We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 200 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This has to be one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed in. The service was impeccable. The staff are unfailingly attentive and courteous.We stayed in a standard room. I understand there are more luxurious, expensive rooms but who wants to hang around the room all day? The public areas of the hotel are stunning. The swimming pool and spa facilities are excellent. Breakfast was ample and accompanied by live gamelan music! Meals and drinks in the hotel are comparatively expensive and there are few other options in the immediate vicinity. We availed ourselves of the hotel's drivers for trips to Borobadur and Prambanan. Again, we paid over the odds. Our week-long stay was totally memorable though. Taking into consideration the very fair room rate, we feel the total experience represented very good value for money. A similar experience in Europe would be completely out of our league. Treat yourself to a stay at the Grand Old Lady of Jogja! It's exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkWorldtraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,964
    994
    214
    42
    23
See reviews for
687
1,348
282
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is my 5th stay at the Phoenix Hotel Jogjakarta. This excellent hotel, with very friendly staff has very good service. The atmosphere is really genuine and classy.
I wonder why this time, upon arrival in the room, I found the bathroom not cleaned properly. Perhaps a mistake. Otherwise the stay was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and for sharing your concerns. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puako, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Beautiful in all respects. We reserved a 'city view' room via Agoda. It was quite small, and near the street with car noise. We asked to upgrade, and were allowed to move to a much roomier pool view room for a modest upcharge. Very cozy, comfortable king bed. Wifi wasn't so good, it would drop every few minutes, but everything else was exceptional, including the breakfast. The hotel car to Borobudur was 2x the street rate, but worth it--very new, comfortable car and great driver for about $15/hour. Don't even consider renting a car in Indonesia, it's the world's craziest road rally, pedicabs, horse carts, motorcycles, cars, trucks, & buses in in a competition we're not qualified for.

Room Tip: Pick interior pool view rooms, and get the superb buffet breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melmalinowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent a single night here and two full days... The colonial style is outstanding, the rooms are large and attractive, the pool area is romantic and the breakfast is great. It is a short bicycle taxi to the centre. All this for a very welcoming price.

Be advised, do not get taxis from the hotel as these are almost double the price of the average.

There is also a large selection of great food throughout the city, so be adventurous.

Room Tip: try obtain a room which overlooks the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceOfLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review about your experience during your stay at The Phoenix Hotel. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Having planned a trip for a month in Central Java and Bali I was most looking forward to our stay at Phoenix based on reviews I had read . There is no doubt that this hotel can rightly boast about its actual facility. It is magnificent. An old colonial mansion preserved beautifully and a reminder of a bygone era. Such splendour for its cost however needs to be supported by excellent service one expects from a 5star facility. Our experience was in the low season so perhaps the hotel had cut back on its staff. Check in is the first point of contact and should set expectations for what is to come. Our check in process was dismal. I was travelling with my elderly father (84) and after leaving our vehicle and having our bags removed by our driver we walked up the stairs to a small reception area. Although there appeared to be porters and a concierge in attendance , no-one opened the doors to the building entrance. Oh well. We were a little early so our room wasn't ready. Fair enough. It was suggested we could have lunch and that we would advised when the room was ready ..... 75 minutes later I went back to reception asking the progress of our room . Guess what?...the room was ready (and probably had been for some time). So maybe this was a one off problem. Not so. Had dinner in the restaurant that night. Orders took forever to come yet the facility wasn't too busy. Ok maybe the chef had a bad night. So lets ask for the bill. 20 minutes for the bill to arrive. By this stage I was becoming slightly paranoid that we had done something to upset the staff and perhaps the next day might be different. Day 2 was pretty good and by evening I thought the previous day was just one off event... In the evening we had dinner in another facility arriving back at 11.15pm which was hardly rush hour. Again there was no porter or concierge in attendance and as I finalised the payment with the driver, my father walked up the steps and had to open the doors himself . By this time the porters had probably woken up but instead of rushing to assist him they watched him battle the doors himself . If the hotel wants to retain its reputation I'd suggest a focus on training front of house . I would hate to see what happens in the peak season , but I'll never know because I won't be going back. There is a perfectly good hotel within 60 metres where you are greeted as a welcomed guest with smiles complete with doors being opened and which has a reception area that can cope with a busy check in period. How do I know this? I had to go there because the Spa at Phoenix was fully booked.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asiafiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing The Phoenix Hotel during your visit to Yogyakarta. We are regret to learn your disappointment with our service in Front Office and during a dinner time in our restaurant which did not meet your expectation. Please allow me to express our sincerest apologies for the shortfall. We have taken appropriate measures to address the problem and to avoid future reoccurrence. Thank you for sharing your concerns and we are looking forward to serve you better in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing