK though the cupboard door was very rickety. There was a decent sized safe but situated on the floor of the cupboard so difficult to access. Good flat screen TV with cable though not a great choice of programmes. Internet access with free WiFi was fine although not fast. Small fridge/mini-bar plus tea/coffee facilities though kettle was tiny and only worked occasionally. The air conditioning though was very old and poor, entirely inadequate even at the very lowest chill settings. We complained and although the engineer came there was very little improvement and our four nights there tended to be quite uncomfortable until the early hours of the morning cooled it down. The room had a tiny balcony with just one chair, really too small to be used, though there was a good view from our room, across the rooftops to the distant Mount Merapi volcano.
Bathroom was small but the separate shower was a decent size although long and narrow. Problem with the shower was that it was only an old style rain shower which was nice but you really need standard shower attachments as well as otherwise it is very difficult to reach one's nether regions. Otherwise the bathroom was unexceptional, pretty standard though not up to 5 star standard in my view.
We didn't try the breakfast during our stay but as we had to walk through restaurant to get to/from our rooms and could see that there was a good selection of hot and cold dishes with both local and Western food. We had lunch there one day which was very nicely presented and good portions though my Beef Rendang was a bit tough and under-spiced. Overall though the food was good.
Staff were excellent, everyone was very friendly and helpful, never any problems there.
Location was reasonable, nothing much nearby apart from a few cafés or other hotels but a 10 to 15 minute walk (right out of the hotel and left at the crossroads/roundabout) got you to the start of very long Malioboro Street with its many shops and restaurants. Turn left out of the hotel and a 20 minute walk or so takes you to one of the best areas for both cloth and other textiles, lots of excellent cheap, but good quality, material to be found.
Overall 3 stars for bedroom, though 2 stars for us because of poor air-con, but public areas 5 stars

Room Tip: Check out the air-con before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your concerns related with your stay with The Phoenix Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
792 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My cousin and I stayed at the Phoenix Hotel for three nights, and overall we felt that it was a very luxurious oasis within Yogyakarta, with the only problem being the somewhat-dated rooms.

We had an early flight in from Bali, and but we were still able to check in early to our room. The lobby and the grounds of this hotel are beautiful. It used to be an old folks home and residences, and you can really see the Old World charm and architecture of the building. The hustle and bustle and dirt of Yogyakarta don't make it into the hotel. the service was friendly, and to the point. The location is good (near the main drag), and you won't have any problem have you taxi driver not knowing where to go.

We got a very good deal at this hotel, so we didn't have a special view of the pool or anything like that. We were on the second floor and had a small balcony that overlooked the main courtyard that you have to walk through to get to the rest of the rooms. The room itself was rather small, but nothing like a box and I didn't feel cramped due to the big windows. However, I did feel very cramped in the bathroom, and getting in and out of the shower was relatively difficult.

The breakfast was pretty comprehensive, and was included in our rate. They had a large array of both cooked dishes as well as pastries and some traditional Indonesian drinks. There's also a fresh juice bar. We also a dinner at their hotel, and there was a large variety of food, and it was high-class relative to what you would get elsewhere in Yogyakarta.

It was very hit or miss with the spa. We both had a treatment there because they were running a special, and I actually had two massages over the course of two days. I think this is an issue of "working with what you've got," because the spa lobby is very small. The workers there yell across the rooms at each other, and so there's not really a calming "spa" atmosphere. That was a bit of a let down, since the actual spa treatments were very good and reasonably priced (~$37/hour).

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Phoenix Hotel because it is a gorgeous property with very affordable rates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience related with your stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your visit to Yogyakarta. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

In general I prefer not to promote excellent hotels. They're quite capable of doing it themselves and if everyone wrote a rave review we all know what would happen. Prices would rise and people like me would no longer be able to afford to stay in them. But I cannot lie. The Phoenix is one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff are efficient and welcoming, my room (overlooking the pool) was a delight, the hotel is lovely to wander around and like other reviewers I found the temptation to stay there rather than get out and about to be very strong. This could be viewed as a disadvantage. In the end I decided to compromise and had my preprandial Bintang on my beautiful balcony and my dinner in town I wasn't able to enjoy the breakfast at my usual leisurely pace as I had to get off to the airport. I can say that the coffee was excellent and everything else looked up to scratch. All in all - faultless.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We were glad to read about your enjoyable stay. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Va
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The good: excellent service, pleasant and incredibly helpful staff (rarely have I experienced a front desk staff so willing to assist with any/every request from phone calls to guides to arranging transport), an amazing breakfast buffet, a lovely pool, a serviceable workout room/spa, and nice meeting spaces. Only drawback was a room (#251) that -- at first glance looked terrific: corner room in the back pool wing; very large, since it was on the corner; and two windows, so nice and bright. We pretty quickly figured out that the drawback to the two windows was that we got an extra loud dose of the 'call to prayer,' which kinda hurt in the early morning hours... The room, inexplicably, had a cupboard but did not have a dresser, which made it tough to manage clothing for two people during a 6-night stay and there were, maybe, 8 hangers. Bed was comfy. TV selection was broad (who knew there was such a thing as Fox Crime?). Nice bathroom. We did not have ant issue that some others complained of, but did see tiny 'no-see'um' type bugs, primarily in the bathroom. Wearing flip flops helped my anxiety on that front. Overall, given that we were primarily out and about, at the pool or in the bar/restaurant, we had a most enjoyable stay at The Phoenix. A lovely property in the heart of Jogja. And the Circle K across the street is a HUGE plus!!!

Room Tip: Get in the section that surrounds the pool (the back section). A toss up whether facing the pool or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAis4luvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience about your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We were pleased to read about your positive feedback. We hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we ever stayed in! Breakfast is extremely varied: from freshly squized juices (they make them on the spot!!) to all different kinds of eggs to noodles and rice. Rooms are beautiful, pool is fantastic! Value for money is amazing in this hotel. I can't believe this still exists at this price. JUST GO THERE! YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY!!!!

Room Tip: Take a superior room with pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgianHolidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review related with your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing