We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food. Over-priced.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Duck King

Grand Duck King
Ranked #446 of 1,078 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Waitstaff
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Great food. Over-priced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Grand Duck King is one of the fancy "nice" places you can go in Yogyakarta. Located inside the Tentrem hotel, the Grand Duck King offers lots of types of seafood you can't find otherwise in Jogja. The peking duck is delicious and done perfectly.

Service is always good but sometimes it's hard to get the waiter's attention.

I recommend you check out Grand Duck King for dinner if you haven't already.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank W13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Unique food, good selection, great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Of course, this place isn't cheap. It's located in Tentrem Hotel (a fairly large and decent quality hotel). The selection is excellent (lots of seafood) and the peking duck is very good.

Helpful?
Thank W13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Affordable and Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I don't know why, been eating Duck king in Jakarta but this one in Jogja surprises me. It tasted much better then the usual restaurant in Jakarta.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bellepue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
276 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A superb Chinese restaurant located in the excellent Tentrem Hotel, Yogyakarta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I dined in this restaurant on my first night staying at the Tentrem. The service was excellent and the food the best Chinese meal I've had outside China. I ordered duck prepared two ways. Firstly the skin is prepared for you at the table in pancake rolls with hoisin sauce and cucumber, not like in Western restaurants where the meat is included. These are bite sized and go down a treat. The remainder of my duck order was prepared in a black pepper sauce following the recommendation of the waiter. I've never had more tender duck. Superb and tasty. The accompanying Singapore noodles were also excellent as was the side order of fried Enoki mushrooms.

If you're in the Yogyakarta area and like authentic Chinese food, this is a must on your agenda. Coming in at around £20/$30 for a very good sized meal, including drinks and sides, you would pay 40-50% more in Europe for such accomplished Chinese cuisine.

The surroundings, being part of the Tentrem Hotel are also of a high standard.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hypothalamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise for your culinary senses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

You have to try it. There is an outstanding choice of food.
Everything is made to feel perfect and taste like heaven

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kris-Sunshine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Duck King also viewed

 
Yogyakarta, Java
 

Been to Grand Duck King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing