We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A1 hotel with A1 service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A1 hotel with A1 service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed in the deluxe room (facing the pool) for 3 nights. What a great hotel! Room was clean and reasonably spacious. Loved the furnishing around the hotel (you will have to experience it for yourself). Breakfast is good with a wide selection of both western and Indonesian food. The service is above expectation. It is hard to find any fault with this hotel. Free Wifi. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank am_gill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your visit to Yogyakarta. We were pleased to read about your enjoyable stay. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,918
    959
    206
    39
    23
See reviews for
663
1,315
274
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on our families first trip to Java. Such a beautiful colonial Hotel with lovely artworks and excellent staff. great sauna, pool and gym. Incredibly reasonable price for the quality of the hotel.
The only disappointment was the food which doesnt equal the high standard of the rest of the hotel unfortunately.The breakfast buffet, is very big with lots of selection including traditional Jamu, but wasn't yummy some how.
There's plenty of places to eat in Jogyakarta so dont let this stop you from choosing this elegant and very well maintained Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecolodgebali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We very much appreciate for sharing your comments related with your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were referred to the Phoenix by a friend from Bali. She stays here when she visits Jogja family so we trusted her. Great advice...inexpensive for all that they offer and very friendly and caring staff! Would highly recommend to anyone! Try the jamu offered with breakfast and the fresh coconut water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliestesBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review about your experience during your stay at The Phoenix Hotel. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

was debating between staying here or at Amanjiwo..
decided to stay here.. although not wholeheartedly wanting to... but was pleasantly surprised! very cheap accomodation for a very classy hotel! luv the buffet breakfast... dinner buffet was also superb.. room was clean and spacious enough and i had a pool view which was cool.. whats not too cool is that your other neighbors with pool views also have their little patios and when u are outside your patio and several other neighbors also in their patios, it kind of evokes a weird feeling.. i dunno..

nevertheless.. i really enjoyed my stay here at this hotel.. staff are friendly and accomodating... loved their signature drinks! they have a bar area with jazz music live with a pool table inside.. very neat...

concierge very helpful.. it is a very classy hotel for a very reasonable cheap price!! highly recommend it !!!!! i visited Amanjiwo on this trip and yes it is DIVINE! but it will cost u an arm and a leg to stay.. it only costed me an eighth of the daily cost if i stayed at Amanjiwo.. so overall very happy with my decision to stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSanico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed 4 nights from 20-24 jan.
As has been written many times the Phoenix hotel is a beautiful, colonial style built hotel with excellent service.
Had high expectations for the breakfast, but was disappointed. The coffee was excellent, but the bread was awful, absolutely not fresh. Croissants were just ok.
Two days there was no butter and on the other 2 days only unsalted.
The salad bar was minimal, salad did not look fresh.
Ham and eggs or real bacon, sausages? Forget it. Only that chicken crap (please note you can get the real thing on Bali!)
Another disavantage is that the hotel is located quite far from shopping malls.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Belanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns related with your stay at Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We are sorry that our restaurant services did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express our sincere apologies. We are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. If you go to Yogyakarta, stay here. The friendliest staff, the best breakfast and the hotel is just beautiful decorated everywhere. Nice pool and fitness center. I can only put my finger on one thing; we had dinner one evening at the restaurant and we waited almost 1 hour before our food came. But it was very delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladefoged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is still a poor but charming country. It offers you superb service for extremely small value of money. Once you have been to Phoenix Hotel (or how local taxi drivers call it - "Po-niks"), you will want to come back to this ideal for a Western salary-man situation. Indeed the hotel will offer the best Indonesia has at the highest quality and for relatively cheap price: traditional interior, royal service at the restaurant, local music during breakfast, Java cuisine, colonial atmosphere, batik, dresses, statues, antique, old Mercedes at the front entrance. Additionally there are delicious ginger candies at the lobby, perfect Spa, nice gym, small but convenient pool. Get ready to smile back to enormous number of personnel that will all show you respect and take care of any of your needs with urgent speed.
It is not recommended to go to any other hotel until after a month or better more has passed. You will be disappointed at what other markets offer after your non-forgetting experience in Yogyakarta po-niks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are good - it is actually a separate building but as good as the main one. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valery_and_Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
2.8 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing