We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ambience! Even better Food! Gourmet delight!”
Review of Paprika

Paprika
Ranked #57 of 1,202 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Southwestern, Asian, Indonesian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fusion dining option : Lunch and Dinner Opening Hours : 11am - 11pm- Cozy ambience, overlooking to the fountain yard- It comprises of two separate areas, in room dining and terrace with outdoor seting-An acoustic piano will accompanied you during dinner time everyday- Wifi is free of charge
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing ambience! Even better Food! Gourmet delight!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

It is difficult for a restaurant to excel at service and then perhaps a specific type of cuisine. This place is an exception.

Great Ambience with option for fountain side alfresco or air conditioned inside.


Great service. Attention to detail. Our host was Nurul and she did a great job.

Indonesian dishes were superlative and well presented. Soto Ayam was delectable. Beef Rendang was mouth watering. All other items we ordered from Nasi Goreng and the dessert - local creeps with coconut and gula java (brown sugar syrup) - awesome finish to a great dinner.

And this is where it gets interesting. The Italian fare was impeccable. We had friends who are vegetarian and they ordered Pizza and Pasta - both superlative. We had dinner on 18/5 and we came back a day later for different items on the menu.

Highly recommended to anyone who spends even a single day in Jogja on work. And repeat trips warranted if it an extended holiday stay.


Perfect restaurant in Jogja!! 5 stars.

Helpful?
Thank Perception1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozi_Miftah, Director of F&B at Paprika, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Greetings from your memorable Paprika Restaurant in Yogyakarta

Thank you for taking the time to write your memorable dining experience. We are always happy to know that our guests are happy.

We specially thank you for your comments on our food, staff and our restaurant and I will forward your comments to our team.

All the F&B team is looking forward to welcoming you back to our restuarnt and to give you even better services.

Very Warm Regards,
Mifathurrozi
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    53
    15
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not the quality it used to be”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The quality have gone down since we know this restaurant. First we had a pretty dirty tablecloth which we asked to change as there were obvious stains of a red sauce on it. We ordered the month advertised menu with beef wagyu and an oxtail soup. Paprika used to have the best oxtail soup in town around 8 until 6 years ago and the quality has jut got down while prices went up. The beef wagyu was ok, but portion was small and the side dish which was mashed potatoes, was just a small ok. The surrounding of the hotel is still very nice and, except for this incident of the table cloth, the service was very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kratoncitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozi_Miftah, Director of F&B at Paprika, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Greeting from Paprika Restaurant in Yogyakarta

We truly appreciate your feedback. We deeply apologize that our facilities (table cloth) could not meet your expectation. Though we are not perfect, we always strive to do our best to keep up with our property and to improve our service and quality to give pleasant and unique experience to every guest. We promise to pay more attention to the details and look back at soup buntut menu and we will improve the quality.

Warmest regards,
Miftahurrozi
Director of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Large choice of local food, service is very attentive, high quality of ingredients, regular planning of theme buffets, special meals with Chef's signature dishes. Lovely settings in the courtyard, near a nice fountain in the heritage building.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DelKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozi_Miftah, Director of F&B at Paprika, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Greeting from Paprika Restaurant in Yogyakarta

We are truly delighted reading your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoy your dining in Paprika Restaurant. We cannot wait to welcome you back as our own extended family. Take care..

Warmest regards,
Miftahurrozi
Director of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food, well presented.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The menu offers a good mix of local and Western food - somethng to suit all tastes. There are some good wines on the wine list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zojanahage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozi_Miftah, Director of Food and Beverage at Paprika, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Greeting from Paprika Restaurant in Yogyakarta

We are very thankful for your positive feedback. We are committed to providing you with the best services and memorable experiences in Paprika Restaurant, We invite you for a more pleasant dining experience in Jogja

Thank you for your generous words.

Warmest regards,
Miftahurrozi
Director of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep up the good job!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Maintain every aspect that could bring the hotel to better rating. Keep a good hospitality to the guest either to the crew it self so it can give a nice and warm enviroment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ichipunk U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozi_Miftah, Director of F&B at Paprika, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Greeting from Paprika Restaurant in Yogyakarta

We are very thankful for your kind words on your dining in Paprika Restaurant. As you know there is always way to improve quality of service and any suggestions you may have would be greatly appreciated. We love to welcome you back on your next trip to Yogyakarta..

Very Warm Regards,
Mifathurrozi
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paprika also viewed

 

Been to Paprika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing