We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Nearby Hotels
Melia Purosani(Yogyakarta)
$55
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jambuluwuk Malioboro(Yogyakarta)
$40
$31
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$31
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,613)
Filter reviews
3,613 results
Traveler rating
2,172
1,103
260
47
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,172
1,103
260
47
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaprika restaurantcolonial stylebeautiful hotelcolonial feelheritage hotelnew wingbreakfast buffetbalcony overlooking the poolexecutive roomsultan's palacehotel restaurantwelcome drinkan oasisindonesian foodmalioboro streetnice poolspa
Filter
Updating list...
1,768 - 1,773 of 3,613 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for one night, and got the superior twin room with free breakfast the next morning. The hotel had free wi-fi which is always a big plus, and we were upgraded to a room with a balcony. For approx. $70 US , this was a big steal!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments related with your stay with us. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The "po-nix" as the taxi man calls it, is a refurbished and self assured "Colonial" hotel that sits close to the centre of Jogjakarta. It is a beautiful building with the old style elegance of the Raffles in Singapore and the Strand in Yangon, but at a fraction of the price. The staff are friendly, and always ready to assist. Language is not a problem as all the staff seemed to be pretty well versed in English. They were prompt with any request or report (shoe shine, leak from the bathroom ceiling, extra bed or towels) and are always with a smile. There is free wifi, and the usual amenities in the rooms. We were upgraded to a suite (Merdeka suite),much to our surprise, and enjoyed the more spacious room which had three balconies!
Breakfast had a sufficient choice of Western, Chinese, and local Indonesian fare, with the special treat of a local concoction of "jamu" or traditional herbal drink purported to solve many health problems (I would suggest avoiding the one to lower cholesterol, as it is rather bitter medicine). The hotel is situated close to McDonalds (left of the hotel) and a great restaurant called the 3 Nyonyas (just across the busy street). A roadside market just five minutes away from the hotel can provide you a vignette of the local life early in the morning (before 8am). Malioboro and the Kraton is just 4 to 5 bus stops away (Transjogja buses) and easy to reach.
Certainly worthy of all the positive comments made by previous contributors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bboymsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I really love the heritage atmosphere in every corner, my room so comfortable, I love the spa room, so cozy and relax (yes, I have taken spa in one of my escape time of work..hihihihi..and it was really worthed). My balcony is great, overlooking to small pond in your breakfast room…Oohh I will miss the breakfast room also.

The location so great..only 10 minutes walks to the most happening road, Malioboro.

Staff were really friendly...

Room Tip: Booked their Deluxe room with Balcony...or their Suite is really affordable also....it is the best!!!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

We would like to thank you for staying with us. It is a pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay. Looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel many times in the last few months for my personal trip.
The bell boy , whenever he saw me, he said : welcome back madam...

When the check in has a long quieng, ie at 10 pm in the evening, the reception asked me to sit on the lobby chair and he proceed my check in there and served the welcome drink.
As this is a 5 star hotel, you have all the amenities on the room : hair dryer, batik kimono, sandals, water jug, etc.

The breakfast was nice, a lot of varieties with good ambient restaurant . Smoking section was on the restaurant terrace which was also very relaxing.
Room service order came as promised with the great taste.

The Standard room was small but efficient, if you need the bigger room you better book the Deluxe room instead.

Room Tip: Rooms on the new building is bigger than the old building.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your visit to Yogyakarta. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Phoenix is beautiful. The building is lovingly maintained, the furnishings elegant and practical, the staff welcoming and unobtrusive and the rooms spacious and clean. This was a very pleasant place to stay within walking distance (10 minutes) of busy shopping malls and a short taxi or bus ride to the tourist attractions downtown.
We enjoyed the pool facilities but didn't try the spa however it looks, and smells, very inviting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smoghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

We very much appreciate for your comments related with your stay at The Phoenix Hotel. It is a pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews