We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms! Super Clean...Exquisite decor...Nice buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous rooms! Super Clean...Exquisite decor...Nice buffet”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a getaway as the hotel was having a promotion, and other friends had highly recommended it to us, after they had enjoyed a few nights break here. We had never been to Yogya before, and there really isn't much to do there for a romantic/sightseeing holiday, so we were looking forward to spending time resting at the hotel. It is a lovely boutique hotel full of antiques and local artwork. You know your in Indonesia, but it's 5 star. The pool was pristine. All the extra drippings here!! The rooms were soooo lovely!!! Very clean, beautifully designed, and very very quiet. We would have sworn we were the only guests, until we met others at breakfast =) Other guests seemed very happy with the amenities too. It was very quiet. There are a lot of paintings, antiques and other artwork adoring the public areas, so walking around the hotel buildings is like going to a museum. The breakfast buffet was fresh, healthy, and had good variety. We loved the service. The local staff couldn't have gone more out of their way. The staff members, from the check-in desk, to the restaurant, room service, and the cleaning staff, were all very polite, and respectful. As we would pass anyone in the lobby, or hallways, they would stop what they were doing, greet us with a little bow (local custom) and ask how we were...We felt safe, respected as a guest, and pampered. I would recommend this hotel for any type of traveler, but if you are living in the region, find a cheap ticket to Yogja, and just want a little hotel getaway, this place is perfect. It's really romantic!! The downside to Yogja we found, was that there wasn't really anywhere nearby the hotel to eat. So get a good breakfast, and then jump in a taxi to go and hang out at the local mall. We went and got foot massages twice! The mall is huge. That's pretty much the only entertainment, unless you are going to venture outside town to go and see the monuments and volcano.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlOZ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,998
    1,013
    222
    42
    24
See reviews for
704
1,374
285
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

In addition to the nice and enjoyable room, the food is also very good, the hotel staff are very nice and helpful and it has also been very easy to catch a cab.
The price is a little bit on the high edge though. Lucky we got best price through agoda, otherwise it would be too pricey for our budget.
Last but not least, it has been an enjoyable experience for us staying at The Phoenix Hotel and we would happily recommend our family and friends to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retnomsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Your kind words have been passed to our team.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Basically it was such a comfort place to stay for couple days.. But somehow the refrigerator often make noise sounds and the air conditioner sounds terrible at night.. I was stayed on third floor and all the sounds so distract my valuable time of sleep.. Hope this hotel be able to increase the quality of their services..

I will definitely stay on that hotel because I already fall in love with the ambience :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiwit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. I am sorry that some of your experience with the noisy in the room did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2011

When I arrived at Phoenix hotel, the reception hotel received us with smile. I give them the vaucher from accord and they services us very fast. Room of this hotel is very good because every room have balcon to get fresh weather Location of this hotel is very good because this hotel near mac donald and kentucky Fried chicken. This location also near kraton Yogja and departemen store. Next time I always choice this hotel for sleep and take a fresh weather.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulia_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Your kind words have been passed to our team.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I love the facilities & the hotel is just a treasure. The room & swimming pool are luxurious & the service staff there have made an exceptional impression on me. Some improvements could be done on the cleaning aspect of the rooms as i did notice some mildew growing in the bathroom & the morning breakfast buffet plates were not as clean as i hoped. The hotel might consider to use better washing detergent?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. I am sorry that your experience with the bathroom and breakfast buffet plate did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights along with my spouse and 3-year old. We went along with some friends of ours - a couple with a 2.5 year old. Both families really liked the hotel. Good location (close to Malioboro street) - though the city is quite small and distance/traffic is not such a problem. Very helpful / friendly staff. Rooms are clean - though on the smaller side. Limited storage in the room.

The city itself does not have too many sight-seeing options. Highlights are the Buddhist Stupa and Shiva temple outside the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

The Phoenix, a M Gallery hotel of the Accor Group, has a fantastic location, only 1 kilometer from the famous Malioboro Street. The rooms are nicely decorated, have excellent matresses, an extensive international TV selection and all modern comfort.

The hotel is well maintained and the cleaning team is doing a great job to keep the whole hotel in top condition.

The breakfast buffet is excellent with both Indonesian and Western dishes.

One minor point is the fact that a lot of functions are organised in the hotel so sometimes it can be rather crowded and it can be difficult to find a parking space at the hotel.

The colonial style and athmosphere are the big plusses of this hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefaan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Your kind words have been passed to our team.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 204 in Yogyakarta
952 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 204 in Yogyakarta
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,058 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
2.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing